We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just sufficient but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
Ranked #82 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A cosy hotel with a good bed, good daily room service. But there is no telephone in the room, no water kettle provided or any potable water provided for that matter(bought a .75litre from them for 4 euros, was too tired and thirsty and it was a Sunday). Shower and sink water heats up pretty quickly and nicely. Breakfast was good, nice coffee and good spread of ham cheese bread, with specific mention to their cheese, should try all of them.

Location is okay, with a tram/bus stop just outside the hotel, you could take one of those to the nearest train station(Ostbahnhof, aka Munich East station) which is about 600m away, pretty much walkable)

Overall a good stay for about a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayen_K90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

This motel one is located around 10 minutes walk from Ostbahnhof which is around another 8minutes from citycentre by train. When it was not raining, it was fine to walk to Ostbahnhof, but while it was raining, it was cold and hard to walk to there.

The room was slightly bigger than normal Motel one with the sink inside the bathroom rather than beside the bed.

I stayed in this motel one for 4 nights, however, there were many problems in it. Firstly, this hotel has no heating system at all and always under staff. All motel one have no phone in the room, so each time any problems you have to go down to ask and each time was having long queue. When I asked them to turn on the heater, they said it is summer time and they refused to turn it on. But it was actualy 1C to 6C all the time, at night I could not sleep at all. I told them two times, but they were not willing to turn on the heater. I know it was supposed to be Summer time, but in fact the weather was under 6C, they should be more flexible to change the heating system. Staff's English was genearlly quite bad and they did not communicate good in English.

WiFi kept cutting off and needed to sign in again. Sign it again was troublesome, but the password did not work after one day and needed to go down to ask again and again. I had already told them in advance I needed WiFi during my stay and did not want to ask again for the login password. But obviously they did not care enough about my concern.

I wish I could rate this hotel better, but the services were really bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is nice but really minimalist. To stay couple of days it is OK but longer could generate some problems due the rooms quite small without any accessories. This is not a big issue, but only an alert for the next travellers.
Good position if your choice is to stay out of center city because close to the tram , subway and train to go to downtown.
Hotel : breakfast good, bar good, reception people ok, nothing more. Rooms very clean and quite also if positioned on the main road side.
Hotel parking 9 Euro a day may be is too much, but the room rate is ok
If you are looking for an hotel without many "accessories" , this one it's the right one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrizio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a basic hotel that has no phone in the room but it is clean, decent and comfortable
for the price it charges. Well located in Munich, it is a few blocks from the train station that you may take the tram in front of the hotel as train and tram have same ticket. Breakfast is good enough and no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of hotel may be quieter than those in front of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanemBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel has a good location, just 10 minutes walk from Ostbahnhof or 2 minutes by bus or tram which stop right outside. The rooms are small but well designed. The hotel is new and it shows in that everything looks good. There is no mini bar, safe or phone in the room. The breakfast is standard buffet but good. I stayed there during the Oktoberfest, so the rates were high but normally it would be very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally_pgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 2 nights there, in 2 double rooms. The room was small but it was quite enough for a short-time stay. The design is nice and modern. The hotel and the rooms are very clean. We didn´t expect the cleaning in the afternoon (as we left the room then), but they did the cleaning after we left, and that was very nice. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful with lots of good tips and ideas. Breakfast (charged extra to the room price) is worth the price, with good choice, everything fresh. The street outside is quite noisy, but the rooms are soundproof, so there is no problem with that. The hotel is safe. There are some sofas in front of the hotel, where you can smoke comfortably and drink something from the hotel bar. There is free wifi (you have to ask a code at the reception) and safe, large parking in the garage (charged 9 € per day).
We recommend the hotel (which is a proper hotel, don´t understand it as a motel), and we can imagine coming back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The great thing about Motel One's are that they have a decent standard. Until now I have never been disappointed by the common quality of this hotel chain - and in the Motel One München City-Ost it was just as I expected it to be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonihannott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
0.3 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
2.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#257 of 390 in Munich
101 reviews
3.4 mi away
Motel One Munchen-City-West
0.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
#55 of 390 in Munich
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen City-Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen City-Ost

Address: Orleansstr. 87, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £70 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Muenchen City-Ost 2.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel One Muenchen City-Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen City-Ost

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing