We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The personal touch”
Review of Hotel Garni Probst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Probst
Ranked #34 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel was recommended at the Tourist Information office and it didn't disappoint. The location was good in spite of the "other businesses" on the street. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sanae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great attention from the people in charge who are very helpful and kind.
Rooms are spatious and very clean.
Breakfast very good.
Amazingly located less than 5 minutes from Hauptbahnhof and Hauptmarkt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JorgeGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My son and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel. The rooms were large, and it was great that there was a settee as well as the double bed in the room. The location was brilliant, so easy to get to anywhere and close to the Tourist Information office. As said previously the "live shows" are the neighbours, but there was no hassle from their visitors! We were in a room at the front of the building, and it was noisy from the diners eating alfresco, but I still slept well! The breakfasts were amazing... really could not fault it. The rooms were spotless.

Room Tip: No hairdryer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alijay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a lovely little family hotel in the old town in Nuremberg. It is very close to the train station so we were able to just walk across (even with our bags). The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The room prices are very good value. The location is also good for exploring the old town. (The immediate neighbours are a few “live show” venues, but as long as you are not offended by walking past these, they are not a problem.) The real highlights are the staff who are all extremely friendly and the breakfasts which should keep you full until lunchtime. This is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorvettePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The 2 generations of this family-owned hotel made our stay here special. Suzanne Probst and her parents work hard to make sure all guests are happy. Our room (#209) was clean and quiet, and the breakfast, which is included in the room price, was very good. Great value. The hotel is in a great location with the central square, old churches and castle just 10-20 minute walks away, and easy to get to from the airport. (Take the U2 to the train station and walk to the hotel in less than 10 minutes.) Lots of restaurants and shops in the area. When we called later to say we forgot our adapter, they had already set it aside for us to pick up when we returned to Nuremberg. We would stay at this little hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in 209 which was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This tiny hotel is tucked away on the upper floor of a building right off of Konigstrasse. The room included a small seating area (rare for this part of the world in smaller hotels). the breakfast was great. Friendly, great service, great location and a great value. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have stayed in many Nuremberg hotels over the years and its always nice to try somewhere different. I would confidently recommend this super friendly family hotel at a very reasonable cost. My room # 203 cost 60 Euros with breakfast and all taxes. Bearing in mind I stayed there on the 15th May for four nights and this is the spring season.
The room was huge, immaculate, with nice pastel colours. Teak furniture and a 'walk-in' shower / toilet, again very clean. The housekeeping obviously take pride in their work. I understand from the owners that this hotel has been in the same family for at least 70 years! The building is about 130 years old and appears to have survived WW2.
The beds are typical German: two single beds on a 'double bed'. I found them very comfortable, then I like a firm bed. There is no internet facility or tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is a small t.v with German channels only. For those travellers who must have CNN/Sky News/BBC24 then you will be disappointed. I always take my travel kettle and coffee/tea with me. If you want to buy a cheap travel kettel then you could visit the 'Galeria' store (basement) on Konigstrasse only 10 minutes away from the hotel. I suggest you bring your own radio as well. I like to listen to 'Classic fm' in the U.K. In Germany you might like to tune to 'Klassic radio' (around 98fm), if you like that type of music.
The breakfast is like enjoying a morning with the family. They make their own jam, the marmalade was quite delicious. You will be asked if you would like your egg hard or otherwise. Cold meats, cereals, bread, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice, coffee or tea etc.,The Probst family all speak excellent English and welcome your attempt to speak a little German if you wish. The hotel only provides breakfast. The area has so many restaurants, you will be spoilt for choice.
Other viewers have mentioned the area which the hotel is situated. Do not be concerned, the window in the bedrooms are 'double glazed'. I did not hear any unpleasant noise late at night and I am a light sleeper. When you approach the hotel from Luitpoldstasse you will see the hotel sign above an open area with no doors, walk to the rear which had a 'dead end'. On your left you will see a small lift with a button marked Hotel'. The lift is old, again do not be concerned,it will take you to an upper floor and the reception. Here the charming and most courteous Christiane (who speaks immaculate english) or a member of the Probst family will welcome you.
You will need to carry you suitcase to your room as their are no other lifts. Help is at hand if you request it.
I sent a email and received a very quick reply with an offer of room availabilty and cost. Their web site has no facility to pay a deposit 'on-line' so you will need to telephone them and give them your credit card details. No charge will be made until you depart, this is only to secure your room.
Nuremberg is a wonderful historic city, if you want to stay in a cosy hotel with genuine Bavarian hospitality, then this will be for you. I look forward to my next visit in the Autumn.
For those visitors arriving at Nuremberg airport: Exit the arrivals, go to the U Bahn ticket machine outside the terminal. The machine displays in many languages. Your 'One Way' ticket, (that is all you will need) will cost: 2.50 Euros. Take the stairs/lift down to the U Bhan.
The platform is U Bahn 2. The train will have the destination: 'Rotherbach'. Use this train until you reach the 'Hauptbhanhof' station. The stations are announced in both German and English. When you arrive at the Hauptbhanhof go up the escalator/lift to level one (1) then look for the sign 'Aldstadt' follow the direction, up the 'ramp' then you are in Konigstasse. Look to your left you will see the Victoria hotel then the Ibis, The next street on the left by 'Burger King' is Luitpoldstrasse. The hotel is on the left after about a two minute walk. Enjoy your visit.

Room Tip: My room as mentioned was #203 this overlooks Luitpoldstrasse, I found it most comfortable. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
835 reviews
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#25 of 126 in Nuremberg
654 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Keiml
Hotel Keiml
#56 of 126 in Nuremberg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
909 reviews
B&B Hotel Nuremberg-Hbf
#29 of 126 in Nuremberg
236 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Probst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Probst

Address: Luitpoldstr. 9, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £50 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Garni Probst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HRS, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Garni Probst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing