We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, disappointing service”

Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Ranked #106 of 1,137 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub, Wine Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Visited restaurant two times, food is great, but was appalled by the service upon second visit, even though our friends spoke decent German, waitress was so rude and dismissive, that I lost my appetite....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Venera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good quality, local food and good drinks selection”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked a table, on the advice of reception. The restaurant was very busy but service was very good. The staff were helpful as our German is poor and the food was very good quality for both main and desert. The wine list is good and the cost was reasonable for the quality of food offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimes, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We recently enjoyed a perfect evening with the kids at this restaurant at our hotel's recommendation. The wait staff was nice and helpful to us non-German speakers and helped us through the menu, offering suggestions based on our preferences. Even our picky ten yr old had a great experience with the pork roast.

We just walked up to the restaurant this one evening and were able to find a seat easily.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tejdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect local food”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This one is perfect i recently went there with my mother and we had "Pressfleisch" in a perfect taste ... a perfect location for local food

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 571DeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a lovely dinner in the Weinstube”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We ate at Das Steichele in early December, after a snowy drive from Berlin to Nuremberg, and we absolutely loved it. Because of two large holiday parties, we were very glad that we’d had our hotel reserve for us. We also noticed that the table adjacent to us was being shared by two unrelated parties; Das Steichele, with its simple rustic wooden chairs and folkloric decorations, is that kind of homey place. That said, they offer the menu in English as well as German.

There was a special herring appetizer on the menu, but alas by 7PM this was sold out. However, the smoked salmon with very thin, crisp potato pancakes and herbed sour cream made a nice substitute. For mains, we had a spectacular Weinerschnitzel with fries and mixed green salad (a standard accompaniment with main courses, so that an appetizer is not essential); and the restaurant’s own version of Zürcher geschnetzeltes, made with pork instead of the usual veal. This latter dish was amazing – with its ham, Gruyere, mushrooms and rich sauce with a hint of tomato and paprika, it was far more flavorful than the traditional Zürcher geschnetzeltes. In fact, since returning home we’ve recreated this dish and added it to our regular rotation.

A note about the salad, which was typically German: dressed greens as well as separate mounds of pickled vegetables. We also enjoyed the local wheat beer, Tucher Weissbier. This meal was truly a bargain at 60 Euros, including the round-up from 57.80 Euros.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing