We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest quality of service n perfect location”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Munich Central Station. There are pharmacy, laundry store and convenient stores nearby. Nevertheless, the hotel, with a garden in front of it, is quiet. More important, all staff I met were very well trained, friendly and polite. The room was spacious and comfortable. The Italian restaurant on the ground floor is a must-go restaurant in Munich. I am sure I will return to this hotel in future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BeeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear BeeHongKong,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station, the famous Marienplatz and the main museums. The old botanical garden is right in front of the hotel and you can have a very great time to go there for a walk or relaxing in the "biergarten".

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Dear BeeHongKong please do not hesitate to contact me anytime, we are looking foreward to welcome you again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a great hotel, with an extremely convenient location (quiet but at the same time not to far from the city center) and beautiful rooms.
Staff were friendly, maybe even overwhelmingly so. Nice to have a swimming pool as it was quite hot.
Breakfast was delicious, but we did not appreciate that, although different alternative were presented, nothing was asked and full buffet breakfast was directly set as default.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrunoMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear BrunoMBrussels,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station, to the Stachus and the most main museums. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

Besides, we had to read that not the whole stay was to your entire satisfaction and we would like to apologize deeply that we couldn't meet your expectation in some matters.

Dear BrunoMBrussels, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night during a road trip to Austria. Always impressed with the Rocco Forte hotels and the Charles is no exception. Really efficient, friendly staff, great location, lovely comfortable rooms, nice meal - what more could you want.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Robert P.,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station, the Stachus and most of the main museums. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Dear Robert P., we hope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel again. The entire team is looking forward to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wished from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The location near the Central Station is a plus point...the friendly staffs is another. The service was great..prompt and fast. The breakfast spread was good, delicious and we loved the hot milk chocolate...yummy.

They even assisted in getting us carton boxes for our souveniers....-:) Really appreciate their help.

The taxi arrangement was in few minutes, the service during breakfast was utmost 5 star.

The rooms was spacious and bed was comfy. Great for families with kids...they had cholocate gifts for kids too. We did not have the time to try out the pool and spa. Will return to explore more of Munich and its surroundings.

Only one comment was at the concierge when we enquired to check about our travel guide. The telephone conversation held by the concierge staff with our tour guide should have been managed in a better well mannered way. I was rather dissapointed with the way the concierge spoke. He should have just passed the phone to us instead of answering the tour guide...we booked and we know better. Should have not answered negatively in front of us in such a way. No other comments about this hotel though.

Overall, a great hotel in Munich with high rated services and we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LOGESHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Logeshan,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station, the Stachus and also to the main museums in Munich. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Aleyandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Charles is across from a beautiful park. Note: the park has a great beer garden where the food was delicious. Location is great for the business traveler, but I think next trip we'd like to be a bit closer to the Marienplatz. The rooms at the Charles are nicely sized with huge beautiful bathrooms. We even took a dip in the indoor pool after a hot day walking in the city. Our room had a cute Juliet balcony. The service was incredible from the entire hotel staff!
Carpets in the hallways leading to the rooms need to be freshened up.
We would recommend The Charles to anyone who enjoys the lux lifestyle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShellBim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear ShellBim,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz, Stachus and the main museums are reachable by 10-15 minutes walking.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Please be kindly informed that we are always trying to keep your building and the furniture on a good renovation basis and we would like to aplogise deeply if you didn´t have this impression on our floors. Please be sure that we will keep an eye on this issue.

Dear ShellBim, we hope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel again. The entire team is looking forward to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely big room with large bathroom. Staff were very friendly. Mini bar very expensive but for a 5 star hotel, that's expected. We didn't get up early enough to have breakfast (!) so I don't know about the food. Beds were sooo comfortable !!

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel but cant remember room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear RosieH,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction, especially the bed.

Dear RosieH, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The highlights of this 5 star hotel are its central location (right on a lovely park), a large and welcoming lobby, a chic contemporary bar area, an airy, light filled dining room with huge windows, very generously sized guest rooms, all with lovely French doors, Juliet balconies, high ceilings, and large lux bathrooms. There is a beautiful spa and modern gym.

There is also an outstanding chef and professional waitstaff delivering well thought out, top quality victuals that are expertly prepared and served. Room service was fast, hot, and delicious, likewise the lush free breakfasts.

We found the service to be top notch from the ENTIRE hotel staff, all of whom seemed to be working hard toward the common goal of making the guest happy.

The hotel had a very new and clean feel, the possible exception being the guest room carpets, which might be looking a touch threadbare.

But no doubt about it: The Charles Hotel is a first class hostelry from start to finish, and a shining example of a hotel that brings all the ingredients to the party.

Well done Charles!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ofteninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear ofteninlove,

Thank you very much for your warm words and the time you took to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Our hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz and the main museums are by walking distance as well.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO and to enjoy the In Room Dining. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Thank you very much your honest words regarding the carpet in your guest room. Please be sure that it is our concern to keep our furniture and interior on a perfect condition and we are always working on a short renovation basis. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconviniences caused.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to The Charles Hotel again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 388 in Munich
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 388 in Munich
2,053 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 388 in Munich
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £278 - £1,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing