We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Afternoon Tea”

The Victorian House
Ranked #19 of 64 Dessert in Munich
Price range: US$7 - US$49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: If you find yourself wandering the cobbled streets surrounding Marienplatz - Munich's central square and a main tourist attraction - and maybe, just maybe feeling a little homesick, knock on the door of the Victorian House Restaurant and see what welcome you receive. Modelled on a traditional English home, tourists and Brits alike love the Victorian House Restaurant ��� the comfy upholstered sofas, the imposing portraits in heavy gilded frames, the antiques, the thick floral curtains. The traditional afternoon tea of neat finger sandwiches, scones, clotted cream, sweet strawberry jam and a pot of Earl Grey. Though perhaps a bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale or a G&T goes better with lunch or dinner. While there are plenty of identifiably British meals, there's more than just meat and two veg on the men. Surprises such as Mexican chilli noodle bake regularly appear to stir up any threat of stuffiness. The Victorian House Restaurant's interesting wine list is similarly international. But you're always brought back to Blighty, what with the five-star, service bone China dinner set, silver cutlery and crystal glasses. Thankfully, you can leave the stiff upper lip at home.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Vistaed yesterday for a special birthday Afternoon Tea. We had the 34 euro champagne tea. The portions were absolutely huge. Two scones with clotted cream jam and strawberries, four sandwiches and two big slices of cake with a por of tea and a glass of Moet. Absolutely enjoyable afternnon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    33
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great substitute for the real thing....”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As a Cornish person now living in Canada I do enjoy a cream tea, although, here in Canada, we cannot buy Cornish clotted cream and have to make do with (the county next door's cream), Devon cream....just a bit of fun county rivalry! So when the opportunity arose to enjoy a real afternoon tea with Cornish Clotted cream, I couldn't resist. We arrived at the tea room at just after 4.00pm (we were on a coach tour) according to the website they were to be open till 6.00pm, the first words from the waitress was...we close at 5.00pm exactly....in other words you had better rush your tea because we want to go home, promptly ! Well I hadn't gone all that way to miss out on my much wished for, Cornish cream tea, so we ordered. Within 10 minutes it arrived, the tea was piping hot just as it should be , smallish scones, nice but not quite as good as Mum used to make, lovely fruity jam and a small bowl of delightful Cornish Clotted Cream, I was salivating just at the thought of it. One thing you never do is rush a cream tea....but at ten to five the waitress brought the bill to the table and a couple of minutes later came back for payment. Although the cream tea was worth waiting for, having to rush it down in 30 mins or less was a letdown but for us it was a one time opportunity as we were leaving Munich the next morning. Should we ever be back in Munich again I wouldn't hesitate to try the Victorian House again but next time I would try to make it earlier or hope they kept to their hours on the website.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamtullahlula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
298 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Time”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visited the VH during the week and weekend too. Their offering of teas is outstanding and the breakfast options are international. I tried their cakes and I loved the almond-paste tart one. As for breakfast brunch, the big orders are abundant and all ingredients are of higher quality- if you compare coffee or tea houses. Plan to pay about 10 euros for tea and cake and just under 20 for a brunch breakfast option without alcohol.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndySevenSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The tea selection in this place is amazing which u can buy. The croissant is to die for so fresh and crunchy. The breakfast is nice too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShereenaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very bad representation of a Great British tradition”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As an English person I was really looking forward to trying one of England's great traditions German style. The food in Munich so far has been very good. However, this is the most disappointing place I have eaten in Munich so far. The scone was average and giving a large slab of butter doesn't represent a true English cream tea and at five euros just for an average scone you can taste much better at a reasonable cost in England. The staff are very pushy and you aren't made to feel relaxed. A cream tea is not to be rushed If you want the real thing go to Devon or Cornwall. Avoid this place at all cost and try the local apple strudel instead. It's much better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivortheengine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victorian House also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to The Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing