We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; great location”
Review of Hotel Falkenturm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Falkenturm
Ranked #298 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I was attending an opera at Bayerische Staatsoper and wanted a hotel in close proximity. This hotel provided much more. Exceptionally clean and comfortable; free wi-fi; great breakfast; staff friendly & helpful. I couldn't have asked for more. Close to the Old Town & the famous Hofbräuhaus. Would recommend to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F1Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

Fantastic position, very cosy place. Rooms are small, but beds are very comfortable. 2 min walking from Marienplatz. I will strongly recomend to have a meal in italian Osteria in front of the hotel - greate food and service! Just dont go to this hotel during the summer - they dont have a/c. Very good price for such a central position.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This is a cosy, clean, informal hotel. Small rooms, and no aditional facilities... EUR 195 for a double room (during the Oktober Feste) is almost criminal!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Objective5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Nice location to Hofbrauhaus and Marienplatz but the worse hotel I have ever stayed in.
The room was small(expected) but extremely hot and not fan. Opening the window didn't even help. Dark smelly hallways. Extremely out of date and very overpriced. There so called breakfast was a joke and worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The hotel was situated in a great spot in downtown Munich...great access to the rail and many sites. However, when I checked in I was a bit thrown back that I was asked if I could pay in cash. I was not willing to do so. After check out, I was charged an additional fee under some very questionable circumstances. I called to formally complain to no avail. I would strongly recommend another hotel. There are plenty other comparable hotels in the area. I just happened to choose the wrong one. Dont' take the chance with this one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 301TripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Staying here during the Oktoberfest season was more practicle than desirable.
Everything becomes more expensive while the festival is on and choice between hotels is limited - we tried to book four months out and still had only a couple to choose from.
The location of this hotel is ideal - close to transport, the Residenz, a really good market that happened to be open & restaurants. Though with space at a premium, the rooms are very small and despite booking a double, got 2 single beds instead.
The staff were quite helpful in providing directions and local tips, but come time to pay, the manager pressured us to pay cash even though we'd arranged to pay via card, and this was without any discount being offered for a cash payment. If we'd known, we would have obliged. Checking out took over 30 minutes too; he kept hinting that cash would be quicker. It left a bit of a sour note to the stay.
None the less, it was clean, the breakfast room was well stocked and as I said, the location was great for us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AG365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This hotel was ideal as a centrally located base for sightseeing in Munich - we were there for the Christmas markets. It is clean and comfortable and was moderately priced in a city where hotels are very expensive (I did a lot of internet price checking) especially for such a great location. 5 mins in one direction and you are in Marienplatz, 5 mins in the other and you are in the Opera square and Residenz.

The public areas are limited with only a breakfast area with tables, nowhere really to relax except your room, but fine if you were just using it as a base to sleep. I used the free wifi which worked perfectly all the time in my 1st floor room. The hotel decor is comfortable and cosy but a little old fashioned, the bathrom was likewise clean and mostly modern but the radiator and some of the cracked tiles could do with replacing.

There was a good selection at the buffet breakfast, not gourmet fare but plenty to set you up for a day's sightseeing. The staff were pleasant, professional and helpful.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for couples who are not worried about design and ambiance and want a comfortable, good value and centrally located hotel as a base for sightseeing.

You can read a full review at http://www.heatheronhertravels.com/review-hotel-falkenturm-munich/

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heatheronhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#168 of 389 in Munich
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 389 in Munich
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#164 of 389 in Munich
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#128 of 389 in Munich
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Falkenturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falkenturm

Address: Falkenturmstr. 3, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £64 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Falkenturm 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Falkenturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkenturm Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing