We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just finished traveling to 4 European...”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We just finished traveling to 4 European countries & Munich was definitely my favorite. The Charles Hotel was so convenient to really see the city. It's across from. Park and a biergarten, which is where we watched the semi finals of the World Cup (Germany vs Spain). The rooms are large & designed well. We had a park view & it was beautiful. We are not the typical 5 star hotel people with the very expensive restaurant, spa or gift shop, but we love wonderful hotel rooms where you can rest after a long day of being on your feet touring the city. Would stay here again, but would need many more Euros for tips.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Givemegoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

Just returned from a five night stay at the Charles hotel. It is a new hotel, with all the five star trimmings. Our room had great views of munich and the botanical gardens, and were spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large and had a seperate bath and shower, as well as nice free toiletries.
The buffet breakfast (29 euros) is expensive but worth it, and on warm mornings can be eaten on a terrace overlooking the old botanical gardens. The hotel is within walking distance of the major museums and the main train station, making it easy to get around. The indoor pool/sauna area is stunning and very relaxing, with free fruit, spring water and herbal tea to make it even more enjoyable. The treatments though are very expensive and outside of my price range, so I didn't try any.
The staff very friendly and relaxed and we enjoyed eating at the italian restaurant there for two of our five nights (although, again, it isn't cheap!).
Only negative note is that I found the air-conditioning ineffective and the rooms hot at night, as it was in the low 30's when we were in munich.
All in all, if you can afford it, it's a great place to stay in Munich and I would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We had three rooms at the Charles for 4 nights last summer and they exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and well cared for. We were traveling with 5 children and they had gifts waiting in the room for the kids. Even though the hotel was very friendly with our children, it is also an elegant escape for couples.
The hotel itself is beautiful, the generous rooms are very clean and well appointed. The location is perfect as it is on a quiet street next to a children's park, yet two blocks away from public transportation. The hotel bar is small, but nice and we found it to be very reasonable. The bartender was exceptionally friendly and the food at the hotel is excellent. The restaurant opens up to the sidewalk for beautiful outside seating.
We look forward to returning to the Charles!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmarti24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Charles. It was great experience, one of the best city hotels in Europe! Rocco Forte never disappoint.
The service is super, the SPA is fantastic and the breakfast is really nice!
We had a special promotion 220 Euro (DLX room + breakfast) - great value!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed at the Charles hotel for 4 nights, got group rates as we were going there for a friend's wedding. Though we usually prefer hotels with some history and classic style, this new hotel does have a classic elegance. We stayed at thd deluxe room, facing the garden. Room is rather large, the bathroom is especially nice. Hotel staff are very friendly, they make us feel at home. Location is central, close to the shopping area, the main train station is only a few blocks away. We walked everywhere.
Although this is a rather expensive hotel, we believe that it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitepluie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Comfortable room size, very simple and elegant. Although there was snow, am sure in the summer the view of the park will be nice. And for business travelers, extremely fast internet.

The breakfast buffet has a wide range, i felt there could be more to cater to different culture, but apart from that great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

The previous positive reviews do the hotel justice, so I won't repeat the details.
Comfortable rooms, beautiful bathrooms, accommodating staff, and a ten minute walk to the charming restaurants, museums, shopping and car rental. Very central location that was easy to drive in and out of. The staff was welcoming and efficient, and the room, lit and with soft music playing upon our entry, was quiet. Returning each day felt like coming into our own small apartment, overlooking the old gardens across the street and the skyline in the distance. One negative - overpriced internet connection in the room (20 euros for 24 hours). I would recommend this hotel for a Munich stay of any length.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orionblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £247 - £1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing