We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but review the location”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Charles Hotel is a wonderful, modern hotel with excellent service. If you are there for business or want to be near the train station, then this hotel is perfect. As a tourist, it is much better to stay in the old part of the city, Marienplatz. It was a 10-15 minute taxi ride. We had drinks at the Mandarin Oriental and it was beautiful in a great location. There are less expensive options in Marienplatz as well. For lunch or dinner try Spatenhaus der Oper outside. Yes, it's touristy, but the food was very good and setting is lovely across from opera.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LifeisGOOD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear LifeisGOOD58,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

The location of The Charles Hotel is between the main trainstation and the Königsplatz with its museums. Some of the rooms offer a nice view to the botanical garden and you can reach the famous pedestrian precincts by 10-15 minutes walking.

It is sad to hear that our location couldn´t meet all your expectations, besides, we hope we may welcome you soon again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

i loved the hotel especially their kiwi juice they serve! its so delicious! their service is good. inwent their with my family and we liked our stay there. its was really comfortable we felt like we were at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Osha L,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback and the time you took to share your impressions to other travellors.

We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, especially the kiwi-juice.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to The Charles Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are staying in Munich. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely designed and spacious rooms, comfortable beds. Great experience from check in to check out. Convenient location in the city, very nice botanical garden across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stringtheory15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear stringtheory15,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home. It is very well located and our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well and some of our rooms offer a nice view to the old botanical garden.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to The Charles Hotel and make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for several days with another family and had a grand time! The hotel is perfectly situated to walk to most sites. The staff is excellent & friendly. Our rooms were very comfortable with all the amenities and plenty of space. It was an excellent experience. The Charles really goes the distance to be a wonderful hotel that people want to come back to again & again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sassypants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sassypants01,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your friends to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located in the centre. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz, Stachus and many museums are by walking distance as well.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home! It is great to see that you enjoyed the space and the little treats we sent to your room.

Dear Sassypants01, we are looking forward to welcome you soon again to The Charles Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoy The Charles Hotel so much its our second time here, everything is amazing. Wonderful people with a beautiful smile and hospitality. A special Spa which worth visiting. We were offered a 10% discount for our second stay, which made us feel happy. I think this Hotel feels to me as my home in Munich.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Manal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Manal I,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you for the second time and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

Thank you very much for your nice feedback which we forwarded to our team immediately. We hope we may welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer,
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the Charles so much: fabulous location, unparalleled service, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous suite. And the pool - oh, that beautiful pool!! Our family will return there in a heartbeat. Our stay would in fact have been perfect ... had housekeeping not somehow bundled up our daughter's beloved plush toy with the laundry one day. Sadly, we never saw her toy again. However, I will say that the housekeeping staff searched high and low for it. Special thanks to super-concierge Heidi, who even coordinated the search with the hotel's outside laundry and sent us email updates. Heidi and her staff listen carefully and will find you the perfect restaurant, the perfect tour guide, and anything else you could think of wanting during your stay in Munich.

Room Tip: Even rooms at the front of the hotel are quiet, as the building is set well back from major roads
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhe4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear justthe4ofus,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

It is sad to hear that the toy of your daughter got lost during your stay. Besides, we hope she had a nice stay with us as well, please accept our sincere apology for the caused inconveniences.

Our team, especially Heidi, was very glad to hear your warm words. Her team and herself are always delighted to assist with all requests and detailled information about the city and the hotel.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Ferdinand especially at check-in was professional yet warm and inviting after our long flight and drive into town from the airport. (You can also conveniently take the train in). Someone offered us maps or directions anytime we looked confused or asked for them - as well as restaurant recommendations or help with transportation.

Great location - very close to the main train station, and several beer gardens - one right in the park next door and short walks to Hofbrau Haus and Augustiner-Keller, also walking is Viktualienmarkt and the Marienplatz - among other things.

The property is very clean and modernly elegant - simplistic luxury is a great way that Rocco Forte describes their hotels and this was no exception. The room was clean and open, nicer than expected, in the interests of full disclosure - the hotel upgraded us. We had great views of the buildings outside, some of the park, and although there was traffic only a few floors below- you could not hear anything at all when the windows were closed. The hotel smelled great - like new carpet!

Breakfast was terrific and went late! There is a very nice lobby bar, service was good - but we did not eat at the restaurant for dinner. Other cool things - they loaned us an umbrella while it was raining. I know they do this at many hotels - but its worth noting. Also - many Audis, Mercedes, BMWs, Jaguars, and at least one Lamborghini - parked out front - cool! We felt welcome and comfortable the whole time, it is a very nice hotel.

Staff were super helpful and most, if not all spoke English as well as German, and other languages as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LevelBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear LevelBrad,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home. Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte, is responsable for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. Our reception team is more than delighted to offer an upgrade as per availability and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed the view to the old botanical garden.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well as Königsplatz, Stachus and the main museums.

Dear LevelBrad, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you and welcome you soon again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#18 of 385 in Munich
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £217 - £1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing