We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charles Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Europaischer Hof(Munich)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,021
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$913
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
anna hotel(Munich)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$433
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveller rating
1,326
248
67
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
248
67
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco fortebeautiful hotelheated floorsconcierge staffstar hoteltrain stationrooms are largeperfect staydeluxe roomminute walkbreakfast buffethotel restaurantold citybeer gardenvisiting munichmain stationspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel suffered by comparison as we came to it from another 5 star hotel that was quite outstanding. By comparison, the Charles Hotel seemed a little tired and in need of some refurbishment.

However, the hotel facilities were reasonably good, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the one dinner that we had in the dining room was good even though we were the only diners. Although the hotel was fully booked, the bar and dining room were virtually deserted throughout our stay of over a week and this resulted in a lack of ambiance.

The location is good and the staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MadClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear MadClem,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your feedback.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as the dinner in our restaurant Davvero. Giovanni, Russo, our Head Chef, loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean delicacies and Italian specialities.

Besides, we would like to apologize that you had the feeling of tired areas with high needs in refurbishment. Please be sure that we take your comment very serious and we will keep an eye on these issues.

We hope to get the chance to have you as our guest soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we are delighted to assist you personally.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely location..comfy rooms...service beyond compare, this is one of the most delightful hotels I have ever stayed in. The bummer was that the day after our arrival, the pool area and sauna were shut down for renovations- I did manage to go down just to experience briefly the night of our arrival and I KNOW I would have enjoyed it being open during our week stay..but, what to do. Next time. The restaurant had the most lovely european buffet for breakfast (ordering eggs of any style could also be ordered through wait staff) but didn't eat dinner there but sure it would have been delicious! The bar was nice to have drinks after day of sight seeing but enjoyed sitting out on the patio enjoying the nice weather more. Sasha, the concierge, was helpful and friendly and cute to boot! The housekeeping staff was efficient with out being intrusive and magically appeared at the right moments to offer anything we needed. Ordered room service one night. It was presented lovely and tasted good too. Very timely service. All of the people I encountered there were friendly and pleasant even just passing in the halls. It was definitely worth the price. There is no way you could be disappointed with this property. Well done and thanks for making it a great experience for my son and I!

Room Tip: We faced the gardens which was the best view of course.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ANN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ANN S,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Combining elegance and grandeur with modern luxury, the Charles Hotel embodies what all luxury hotels aim for. From the six star service from the bellboys, concierge, and restaurant staff, to the large and luxurious rooms finished with high-end linens and amenities, to the great location, a mere five minutes stroll from the train station, the Charles Hotel has it all. We also had one of the best breakfasts in Europe at the Daverro restaurant. With its high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows, the beautiful, light-filled restaurant is host to an extensive buffet breakfast, inclusive of a la carte options and freshly crafted coffees. We couldn’t have asked for more from such a great hotel and cannot wait to return!

For more photos, please check out our travel blog:
http://www.wanderlustchronicles.com.au/#!The-Charles-Hotel-Munich-Review/c1ljw/8123A750-AAF4-4FDC-B771-A230CF3242D6

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Wanderlust10,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz, the main museums and nice restaurants are by walking distance as well.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Easter. The service was simply impeccable. Large rooms with extremely comfortable beds and special attention to children. The breakfast is simply one of the best I ever had.
The location is very good: not far from the train station, Marien Platz and the Museums. Englischer Garten is a bit further away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiaRioLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte BiaRioLondon,

vielen Dank für Ihren freundlichen Aufenthalt im The Charles Hotel und das Teilen Ihrer Erfahrungen auf tripadvisor.com.

Es freut uns sehr, dass Ihre Familie und Sie den Aufenthalt rundum genießen konnten und ein paar erholsame Ostertage verlebten.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie auch zum nächsten Osterfest oder einem anderen Zeitpunkt erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Bitte zögern Sie nicht, uns bei einem Anliegen auch jederzeit direkt zu kontaktieren.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of an 11 day tour of Germany, Switzerland, and Austria. We stayed in great hotels all along the way, but The Charles exceeded all of them! First, the room/bathroom were the largest we had encountered in Europe! The service was impeccable-and not pretentious service, but truly helpful, friendly service! The hotel was quiet even though we were in downtown. I always need my ear plugs to sleep, but not here!! The hotel let us rent bicycles to explore Munich (I highly recommend), and the spa was nice (although I was not accustomed to nude co-ed spas). The restaurant served top notch food. The only thing negative I could say is that the FREE wi-fi was slow, but hey, it was free. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Charles and would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignalMtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear SignalMtngirl,

We’d like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

Dear SignalMtngirl, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.


Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews