We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I very strongly recommend”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I am usually quite fussy about hotels but that one proved to be genuinely excellent.
I travel a lot in Europe and I must say that German hotels and service are far above average.

The Charles met all my requirements:
- very nice staff, helpful and congenial
- spotless
- a great Spa: swimming pool, steam bath and Finnish sauna, resting room. Very clean and modern
- one of the best breakfast I ever had: huge choice of delicious stuff
- silent room
- spacious room
- fantastic bed

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gweltasbzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2010

Just got back from 3 nights in the Charles Hotel. What I loved about the hotel was that it was clean, comfortable, with EXCELLENT bathrooms (showers were amazing), and the staff was incredible and very friendly. The rooms are much larger than you would find at other 5 star hotels. It was rather chilly in Munich, and the walk from the hotel to the Karlsplatz which gets you into pedastrian-only Munich (Marienplatz, etc), can seem a little far in cold weather (its only about a 5 minute walk though). However, staying a little away from the hustle and bustle was nice too. I particularly loved the view out of the large windows of the Fraunkirche and the city (in the deluxe rooms). The view I saw in the website was one of the main reasons I wanted to stay here. My only complaint would be that the hotel does not have wireless internet and the cost of 20 euros per day to have a cable connection is crazy. In addition the hotel had many problems with keeping an internet connection, so our connection would constantly drop. However, the wonderful staff saw to it that we were not charged for the internet due to these problems. To summarize, the Charles was an excellent hotel, very comfortable and clean. It was a nice place to come back to after being out in the cold. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creynold02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Situated close to the main platz in munich as well as the main railway station, this is a grand hotel. The building itself has a sort of an old world charm with lot of greenery around it.

Inside the hotle is grand - the rooms are magnificent amnd mine was a corner one with atleast 4 tiny balconies, a separate sitting area, the bed surrounded by glass on nearly three sides and a huge bathroom complete with twin wash basins, and a large-sized bath.

The bar was busy and in the limited menu there was plenty to choose from and the dinner in the hotel restaurant in the evening was great. I forget if it was a michelin-starred restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YP_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We went to Munich for a week in a business trip, the hotel location is just perfect minutes away from shopping malls and opposite a garden.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, we felt welcomed from the minute we stepped into the hotel door till we checked out.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Charles Hotel is a modern and sophisticated hotel located in the heart of Munich. Our room was spacious and very well appointed. The bathroom was fabulous...the heated floors were amazing. They even offer a "pillow" menu to choose the type of pillow you prefer. The staff was extremely professional and curtious. The hotel pool and spa are top notch. The only issue we had with this hotel happened when we had dinner the first night. The wait for our simple dinner was over an hour and a half. The breakfast buffet more then made up for our dinner issue. The buffet had a large selection of breakfast items that were delicous and beautifully presented. We will definitely stay a The Charles when we return to Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxbrophym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My husband and I loved the Charles Hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, extremely well maintained, and give you an automatic feeling of relaxation when you enter. The bar area, while small, is fantastic with top notch service. The breakfast service is wonderful, and we did have one dinner at the hotel that was just perfect. The gym is very well equipped with a perfect mix of cardio and weight machines. The conceirge was very helpful, and gave us excellent restaurant recomendations. We really loved Munich and will return to stay at the Charles.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestsideRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed at the Charles for five nights. The hotel is beautifully decorated with large comfortable room, great king bed and spacious bathroom. Our room was just across the vestibule from the elevator and we never heard a sound outside our room! As others have mentioned, there is a nice balcony with opening French door overlooking the Old Botanical Garden. The hotel is just a short walk from the train station and very well located for most of the main tourist sites. Best of all however was the staff. Almost everyone addressed us by name, we were warmly greeted each time we returned to the hotel, all of our requests were promptly addressed and the concierge staff was all very helpful, both before and during our stay. Special thanks goes to Heidi who assisted us with all of our dinner plans and other activities!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTfoodieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#23 of 390 in Munich
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £258 - £638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing