We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deflated food at inflated prices”
Review of Acquarello

Acquarello
Ranked #471 of 3,703 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Deflated food at inflated prices”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were a small group invited by a friend who was trying to give us a memorable evening so suggested we take the seven course market menu. What a disappointment. The tiniest portions ever of rather ordinary attempts at Italian cuisine, smothered in foamed up sauces that all seemed to taste the same. Even if it was my friend paying, the prices left me feeling very uncomfortable for him.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank QuercusRobur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    41
    31
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We were quiet excited to visit this restaurant! Service was fine to begin with and all went fine till our food came! Portions are so small that u need to go eat elsewhere after paying a bomb here! But graciously we ate and appreciated as food was tasty! On the menu there was beef on beens for 2 at 43 eur! We decided to order for 2 people! When it arrived the portion needless to say was very small! Wat was shocking was being billed 86 eur for it! When we checked with the waiter he advsd that we were wrong and it is 43 per person! We paid and advsd the owner to correct menu as it was misleading and we felt like being cheated! On being advsd to look into it, he started shouting abuses and wat all! Definitely avoidable restaurant as there are others who value a guest and don't insult!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sidsawhney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

an unique eXperiencie to celebrate the life and the good food, Just for who really like the best of the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food at exceptional price, true Michelin star food”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Acquarello's four course "market menue" is a steal for a 1 Michelin star restaurant. You get pampered with numerous additional surprises from the kitchen. Accompanying wines were excellent. Great value for outstanding quality. This is food we will remember and rave about for some time.

We did not have any issue with the background music, it got turned down after more guests arrived.

I do have to add that the owner only paid lavish attention to just one table (of four), so that was perceived to be a bit rude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was in this restaurant with partners a year ago and I loved it. I decided to definitely go back to this restaurant with my wife. We were entranced by the service and the quality of the food. Portions are small, but even those that do not overeat, and enjoy the taste of food. You could say that you leave the restaurant a little hungry, but just enough to want to come back again. Amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Ved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acquarello also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Acquarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing