We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, service not so much”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Rooms and bathrooms are great - modern w/ great rainforest shower stall. Spent 2 nights - housekeeping on 2nd day didn't do so great - hair on floor remained after blowdrying; towels and robes are dingy, thin, rough. Swimming pool very nice but very crowded. We were exhausted the first night and ate in hotel restaurant -- very good Italian food but big problem w/ the bill. We had been eating in restaurants all over Europe and just wanted some simple, healthy food. Instead of 12 euros for a salad (base price for starters) we ordered the mixed green salad and an order of grilled vegetables for 3 euros each; plus a main course per person. When the bill arrived we were charged 9 euros for the salad and 9 euros for the grilled veggies. We told the server that we had been overcharged -- she informed us that the 3 euro plates were only for accompaniments to certain main courses - I said -well then you should have told us that when we ordered. I think she just made up the 9 euro price. My salad was very small, had nothing except some greens and vinagret dressing...for the equivalent of $13 ??? After a lot of hemming and hawing she said she would have to consult with the chef; then turned her back to us, started entering into the computer system (she was less than a yard from us) and brought the revised bill. Obviously she didn't consult the chef. If you get the drift that this hotel is trying to gouge its clientele that is certainly the feeling we got -its as if they think the hotel guest won't notice. Another instance -- I asked where I could check email -- they pointed to an unmarked door. I thought it would be like their sister hotel -- De Russie in Rome -- where there are 2 terminals free of charge. Instead, these computers require you to use a credit card to pay for 15 minutes, an hour, etc -- exhorbitant rates. I haven't seen a nice hotel in Europe that doesn't provide free internet access in its lobby as a courtesy in YEARS! The front desk staff is just ok (when I asked for a letter to be mailed (within Europe) she asked what room should she charge the stamp to; both male concierges we interacted with were good. This hotel could be really great but the service is missing on a lot of notes and I get the feeling management only cares about the bottom line. Too bad as I thought Rocco Forte got the basic concept that is you make guests happy then they will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is a very good hotel indeed. All the staff were consistently helpful and friendly; the food was fine; the pool superb. We had a good sized room with a splendid view over Munich, exceedingly comfortable beds and no noise of any kind. It is within walking distance of all the important museums in one direction and the centre of the town in another. Expensive but the efficiency and the atmosphere make it worthwhile. If you are driving there, approach from the north and centre of the crescent otherwise you will be caught up in a one way system.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We just returned from a week stay in Munich, Germany and are very pleased with The Charles Hotel. When we arrived in the morning after an overnight flight our deluxe room was ready for us ... which is always great to know you can get settled. The front desk was efficient and we were taken to our room and they went over all the details. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the botanical garden. The rooms have small French balconies ... so you can stand outside and look at the view and enjoy fresh air. We were on a Summer Escape special and our room was 220 euros per night that includes taxes and full breakfast each morning. This is a 5 star hotel and to be very honest we thought it was a good value. The room was a good size compared to many European hotels in cities. There was a king bed as chair and ottoman plus a small loveseat sofa with a table. The bathroom was just beautiful, large and well appointed!

We loved the location of the hotel .... 5 -7 minute walk to the main train station and we could walk to Marienplatz in about 15 minutes ... which we did not find too long! It was a pleasant walk and after a day or two we found an efficient route to get to Old Town. We did 3 day trips from the train station so we found the location to be perfect for us. We could walk to Old Town for dinners and a couple of nights after long day trips ... we opted to stop at the Park Cafe in the Botanical Garden on our way back rather than walk into Old Town. The food was inexpensive and what we selected was very good!

We did have full breakfast included in our rate but if not ... the cost is some where around 25-30 euros per person for full breakfast. The breakfast was very good but I'm not sure it would have been worth it. There was buffet or you could order eggs, omelets, pancakes, waffles etc. off the menu and be served. So it did provide options but was not inexpensive!

Overall ... we've stayed many places in Europe and the Charles Hotel is one of our favorites. We like the quiet location and did not mind the walk to Old Town and did like the location nearer the main train station based on our plans to travel via train. We never used cabs except for transport to/from the airport. Munich is a great city, nice people, clean and we felt very safe!

We would highly recommend the Charles Hotel and would return if we decide to return to Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacations from Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Munich has plenty of hotel options but The Charles can't be beat when you consider the service, the rooms' size and views, the amenities, the pool and fitness facilities, the concierge, the breakfasts, etc. etc. We took advantage of the 3-night discount which brought the rates down to earth. The old botanic garden across the street is very nice, and it's easy to walk to the train station if that is how you arrive or leave from Munich. We thought our room (6th floor, facing the gardens) was very quiet and extremely comfortable. It is a bit of a walk to many of the Munich sights, tho access to trams and other public transportation is very good. Munich is such an amazing place to visit that it's tempting to not worry too much about the hotel room when you plan to spend as much time as possible discovering the city, but picking a hotel as good as this can really enhance your stay. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I agree with the reviews that laud the modern elegance and comfort of this hotel. We had a junior suite (401), three nights at 285 Euros a night. I can see how they can charge 700 per night. The service was great, but a little stiff. The restaurant was gorgeous but overpriced--we only ate the free breakfast there as a part of the special rate. For dinner we opted instead for recommendations from the outstanding concierge for places to eat around town. It is right near the bus station, which isn't the most elegant of neighborhoods, but we took cabs or walked about everywhere we wanted to go, and at 285 a night, no complaint here. The old botanical garden is opposite the park, and the nicest views probably overlook the garden, although the garden is a little rundown and inhabited in part by transients. There were a lot of middle easterners at the hotel, and if I had to guess, it seemed like the staff was trained not to initiate communication with women directly, which was odd. They could have thrown in free wireless internet, and maybe some more english speaking TV if I had to come up with some constructive criticism.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnS887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We just finished traveling to 4 European countries & Munich was definitely my favorite. The Charles Hotel was so convenient to really see the city. It's across from. Park and a biergarten, which is where we watched the semi finals of the World Cup (Germany vs Spain). The rooms are large & designed well. We had a park view & it was beautiful. We are not the typical 5 star hotel people with the very expensive restaurant, spa or gift shop, but we love wonderful hotel rooms where you can rest after a long day of being on your feet touring the city. Would stay here again, but would need many more Euros for tips.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Givemegoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Just returned from a five night stay at the Charles hotel. It is a new hotel, with all the five star trimmings. Our room had great views of munich and the botanical gardens, and were spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large and had a seperate bath and shower, as well as nice free toiletries.
The buffet breakfast (29 euros) is expensive but worth it, and on warm mornings can be eaten on a terrace overlooking the old botanical gardens. The hotel is within walking distance of the major museums and the main train station, making it easy to get around. The indoor pool/sauna area is stunning and very relaxing, with free fruit, spring water and herbal tea to make it even more enjoyable. The treatments though are very expensive and outside of my price range, so I didn't try any.
The staff very friendly and relaxed and we enjoyed eating at the italian restaurant there for two of our five nights (although, again, it isn't cheap!).
Only negative note is that I found the air-conditioning ineffective and the rooms hot at night, as it was in the low 30's when we were in munich.
All in all, if you can afford it, it's a great place to stay in Munich and I would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 389 in Munich
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £239 - £1,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing