We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact rooms, nice people, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H'Otello H'09

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
H'Otello H'09
Ranked #211 of 381 Hotels in Munich
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Compact rooms, nice people, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at the H'otello in Hohenzollernstrasse for a long weekend to watch a friend's son dance in the Munich Oper.

The rooms are somewhat compact (rabbit hutch-like), but have everything needed for a stay - plenty of storage, a safe, minibar, free wifi and a good shower room. They are clean, have large comfortable beds and are neither outrageously decorated nor particularly expensive. Bigger, more expensive rooms can be found down the road nearer to Stadtmitte. Breakfast was 15 Euros a person, which we didn't have, preferring an Italian cafe a few doors up the road, which provided a good breakfast for a little less. There are plenty of snacking places in the immediate area.

I was somewhat dubious about the location of the hotel when booking - this was the preferred one for our friends, whose son lived close by. However, once we were there, we concluded we were well situated. The hotel is in Schwabing which is still a relatively good district in Munich, with shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. It is three stops from Marienplatz on the U-Bahn, which represents the centre of Munich. So, underground 5 minutes away from the centre and walking, about 20 minutes. Within easy striking distance of the hotel is the Englischer Garten, a vast green area, great for eating, drinking, walking, sightseeing, and some sports … including surfing on the river Isar; also nearby via tram is Schloss Nymphenburg, one of Ludwig II's summer palaces.

Thanks to Munich's fantastic integrated public transport system - rather puts London's efforts to shame - sightseeing is easy in Munich and consequently from the hotel: from the rather sombre Dachau (reached via Schnellbahn), to Olympiapark, BMW World, some world class museums and art galleries, castles, houses, etc.., etc…

As a place to rest your head and sightsee, the hotel the fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotellomuc, Manager at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear BertyBrit,

first we would like to thank you kindly for your review. In deed we are happy, your stay was to your satisfaction and we are looking forwards to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Matthias Biereder
General Manager
H’Otello Munich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    102
    50
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
60
9
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a golf safari. The location is very good, in a lively district with many bars and restaurants, 20 min walk to old part of Munich or three stops on the u-Bahn. Rewe supermarket close by. Hotel is well decorated and very clean. Nice breakfast. Staff are great. A few tweaks would make it even better-tea making facility in room, larger bath towel, bedside table. Hence 4*. Would come back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RodC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotellomuc, Manager at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear RodC14,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our performance at TripAdvisor. It's nice to read that we were able to meet your demands in many ways and will discuss and consider your suggestions with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Best regards,

Matthias Biereder
General Manager
H’Otello | Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casale Monferrato, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I traveled to Munich on a pleasure trip with friends. I am a 30 something professional.

Hotel is located in a nice central area. Services are basic but hotel is clean, silent and comfortable.
Inside parking is a good plus in case you travel by car.
Overall, very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tombazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear “tombazzi”,

We appreciate the time you spend, to give us a kind feedback about your stay with us. It is nice to read, that you had a nice stay in Munich and that you and your wife were satisfied with the location and our rooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at H’Otello the next time.

Sincerely yours

Matthias Biereder
H’Otello | München
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked 8 month in advance, requested a room on the upper floors...got 2nd floor, requested a room in the back of the building....got the front of the building....
The staff at the front desck made consessions to make up for the shortcomings of the reservation staff.
Great location, 3 stops to centre, very good breakfast, 15.00 Euros a bit much...
Bakery and Starbucks around the corner, which comes in handy since there is no WiFi.
Rooms are small for American standards but good size for Europien standards.
Clean and modern bathroom. I would stay there again! Parking is good, it is small you need reservation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banditandzizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your feedback and the time you took to share your impression on tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are very delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectation. On the other side it is very disappointing to read that you perceived our services and facilities not matching the value of your expectations level. Please note that the described situation certainly does not represent our usual high costumer service standards and consequently our Engineering team members will be retrained to ensure such situation will not repeat itself in the future.

Regarding the Internet we are already working on that and there will be free Wifi coverage for the guest rooms in the near future. Our H’Otello F’22 | München and H’Otello B’01 | München already offer free Wi-Fi Internet connection.

Dear guest, we do hope for you to provide us with another opportunity in the future to wow you and allow us to pamper you throughout your stay in one of the H’Otello of your choose.

Best wishes from Munich,

Matthias Biereder
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontresina, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Hotel is suitable for short Business trips rather than for romantic Holidays as it is functional, but quite simple. The location is quite central and yet the surroundings are calm.The rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_stz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOtello M, Manager at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Guest

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and facilities provided in the hotel. We appreciate your comments of the quite and central position and the top price-performance ratio of our house.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in one of our H’Otello of your choise and remain

With best regards

Matthias Biereder
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel was nice and clean and the room (a comfort room) was spacious. Wooden floors is always a plus for me. Newly renovated and large bathroom. A good hotel at this price. Nothing fancy, but as said: very good.

The only issue, and for me it is a quite big one, was the internet. The internet access is free, but that does not do much since it is not wireless. Another small note: the hotel has no luggage room, it only offers to keep your luggage in the reception after check out. This would be okay if it was not for the fact that the reception wasn´t manned at several times during our stay.

The location is good and there are a lot of nice restaurants within walking distance. Would absolutely recomend this to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOtello M, Leiter Front Office at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. We always listen to our guest comments as part of our commitment to improve service and facilities to the best standard we can achieve.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made full use of our central location. Due to the top location, our house is ideal for shopping in our shopping district of Schwabing and to exploring the famous park of our City , the Englisch Garten which It is a stone's throw far from the hotel.

On the other site , we are dissapointed to see that you were not entirely satisfied with the internet access. In all our rooms the free Internet access is provided through a LAN cable, which offers more stable connection speeds and better security than a wireless LAN. In order to provide you in the future with more convenient and enjoyable Web connections for your stay we are actively improving our Internet access services. We are already working on a wireless solution that enables a internet connection with the new devices such smartphones.

The safety and security of our guests a is our highest priority and fundamental to our operations. Our Hotel offer a secure luggage store room in the basement and a luggage trolley as well. We store your luggage in our locked luggage room. On each luggage we stick a luggage tracker to identify the owner.

We otherwise pleased to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us and you like to come back. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of the H’Otello of your choise some time in the near future.

Best regards

Ioannis Kentzeas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I'd give this place 3.5 stars. I organized a stay for a group of approx 12 colleagues for 4 nights. The location was convenient to our office, and also offered the basics just outside the door. There were clothing shops, a small grocery store and a larger department store perfect for picking up converters, etc, just down the block. It was easy enough to find somewhere to eat dinner within just a few blocks of the hotel. Also very convenient for taking the train, both to the airport (although a change is required) or to other parts of the city. It was a reasonable walk to Marionplatz as well.

The room itself was standard for a German hotel - minimal blankets and pillows, sparse furniture and not a lot of space, but it was clean and had everything I needed. The price was right as well. There was a mini fridge (mini-bar) but you could put your own stuff in there too. The bathroom was clean and spacious enough.

The breakfast was excellent - plenty of options including fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, oatmeal, breads, croissants and I'm sure more that I'm forgetting. They bring you tea or a variety of coffees.

The problems - when I arrived in the room, there were no towels whatsoever. After traveling all the way from SF, then taking the train to the hotel, I was ready to clean up a bit or at least wash my hands. I phoned downstairs and let the woman know I didn't have towels. She seemed annoyed (not at me, but at the cleaning person) and said she'd bring some up. It appeared that she was the only one working and it took about 20 minutes for her to bring them up to me.

The other big issue, as many others have listed, is the internet. While I dealt with it okay being plugged into a cable, most of my colleagues had multiple problems. Some couldn't connect at all, and while others could, they were preparing group presentations and the fact that only one computer could be plugged into the internet at a time was a big issue. This seems like a hotel geared toward business travellers, but if that's the case, they really need to get wifi going, ideally throughout the hotel but at least in the rooms (we stayed in Oct, so perhaps this has been changed by now).

One more problem was the staff -- some were really friendly, but there was one woman in particular who was just awful. When walking downstairs or into the hotel, the lobby is extremely small and the polite this to do is to say 'hello'. I would every time I'd enter the area and she'd just scowl. I was coordinating for a group and at one point asked her if she could call 2 taxis for us and she was completely bothered by it. Perhaps she was having a bad day, but it was completely inappropriate how she handled the situation. I was more than polite and she was the extreme opposite. I had an early flight the next morning and the time was changing that day so I wanted to get a wake up call -- there was no way I was going to trust her with it so I actually had a colleague call me to make sure I was awake.

I think if they can get the internet situation sorted, this would be a much better choice. I did have plenty of good interactions with the front desk staff but that one woman was awful so hopefully it was just a bad day (not an excuse, but still).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOtello M, Leiter Front Office at H'Otello H'09, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Tripadvisor User,

first of all thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing us with such detailed feedback about matters you were dissatisfied with and which we sincerely regret.

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, which is why we will use your feedback to personally investigate the reasons for that unfortunate chain of events, which is not our usual high standard.

We are very glad to hear that you appreciated our central location with the rooms and that you and the guest from your group felt comfortable.It is great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. A good breakfast experience is very important as key for the start into the day.

On the other hand we deeply regret to hear that you were disappointed with some services and we could not meet your expectations. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our staff services at the reception as well. Please accept our sincere apologies if you felt uncomfortable with our staff service, which has been internally discussed and will consequently lead to continuous training to avoid such incidents.

We would have wished for the opportunity to turn your experience around during your stay, yet hope that this inconvenience does not mar your overall impression of H'Otello. Despite your somewhat negative experience, we are very glad to see that you were satisfied with the overall service provided.

Nevertheless we are looking very forward welcoming you back to one of the H'Otello in the future to change your overall impression by ensuring you to have a most enjoyable stay throughout.

May we express my hope that despite the inconveniences encountered you will give us another chance upon a further visit to Munich to demonstrate that this experience is not our usual level of services.


kind regards

Ioannis Kentzeas
Cluster Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#191 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#222 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H'Otello F'22
H'Otello F'22
#204 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#256 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H'Otello H'09? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H'Otello H'09

Property: H'Otello H'09
Address: Hohenzollernstr. 9, 80801 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — H'Otello H'09 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H'Otello / H'09 Munich. Staying in the hippest district. Schwabing. Where locals love to live and play. Shopping on the doorstep. Hohenzollernstreet. 112m till Leopold Street. Lifestyle and Entertainment. With creative people and globetrotters. 470m till the Englisch Garden. For relaxing and jogging. Also nearby. Musem Area and University. Perfect for Leisure and Business. Easy access to all the city's sights and hotspots. A lifestylehotel with pure & clean concept. With elegant and simple design. Decent colors. in the house. At that. A service with personal touch. You can count on that. Highlight. Studios with terrace. View over the city roofs. Come in. Check in. Calm down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your H'Otello H'09 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h`Otello Hohenzollernstrasse Hotel Munich
h Otello Hohenzollernstrasse Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing