We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Bavaria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Kafer-Schanke

Restaurant Kafer-Schanke
Ranked #88 of 3,651 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Käfer-Schänke It is a mixture of enjoyment and well-being, of culture and cuisine that is characteristic of the gourmet restaurant Käfer-Schänke in the Prinzregentenstraße. It has been the most popular meeting point in Munich for decades. Käfer Stuben - 12 different experiences If you are entertaining guests, you want to spend as much undisturbed time with them as possible. With our Käfer Stuben (parlours) we have created undisturbed spaces for your private or business events.
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best of Bavaria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is where proud Bavarians take visitors to show them the best of Bavarian culture, ambiance, food and good times. The food is delicious. Certainly it is meat centric but they satisfied our group's two vegetarians with some creative additions. Their needs did not seem to ruffle the server who was attentive and understanding of the challenges vegetarians face in Munich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WDmovingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    110
    43
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High quality food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Most likely the best dinner I have had in Munich. Great atmosphere, great residential location, top quality food products, great service. Menu items could be considered limited however everybody can find something they like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boutique Cuisine in elegant and authentique Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The entrance is to the side of the deli, up the stairs to an open and elegant space, with private dining rooms available. This is the cornerstone of fine cuisine. Duck cooked in authentic french ovens, cod draped in dill and mustard sauce, oysters & lobster, home made gelato with mango jelly and crushed almonds. A must for the foodie. Elegant, well presented good food in fine setting - and professional staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Highly enjoyed breakfast at this restaurant. I was hoping to make it back for dinner and did not. Great location with inside and outside seating. I would highly recommend making reservations as we happened to be early one morning and were lucky. As we were eating there were reservation tags put on each table. Extremely fresh food! Service was excellent. This place is an excellent market also. Pick up any need for road travel or the hotel here. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, expensive though!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I went there with my parents and had an incredible meal. We booked there 2 hours before going and despite being very busy they took our booking. When we arrived we did not like our table which they happily changed. I had the oysters as an appetizer which were very fresh and then I had the turbot fish which was fantastic. The fish was cooked to perfection and was one of the best fish dishes I ever had. The service was fantastic and very friendly. The wine list is on the expensive side. Overall an incredible experience despite being very expensive!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarekrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Kafer-Schanke also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Restaurant Kafer-Schanke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing