We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in Munich”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Gaertnerplatz
Ranked #17 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in Munich”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Been here two times, and if it will be a third this is the place to stay. It´s small, nice rooms, clean and proper. Breakfast is very good. It good situated, not far from Viktualienmarkt and the central parts of Munich.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzian1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed with my with at Gaertnerplatz during the oktoberfest and it was great. The room we stayed was spacious, clean and confortable. The breakfast is also good with delicious breads, butter, jam, honey, eggs, cheeses, cold meats, juice, coffee, milk, tea, etc.
The location is great because it is very close, walking distance, to the historical center but in a quiet street. There is a subway station near the hotel, just across the street.
The problem was the expensive price, but oh well, it was the oktoberfest! The service was good but it lacks the intimate touch that other penzions or B&Bs across Germany and other countries have. But maybe there are people who favors less intimate approach, so this is relative.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Second stay at this pension in Munich. We had for the second time a nice double, big one, room at Klenzestrasse. Clean, good beds and a nice bathroom. Very friendly staff and a good breakfast. The pension is very central. Just close to Gärtnerplatz with lots of nice bars and nice surroundings. Just a few mins stroll to Viktualienmarkt. I strongly recommend this place. It´s small but at a good price, clean and as written very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzian1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The B&B is in a strategic and very nice area of the city. U Banh is exactly in front of the pension and around you can also find lots of shops, supermarkets and the famous Fraunhoher restaurant. Marienplatz is at walking distance. Breakfast is okay. Wlan access is not good especially at first floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a well-located B&B with interesting decor in the rooms. However, if you have an American Mac or iphone, you will not be able to connect to the internet in your room, and most likely not even in the reception area. Note that the pension is difficult to find, as there is no sign other than the word "Pension" painted on the wall. Keep the address number in hand. The rooms are small, and be prepared for 2 flights of stairs. It is a "Pension" and not a hotel, so there isn't reception service 24 hours. Breakfast is a lovely and ample with traditional German table settings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liseuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel is very nice, breakfast was great, and the woman running things was so kind. Our room (#3) was so large and well decorated. Bathroom was standard but very clean. Wifi didn't work upstairs but worked well at the cafe on ground level.
We thought the hotel was great, but only wished we'd considered the location a bit more. It was great in terms of walking distance to Viktaulienmart/Marienplatz and all subway lines. However, we're young (late 20s) but apparently not young enough to hang down here. On the square (1/2 a block up the street) was a loud party both Friday and Saturday nights. Hundreds of people sitting out with their own wine/beer drinking... it was totally fine and reasonable- except that it went until after 4 a.m. by which point most people were very loud. Then, groups wandered out onto the street the pension is on and sat and drank there til almost 6 a.m. - at which point the street sweepers were out trying to get the mess cleaned up (beer bottles everywhere.) We got NO sleep for 2 nights straight because it was very hot out and we had to keep windows open (no A.C.). Maybe this was because of the time we were there.. but I'd look into this further next time I came to Munich.

Room Tip: The rooms off the street/facing back courtyard would probably be better in terms of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 children, in two separate rooms. The location of this pension is great - close to Marienplatz, Virtualienmarkt and metro stop. Nice neighborhood with a good glimpse into Munich life. Rooms were cute and clean with very unique furnishings. Breakfast was quite delicious. Coffee was fantastic and service was wonderful. Might be a bit pricey from what we read, but have not had the chance to compare yet. Andrea and Bina were very, very pleasant, friendly and helpful with everything. We would definitely return to Munich and to this lovely B&B. Recommended to all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 65 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gaertnerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gaertnerplatz

Property: Pension Gaertnerplatz
Address: Klenzestr. 45, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Gaertnerplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing