We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very atmospheric”
Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Ranked #155 of 4,024 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$41
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional institution at Max-Joseph-Platz, in perfect harmony with the Bavarian National Theatre, Residence and Palais an der Oper. The Munich citizen goes to Spatenhaus with his family, and he invites his business partners to our restaurant, for special events. On the ground floor our restaurant leaves a down-to-earth impression, the four rooms on the top floor are more elegant. The restaurant stands for exclusive hospitality and exquisite traditional German cuisine. Old Bavarian dishes enrich the menu card on the ground floor. On the top floor the kitchen crew offers its guests a more differentiated menu, taking individual requirements into account. Exquisite fish cuisine, classic dishes of Bavarian and Austrian cuisine supplement each other, thus catering perfectly for all tastes. If the weather is dry, the terrace on the Residenzstrasse fills rapidly and is a truly wonderful location to experience typical Munich culture until late at night.
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We had a delicious meal here with views across to the opera and plenty of streetlife to watch while we ate. We had the Weiner Schnitzel and it was very good indeed. Our waiter at first forgot that it came with a rosti potato dish but he soon corrected his mistake. Our order of apple strudel was also misinterpreted as apple fritters which were delivered instead. We did not complain as they were also delicious.
The atmosphere on a hot summer's evening was very romantic.
We shared a table with a couple who said they ate in this restaurant every evening when they stay in Munich. Recommendation indeed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Dear UnaW, thank you very much for your kind words recommending our restaurant. We are sorry for any inconvenience your waiter may have caused. Maybe it was the heat . . . . Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 359 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

Whenever I am in München to see an Opera (which is quite often) I have either lunch or dinner at this restaurant.
The food is always good, the view of the Opera House is terrific and the people working there are always efficient and friendly.

Last night I made a reservation because I wanted to take a friend there to have dinner.
I asked for a table close to the street so we would have the best view of the Opera House where we would be going to see the amazing Edita Gruberova in Roberto Devereux later.

That was the table we got and with it came the best possible waiter, mr. Wintermann.
He was always friendly, was right there to ask if we wanted to order drinks, let us take our time to order dinner, was available when we thought we'd like some pretzels.
Was quick when I asked for the check as well.

My friend had veal which was very good, I had grilled salmon which was delicious too.
I also loved the vegetables that went with my meal.
And the Grüner Veltliner they serve (for a very reasonable price I may add) is much better than you get at many other restaurants.

I can really recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear JDm452, thank you very much for taking your time to write this informative and very friendly review on your stay. It was a pleasure to forward your kind words to our team - and to Mr. Wintermann. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

My wife and I visit Munich regularly and we always eat here. The food is authentic, delicious and prepared to to a very high standard. While the clientele clearly includes tourists there are always plenty of the local denizens present- always a good sign. looking forward to our next visit already. PS try the Platzl Hotel nearby for a good place to stay.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thepmryans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear thepmryans1, thank you very much for your kind recommendation and review on our restaurant. We are glad that you like what we have to offer and are happy that like to visit us when in town. Looking forward to welcoming you again, we send our best regards from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

The food is good. Payment is a problem. It doesn't accept deutsche bank debit card. Don't know why but I have to find an ATM to get some cash. German restaurant doesn't accept German bank card. How interesting it is.

Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear William L, thank you for your feedback. Of course we accept all regular credit cards (Visa, Master, Amex,...) - also ones issued by the Deutsche Bank :) Please check your TA Inbox if you may be willing to provide more details on what went wrong here. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and hope that we (with your help) can get to the "bottom" of this. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We had a large family dinner here and this was a great introduction to a classic german meal. There was some great schnitzel and a good sampler plate. Good beer, bread and atmosphere. The restaurant was full on a Monday night. Close to Marienplatz and easy to get to. Probably worth booking a table particularly if you want to sit upstairs.

Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear nodrama1, thank you very much for your kind feedback. Yes, on many days it really does help to make reservations (using our homepage or Facebook) - It always "hurts" to see our guests having to wait for vacant tables. Thank you for that informative message. Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing