We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, size, price, clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel-Apart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Hotel-Apart
Ranked #140 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
kuwait
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, size, price, clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The apartment hotel is reasonable priced compared to other properties in Munich including breakfast. The hotel staffs spoke excellent English and were very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a reasonable size elevator. The breakfast was good (eggs, cheese, breads, cake, serial, coffee, tea, etc..) and the location was excellent with tram (baumkirchner strasse) just 3 min from the hotel which takes you straight to the center. There is also Josephsburg Underground Station which we did not have to use. The hotel provides you with all the maps and attractions you need for free. Nice quiet and safe residential area with lots of grocery stores and restaurants close by, mostly Italian food and pizza. There is also a small food stand across the street from the hotel which sells Shawarma and Falafel (closes at 9 pm). The rooms are clean. We had two connected rooms which makes a two bedroom apartment each with its own shower, toilet and kitchenette. The smaller room has a balcony overlooking the garden and the larger room has a large window with the same view. To enter the apartment, first you open a door with a key to enter a small corridor then you have the doors of the two rooms on right and left which can be opened with a card. The larger room has three separate beds and the smaller room has two attached twin beds and separate foldable twin bed and a baby cot. The foldable bed was easy to operate and we opened it for sleeping at night and folded it back in the morning. The size of the rooms was adequate for the 7 of us, 3 adults, 3 children and a 2 year baby. We locked the main door with the key and kept the doors of the rooms open even during sleeping at night.

The hotel has 4 outside large parking and an underground parking with plenty of space even for large and high ceiling car (9 seats). We did not use our car to visit the center, instead we used the Day Ticket inner zone (Partner Tageskarte Innenraum) for 10,20 €. This ticket is good for Trams, Undergrounds and Buses. You can buy it from the hotel or in the tram using coins only. The ticket machine in the tram takes as small coins as 10 and maybe 5 cents. This ticket allows for 5 adults and counts each 2 children (6-14 years old) as one adult. So, 4 adults can ride with 2 children or 2 adults with 6 children and etc…I highly recommend the hotel for couples and families and do not mind going there again.

The free Wi-Fi was available in the entire hotel but the signal was not reliable in the rooms. But the kids went to the outside corridor or the main lobby and had no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h3kamal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    84
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
30
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Pros:
Breakfast was plentiful in a pleasant room with a bit of a garden view.
Location: Close to a u-bahn stop and a tram stop. Close to several good eating options.
Self-serve laundry facilities available - easy to use.
Front-desk staff were friendly and helpful.
This was the cheapest accommodation we had in our 6 weeks in Europe.

Cons:
Location: Further out of the city than we realised. Effectively out in the suburbs.
Decor was a bit 'concrete and industrial' and our room was an odd shape.
Wifi available but signal no strong enough to really work in the rooms... we had to sit out in the stair-well to get a connection!

When weighing up the cons with the price it's still fairly good value but next time we visit Munich we'll stay closer in to town.

Room Tip: If you want a decent wifi connection in your room, ask for a room closer to the modem as the signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

To reiterate most of what the previous reviewers have said. Although an unassuming and away from the city center hotel/apartment, it was perfect for us. It was very near the U line station (with lift from the platform to street level) and to the tram 19 station. We managed easily with heavy luggages with wheels.

The check in and check out were easy. The room was reasonably large, clean and tidy, but the shower area was a bit small (the shower curtain ocassionally sticks to the body). But good water flow. The bed was comfortable and provide good support to the spine. The kitchenette was handy, and as stated, not fully equipped but adequate for simple meals. Halfway between the U line station exit and the hotel was the REWE mini supermarket chain branch, which has more than an adequate selection of daily necessities on sale, eg, fruits, veges, meat, cold foods/drinks, drinks (alcoholic or otherwise), etc..

Breakfast has a good but similar selection each day.

The best part was the view of the football field, the quiet church and the trees outside the balcony. It was nice to come back to somewhere quiet and serene, after a hecky day of bus, train and tram, and people and sights.

The only setback was the unreliable wifi. Managed to get connected 2 out of 4 days, ie 50% success rate! just to check the mail. And our room, on the upper floor, was next to the lift, which was opposite the reception/lobby. But the speed of the internet at the computer in the lobby was really fast. Perhaps they should use the WLAN line, instead of wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nice2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for over 3 weeks, checking out for weekends.I found the service very friendly and the place very clean. The front desk staff are very welcoming and helpful. During my stay I requested my room changed every time I checked in so I stayed in the total of 3 rooms.
The rooms: good size, and the corner ones in the C building are much bigger. The internet is free, but the signal is very weak in majority of the rooms. If it is important for you, request an "internet friendly" room. Although it is away from the main road, the sound of people's luggage being dragged outside is quite annoying specially in the early morning. If you are a light sleeper, request a room which faces toward the back of the building or if not available a room in C building.
The bathroom: different in each room, I guess the last room I stayed in was not renovated yet. The renovated ones don't have a bathtub but the shower is great, but the floor with get wet regardless of how careful you are. The older ones have a bathtub but the shower is not the best. All of them were quite clean although not very big.
The bed : very comfortable and big for one person. Extra blanket / pillow available in the closet.
The kitchenette: perfect size, leaving lots of room for storage, but some things were missing (such as pasta strainer, salt and pepper, tea or coffee.) In some rooms there is a table to eat at, in others you have to eat at your desk.There was no dish washing soap/sponge, but the cleaning staff washed the dishes when they cleaned the room.
The Location: two minutes walk from the metro station. Easy access to tram (streetcar) as well. A grocery store and couple of nice inexpensive restaurants within walking distance.
Breakfast: Very good choice of drinks, specially coffee-based ones. Some fruit (not much), lots of bread including pretzels, some cold cuts, scrambled eggs and bacon, cereal and some cakes.
Gym: looked good, although i did not use it.

Room Tip: If internet is important request an "internet friendly" room. The room facing toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sepiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is about a 12 minute subway ride from the Hauptbahnhof and is 2-3 miuntes walk from Josephsberg station or about 3-4 minutes from the #19 tram stop. Between the hotel and the station is a handy mini-mart, so you can get everything you need for the room. There's also four restaurants and a snack bar and bank/ATM within seconds of the hotel too.

The hotel itself is well presented and the rooms are spacious, very clean and warm. I had a balcony with a view over the football field next door and the double glazing on the patio door kept most of the (minimal) street noise out. There were also blackout curtains which were very effective. The wifi in my room was too poor to use (I was at the end of a corridor), but I asked at reception and was given a room closer to the centre of the building near the lift, where it worked fine. Something to bear in mind if wifi is important to you.

The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and all fresh and well presented and the staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. The cooking utensils provided in the room were utterly basic, a frying pan, a couple of saucepans a chopping board, two plates, bowls and cups. I bought a turner/spatula thingy and a washing up brush and liquid from the nearby store as none was provided. If you do intend to use the room to cook, bear that in mind. Also, there is no microwave.

The first room I had (with the poor wifi) had a safe, but the subsequent one didn't - best to check if this is important to you. That said, the safe was not scewed down, so I could have taken it from the first room to the second when I moved - hardly reassuring!

Overall I would glady recommend this hotel as it was very reasonably priced and in a quiet, residential area, yet close to all transport, shops and restaurants. The trip on the subway into/out of Munich was never an issue and I think the whole experience was nicer than staying in one of the budget hotels in the city centre.

Room Tip: For decent wifi reception ask for a room near the lifts. Rooms at the back of the hotel seem to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Although the value charged for the room is a little over the average, this hotel is very good as a 3-star. The location is really very good - a calm and residential area, but very near you have supermarket, pharmacy, bank, restaurants, and on the same block a Metro station. Therefore you can go everywhere in Munich without problem.
The apartment was very clean, decent bathroom, the kitchenette is good, and so is the breakfast. Staff is very polite and they can help you with anything you need. As you arrive you receive a map and an information sheet showing your location and the neighbourhood.
The italian restaurant near the hotel is very good, also. It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arquimedes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

In a quiet and clean neighborhood on the outskirts of town, but close both to the tram and underground stations. Free wifi. Very helpful staff that helped us get into a bigger room.
I have to give it only 4 stars because my reservation (through expedia) promised a queen bed but on arrival, it was only a small twin-sized bed.
We stayed here for Oktoberfest and would do so again. It takes about 45 minutes, door to door, to get to Oktoberfest -- but if you stay any closer, prices go through the roof and you might be too much in the middle of the mayhem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.5 mi away
Adagio Muenchen City
Adagio Muenchen City
#78 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
6.8 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munchen
3.1 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#246 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
1.9 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
5.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel-Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel-Apart

Property: Central Hotel-Apart
Address: Josephsburgstr. 26, 81673 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel-Apart 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Central Hotel-Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel-Apart Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing