We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap, clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A cheap, clean hostel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Parking is slightly limited and you may have to park a little way down the road. Rooms are twin beds which are comfy and clean. The manager was friendly and pointed out places of interests in the city and how to get to them. Their is an underground station not far from the hostel which takes you into the centre. We had breakfast at the main railway station with loads of choice to suit every one. Real value for money hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberviechtach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As I needed accommodation in Nuremberg for a couple of weeks, I stayed twice at the A1 Hostel Nuernberg Messe, the first time for one week in December 2012, the second time for three weeks in January 2013.

Their HQ in Munich messed up my reservation. After writing an email asking for "a room in JANUARY" I got an confirmation for ... "February". Furthermore the quoted price was WAY over what was mentioned on the phone before. This was corrected after my inquiry

I was reasonably satisfied with the hostel itself. One has to be aware of the fact that this is NOT a hotel but a hostel and therefore provides only very basic standards. I had the impression that the hostel also caters to guests who stay there for a longer periods of time, e.g. a couple of weeks, which for me was great because I found it hard to find affordable accomodation in Nuremberg for longer periods of time.

The building itself is older and was only recently converted into a hostel.

Rooms vary in size and amenities. For example the room I had the first week was larger than the room of my second stay and also had a sink and a fridge, which the room of my second stay didn't have. Guests do not have to pay extra for those things, but also cannot decide if they want to have a room with sink or fridge. Both rooms had functional basic furniture, including a bed that very well could have been Ikea's cheapest model ever, which I recognized, but did not see as a particularly bad thing as the (also very basic) mattress actually made for a good nights sleep. One room had a very thin wall to the next room. There was no decoration in my second room whatsoever, not even a picture on the wall, kind of depressing, but again: this is not a hotel.

The rooms were clean. Bedding was provided. Bathrooms and showers are shared with the rooms of the same floor. They were kept reasonably clean.

There never seemed to be more than one person on duty in the whole hostel. Staff can be found in the office near the entrance or is reachable via a mobile number posted on the office door, which in my case worked fine for checkout.

What else is to say... This was a quiet hostel, I did not encounter noisy hotel guests. The hostel is situated in a residential area with bland looking buildings, so do not come for the scenic view or the night life scene, because there is none :-)

Parking is limited in the area, however there are a few spaces available for guests in front of the entrance. The subway station "Nürnberg Messe" is only a six minutes walk away. From there the train rides nine minutes to the main railway station, so the city center is not really far away.

In a nutshell: if you want reasonably clean, very basic accommodation for cheap, there you go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The place was clean and the overall conditions were on par with my expectations, given that the price was very suitable for budget traveler. The location is a bit difficult to find from the metro station but once you know how to get there, it's easy to go to the city center. But the staff members were not that helpful.

I highly recommend this place for budget travelers.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgp-1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We booked A1 Hostel Nuremburg for 2 reasons: After a couple of weeks of dorm living we needed some time to ourselves for a couple of days, and the price was great! At €32 per night for a twin room (ie. €16 each) we thought we'd found the place we needed!

Generally speaking, A1 was a good choice - it's close to the Messe train station, making it convenient for getting into town and the room was comfortable and relatively spacious. The room had a basin and mirror with a light over it which was great. The bathrooms were clean and co-ed (though with separate male/female showers and designated toilets). We were able to quite comfortably walk into town in about an hour if that is your thing.

However, what we found most disappointing was that despite their information saying that there was a guest kitchen on each floor - which was technically true - there was NO crockery/cutlery/pots/pans AT ALL. Each room had a designated fridge and there was a dining room on each floor, but there was nothing with which to cook! Our guess was that some people must rent out rooms long term and bring their own stuff, but this was not made clear to us. So - self-caterers beware!

The hostel is located in a residential area, full of identical high-rise apartments and is therefore very quiet. There are many rules given to guests by the owner regarding noise etc. but these are really just common sense.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Numberone Hotel
#48 of 126 in Nuremberg
53 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe

Property: A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe
Address: Neuselsbrunn 26, 90471 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe 1*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your A1 Hostel Nuremberg Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing