We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location - fantastic rooms, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location - fantastic rooms, decent food”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Situated close to the main platz in munich as well as the main railway station, this is a grand hotel. The building itself has a sort of an old world charm with lot of greenery around it.

Inside the hotle is grand - the rooms are magnificent amnd mine was a corner one with atleast 4 tiny balconies, a separate sitting area, the bed surrounded by glass on nearly three sides and a huge bathroom complete with twin wash basins, and a large-sized bath.

The bar was busy and in the limited menu there was plenty to choose from and the dinner in the hotel restaurant in the evening was great. I forget if it was a michelin-starred restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YP_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    218
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
379
515
89
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We went to Munich for a week in a business trip, the hotel location is just perfect minutes away from shopping malls and opposite a garden.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, we felt welcomed from the minute we stepped into the hotel door till we checked out.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Charles Hotel is a modern and sophisticated hotel located in the heart of Munich. Our room was spacious and very well appointed. The bathroom was fabulous...the heated floors were amazing. They even offer a "pillow" menu to choose the type of pillow you prefer. The staff was extremely professional and curtious. The hotel pool and spa are top notch. The only issue we had with this hotel happened when we had dinner the first night. The wait for our simple dinner was over an hour and a half. The breakfast buffet more then made up for our dinner issue. The buffet had a large selection of breakfast items that were delicous and beautifully presented. We will definitely stay a The Charles when we return to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxbrophym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I loved the Charles Hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, extremely well maintained, and give you an automatic feeling of relaxation when you enter. The bar area, while small, is fantastic with top notch service. The breakfast service is wonderful, and we did have one dinner at the hotel that was just perfect. The gym is very well equipped with a perfect mix of cardio and weight machines. The conceirge was very helpful, and gave us excellent restaurant recomendations. We really loved Munich and will return to stay at the Charles.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestsideRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed at the Charles for five nights. The hotel is beautifully decorated with large comfortable room, great king bed and spacious bathroom. Our room was just across the vestibule from the elevator and we never heard a sound outside our room! As others have mentioned, there is a nice balcony with opening French door overlooking the Old Botanical Garden. The hotel is just a short walk from the train station and very well located for most of the main tourist sites. Best of all however was the staff. Almost everyone addressed us by name, we were warmly greeted each time we returned to the hotel, all of our requests were promptly addressed and the concierge staff was all very helpful, both before and during our stay. Special thanks goes to Heidi who assisted us with all of our dinner plans and other activities!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTfoodieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Rooms and bathrooms are great - modern w/ great rainforest shower stall. Spent 2 nights - housekeeping on 2nd day didn't do so great - hair on floor remained after blowdrying; towels and robes are dingy, thin, rough. Swimming pool very nice but very crowded. We were exhausted the first night and ate in hotel restaurant -- very good Italian food but big problem w/ the bill. We had been eating in restaurants all over Europe and just wanted some simple, healthy food. Instead of 12 euros for a salad (base price for starters) we ordered the mixed green salad and an order of grilled vegetables for 3 euros each; plus a main course per person. When the bill arrived we were charged 9 euros for the salad and 9 euros for the grilled veggies. We told the server that we had been overcharged -- she informed us that the 3 euro plates were only for accompaniments to certain main courses - I said -well then you should have told us that when we ordered. I think she just made up the 9 euro price. My salad was very small, had nothing except some greens and vinagret dressing...for the equivalent of $13 ??? After a lot of hemming and hawing she said she would have to consult with the chef; then turned her back to us, started entering into the computer system (she was less than a yard from us) and brought the revised bill. Obviously she didn't consult the chef. If you get the drift that this hotel is trying to gouge its clientele that is certainly the feeling we got -its as if they think the hotel guest won't notice. Another instance -- I asked where I could check email -- they pointed to an unmarked door. I thought it would be like their sister hotel -- De Russie in Rome -- where there are 2 terminals free of charge. Instead, these computers require you to use a credit card to pay for 15 minutes, an hour, etc -- exhorbitant rates. I haven't seen a nice hotel in Europe that doesn't provide free internet access in its lobby as a courtesy in YEARS! The front desk staff is just ok (when I asked for a letter to be mailed (within Europe) she asked what room should she charge the stamp to; both male concierges we interacted with were good. This hotel could be really great but the service is missing on a lot of notes and I get the feeling management only cares about the bottom line. Too bad as I thought Rocco Forte got the basic concept that is you make guests happy then they will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is a very good hotel indeed. All the staff were consistently helpful and friendly; the food was fine; the pool superb. We had a good sized room with a splendid view over Munich, exceedingly comfortable beds and no noise of any kind. It is within walking distance of all the important museums in one direction and the centre of the town in another. Expensive but the efficiency and the atmosphere make it worthwhile. If you are driving there, approach from the north and centre of the crescent otherwise you will be caught up in a one way system.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing