We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxuriously quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Luxuriously quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A very luxurious hotel that is whisper quiet inside your rooms. The rooms are massive and well appointed. The hotel has an excellent spa to unwind in and a large swimming pool. The gym is small but adequate. Food at the Italian restaurant is excellent - I ate at the bar but from their kitchen. Breakfast is also very well supplied - ask for what they can cook for you. If you like Bircher muesli then they have a very tasty version. Excellent hotel with a knowledgeable concierge - ask for Heidi.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear diggerati,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home and it is great to hear that especially Heidi was assisting with her knowledge.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    214
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
371
510
88
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had an amazing weekend. The hotel is superb. The room was a standard room and it was spacious, clean, modern and with french soundproof windows overlooking a garden.

The service has been always kind and helpful with a concergiery always looking after you.

We did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Natalia V,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location but there is something that is not quite as welcoming as it should be. We spent 2 weeks touring Germany, Salzburg and Prague and this was the most expensive hotel at which we stayed and was our least favorite. The restaurant is considerably over priced. Our lack of satisfaction was not due to quality of facility but more a lack of genuine hospitality - especially for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Nancy B,

thank you very much for your friendly stay with us and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers.

Please accept our sincere apology that we couldn't meet your expectations and you didn't have the feeling of friendly and corteous service. It is very important for us to pamper our guests and make their stay unforgettable and we are very sad to hear that you haven't been satisfied. Your detailled feedback is very important for us to improve our services and standards continously, therefore we would appreciate if you contact us in the Executive Office to talk about the matters personally. For taking the time to give us your personal remarks we would like to thank you very much.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel as members of Leading Hotels of the World. It is a luxury property in a great location in Munich. The rooms are very spacious and nice and the workout facility is great. So why only average? Munich was the last stop on a two week trip through Bavaria and the Czech Republic and this was our least favorite hotel. While all of the others made us feel very welcome, the staff at the Charles Hotel are very cold. The concierge was helpful but not very nice. The front desk staff did not make us feel welcome. We had dinner our first night in the bar as we just wanted something light and casual. It turned out to be the most expensive dinner we had the entire trip! They do not offer bottles of wine and two glasses each were outrageously expensive as was the cheese sandwich and salad. We were shocked by the bill. There is just something missing here. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room although I had made several requests well in advance and none were honored!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear liz184,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you as last stop in Germany, after a trip through Bavaria and the Czech Republic.

Regrettably, we had to read that you were not satisfied at our hotel and you wouldn't return. For the inconveniences caused we would like to apologize deeply. Please be sure that our General Manager already had a meeting with his Department Heads to discuss the matters you mentioned. It is absolutely unacceptable for us that you didn't feel welcomed and we will keep an eye on an extended training in the departments effected.

For your feedback regarding the prices we would like to thank you very much. Our F&B Manager takes your comment very serious and will have a look into this.

Dear guest, we hope we get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again to show you, The Charles Hotel is worth another travel. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed only one night. Front desk staffs welcomed us very warmly.
Our room was park view, very spacious, nicely decorated in modern way. Bathroom was also spacious with bath-tub and walk-in shower. Hope I could have spent more time in that room!
I would have thought that staffs were trying to serve you well but still missing something - not perfectly organized.
Overall, it was good stay and I can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDunphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Dunphee,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your words. Of course we forwarded your warm feedback to our employees immediately, especially to the Front Office Team, which was much appreciated.

Besides, we couldn't meet all your expectations and we would like to apologize for the feeling something is missing. We hope we may welcome you to The Charles Hotel again and make the next stay even more enjoyable without the bad feeling.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance required.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Amazing breakfast ...
Good staff, were really helpful especially front desk and bell service
good view and location...
comfortable bed...

should be recommended !
nothing bad to say ..
Good job guys !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miroshnichenko_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear miroshnichenko_e,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

We are delighted to hear that the entire stay was to your satisfaction and we met your expectations in all matters.

We hope we may welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Echo, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I took three days to stay here, April 9th-12 before traveling on to join up with a river cruise. I can't say enough about our stay at the Charles. Location alone is perfect. Being just outside of the pedestrian district, the train station and near all the beautiful gardens and beer gardens you can walk to so many places of interest. Decor is very tastefully done and you feel completely comfortable at all times. What really puts The Charles Hotel above all the rest is the STAFF! Each and every member! Everyone does their job with such perfection, from every level of staff we encountered, their professionalism was superb! It was like each employee was personally invested in our stay being all it could be. Thank you for that! The music being played from the piano player in the lobby was amazing.....so very talented and enjoyed after a long day of site seeing. The managers of this hotel really need to (if you don't already) recognize your staff for making this such a lovely spot to come and experience. If I find myself in Munich again, I would definitely spend some travel dollars/euros here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KACrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear KACrosby,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich before your trip with a river cruise.

As you mentioned, The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station and close to many beer gardens. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well as the English Garden and the main shopping areas.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home and it is great to hear that they made your stay unforgettable and you will return to the hotel.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing