We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again. EVER”
Review of Taverna Molos - CLOSED

Taverna Molos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Naoussa, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again. EVER”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Worst experience ever!
The waiter was rude from the first minute we stepped in. We considered walking out that very instant, but we were really hungry, as we were not aware of the breaks that the restaurants in Germany have from 14.00 to 17.00. The lady that was apparently the owner's doughter or wife, was even worse. It took more than 40 minutes before we even had forks, knives and napkins on the table. Our order arrived amost an HOUR later withour even an apology for the delay. And the place was literally empty...
We were 5 and each one of us ordered something different. All of us agreed that the portions were disproportional small for the prices.

Nevertheless, one of us decided to tip the waitress/owner at the end.....and she threw the money back to the table because she was offended by the ammount of it (a few 20ct and 10ct coins)

Plus, at a point, the waitress\owner started a fight with the rest of the service team about the tables that lasted more or less half an hour and and included a lot of gesturing and shouting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy_Mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    20
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Greece, but...SLOW service! be patient!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I must say food here is great. I really like the small appetizer mix dishes here... but the service is not great, you really have to be patient. Some waiters are useless- they forget your drinks, they don't pay attention to you... the place is always crowded though, reservation required unless you go there very early evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makimunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful arrogant service. Utterly dissapointed and disgusted”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've never experienced that kind of awful arrogant service before, I am still shocked and disgusted. I was there with 5 other friends on last Sat evening. Our waitress was arrogant and unfriendly with us from the very beginning. She literally threw starters on the table in the way that grilled cheese slipped off the plate onto the trousers of my friend. When this friend asked for another glass of wine and gave the waitress her glass with a few drops of already warm white wine, the waitress gave her a most arrogant look and said: "Germans would drink it all."

The evening went on. We were waiting for the other friends to join us and when they came, we wanted to order main dishes. It was around 11 p.m. But then they told us that the kitchen was already closed. They could have let us know a bit in advance but they just did not care at all. Because it was a birthday celebration of one of us, we did not want to just stand up and go. So we talked to all possible waiters asking them to take our order! And when they finally agreed to, our waitress was already so angry with us that she would not listen and just go away without saying anything when we were still ordering food!

I am utterly disgusted with this service. The food when it finally came was ok though. Guys, if you want to go there - don't go, save your nerves, time and money for something better. There are enough good Greek restaurants with good service in Munich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank QMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Disappointed 😕”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been to this restaurant a number of times before and were always pleased with our dining experience there..tonight was a true let-down,something that truly disturbs me when a restaurant can not keep up its standard of quality on a day to day basis.
The cold starter plate was a disaster and the 2 fish we ordered were under grilled and fatty in taste.Their wines were understocked and did not have our first selection.Such a shame for a place we truly enjoyed in the past.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greek chaos-restaurant with an authentic buzz”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is noisy. It's also cramped, chaotic, and now and again someone will forget an order. However, the place has a certain charm and for once each waiter has a personality they seem encouraged to express. You might be unlucky and get a grumpy one, or one who has had too many ouzos with the tables he is serving, but this drinking-with-the-guests joviality is part of the vibe. Obviously you will hate this place if you aren't prepared to be patient, sit shoulder-to-shoulder with other guests, or accept a bit of bedlam, but if you go there with the right expectations you will be treated to really decent souvlaki and the rest, along with a lively, bustling atmosphere (Something which can be lacking in Munich's establishments!). So, to recap: fun, very greek, good food, loud and a good warm-up to a night-out or a nice step between restaurant and party for those birthday dinners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirulero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Molos also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing