We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal and outstanding service”
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Ranked #21 of 3,750 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$117 - US$350
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Galveston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and outstanding service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I were on vacation in Munich in September and has dinner at Tantris. The decor of the restaurant was lovely, interesting. There was so many amazing choices on the menu that we decided to try the 9 course dinner without wine pairing. It was wonderful! One of the best culinary experience we have experienced in Europe. The food was fabulous and courses came out perfectly timed without rushing us. We had the table for the entire evening. The Sommeliers (Phillip Ruhnemund and Christina Kneuu) suggested lovely wines that paired with our food beautifully. But the person who made our dining experience very special was our head waiter, Tobias Klaas. Thank you Tobias for your kindness and the most memorable meal of our vacation that we will not soon forget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Parisaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    91
    68
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wow!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We liked the pumpkin soup so much that had to order 3 portions)
A bit expensive, but it worths it, especially on special occasions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit- if you have the money!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We loved the unique interior, the staff was friendly, discrete but at the same time not too humble, what we really liked. The food was very good, nothing to complain here, and it looked nice too. Drinks good, wine a perfect recommendation made by the sommelier. Only draw back was the price- for the 8-course menue a bottle of wine + some aperitifs we two payed around 650€, which could be a family- budget for a holiday... Yes, you do know that in advance, yes, that is what 2-star costs, and still, it is so much money that you really have to think twice before you go there. Unless your company or friends pay for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I visited Tantris in mid September for dinner. The bright red interior is interesting, if not unique. Be aware that the restaurant will take your credit card information at the time or shortly after making the reservation - I believe the cancellation fee for no shows or cancellations after a certain time on the day is 100 euros per person. I did not mind that too much as this is a business after all although I do not recall being asked of such from other Michelin starred restaurants. The food and the wines were excellent - I wont go into detail here as other posts surely have. The one big negative was that a rather large fly was occasionally buzzed around our table as it seemed to be attracted to a plant by us. That was bad enough but then the fly went into a lampshade near our table and released a lot of dust from inside the lampshade. I wont fully fault the restaurant for the fly per se as it could have easily followed a customer in but a dusty lampshade is fully within the restaurant's control and very disappointing, certainly not what I would expect out of a Michelin starred restaurant. This put a damper on an otherwise delicious meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible ”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Mist delicious food, even though i am vegetarian. 5 course meal, reasonably sized portions, incredibly fresh , delicious, and very well presented. MUST VISIT.

Helpful?
1 Thank SunilPM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing