We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not excelent but good sushi”
Review of Shoya

Shoya
Ranked #725 of 3,770 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not excelent but good sushi”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I live just down the road from this place and its very convenient. They make good quality (I didn't say excellent) and have bearable prices. Think of an upscale McDonalds, that's what this is for sushi. They're a little on the more expensive side as it is on one of Munich's most touristy streets because of the Hofbrauhaus, Hard Rock Cafe and Augustiner am Platzl.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJayJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    60
    26
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best sushi in Munich?”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

In my recent visit to Munich, I came to depend on Shoya in Marienplatz as having the best sushi in the area. One reason, I was told, is that Shoya is the only sushi place in Munich run by real Japanese. Whether that is true or not, I do not know.

But compared to other sushi places I tried, Shoya, at the very least, delivered real restaurant green tea, thick with pulp. That's important. It is a very small restaurant, but I see they have a larger location a couple blocks deeper into Marienplatz.

The problem with sushi in Europe, as I understand it, is that the EU regulations require that all raw fish be frozen before consumption. Perhaps that is the root of the problem; no Japanese sushi chef can get too excited about working under such conditions; because I found sushi in Munich, and in Europe in general, quite disappointing. The sushi on the West Coast of the US may be the best in the Western hemisphere.

The sushi I found in Europe was almost always 90 percent farmed salmon and a meager red tuna from the Mediterranean. Yellowtail is almost impossible to find -- it effectively does not exist. Other "exotic" species such as aji, halibut, etc are also very rare in the EU. I did manage to scrounge one piece of uni in Munich (not at Shoya), and it was dreadful -- and dreadfully overpriced.

Against this backdrop of inferior and not-so-fresh Euro sushi, Shoya is truly a breath of fresh air. I liked their portions, their green tea, their wasabi, and their ginger. Shoya's hotategai scallop sushi was excellent, better than California. Also the ikura was pretty good. Their combination plates and hot dishes are also excellent.

Speaking of european sushi culture once again, Shoya -- and all other Munich sushi establishments, do NOT have a sushi bar where you order directly from the chef. There is NO sushi bar at Shoya. They charge for every cup of green tea -- or even extra ginger -- on your order. In the west coast of the US, green tea and unlimited amounts of ginger are free and not included on the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good variety”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Tiny place on the platz but the ramen was good. Lots of picture to help you decide. Nice break from heavy Bayern food. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PHHmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky but enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Shoya seems to be trying to please both the locals & the tourists. It should forget the locals - nearly all the crappy reviews are in german - & concentrate on giving the tourists good, quick, relatively cheap japanese grub. My friend had curry & rice, which was tasty, but frankly should be left to the indians & pakistanis who do it better. I had gyoza soup - 2 dumplings in a flavourful broth with spring onion slices - & a couple of ikura sushi which were beautifully fresh & came with finely sliced fresh ginger instead of the usual pickled kind. The couple sharing our table ordered the full monty - sushi, sashimi, tempura & some sides, which all looked very fresh. They paused their appreciative lip-smacking to assure us it was all good. The jasmine tea was pleasant & the green tea likewise. This place was a very nice change after too much #tastypig & beer over the last few weeks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tortoise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in Munich”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Came here with a friend as part of a contiki tour and decided to abandon having dinner at the hofbrauhaus which is located opposite this restaurant. I've never tried anything better coming from Melbourne so this has to be the best japanese outside of Japan?

Food is fresh and made to order, although quite expensive - we spent circa $50 Euro per person but it was well worth it and a lot better than the Shoya in Melbourne!

Will be back there for sure next September in the middle of Oktoberfest!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoya also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Shoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing