We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont book a smoking room, even if you're a smoker!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont book a smoking room, even if you're a smoker!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I felt physically sick when I entered the room as the smell was disgusting. I didn't realise I had booked a smoking room so maybe it was my fault. I am a non smoker but I am sure even a smoker would have felt sick staying in this room as it was an overpowering stale smoky stench. Luckily we were there for one night only so we got out the room as quickly as possible to see some of the lovely town but we purposely stayed out longer because we didn't want to go back. I thought that was enough reason to ask if they had another room but I was told they were fully booked so nothing else was available. The lady at reception did say that they put machines in the room to take out the smell but maybe it didn't happen on this occasion. Instead we were given some room spray. I have stayed in so many places and it was the first ever time I felt it necessary to complain. Apart from that it was clean and a good shower but I cant believe I spent 70 euros to stay here to experience that. We opted not to pay an additional 15 euros for 2 breakfast as that's just overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Loza80,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel on tripadvisor. I feel very sorry, that you weren't satisfied with your stay. Our hotel has 135 rooms. Just ten of these rooms are smoking-rooms. I don't know why you choose a smoking room even if you are a non-smoker, but of course these rooms smell like smoke. Normally we would have changed you into a non-smoking room, but we were fully booked during your stay so this was impossible. I hope that you will return to our hotel again another time and we can offer a non-smoking room for you.

Sincerely yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    204
    59
    13
    1
See reviews for
97
123
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
331 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent location, very close to the central (HBF), Operahaus, National Museum and the historic center (restaurants and bars). No need to spend time doing checkout. There are vending machines selling drinks and some snacks. Access to the rooms is through password instead of keys or magnetic cards.
Although "Bed & Breakfast" hotel, the breakfast was not included in the rate, but booked knowing this. Parking is also not included

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luissenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear luissenna,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing about your experiences in our hotel during your stay in Nuremberg. I am happy, that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel and the value for money. I hope that you stay in our hotel again if you come back to Nuremberg.
Yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I chose this hotel because of its good reviews, nice location, low price and onsite parking. I have to say it have fully meet my expectations and it was pretty good value.

It is very conveniently located near the old town (and subway station) and despite it is near the main road it was quiet at night. Lady at the reception was kind and everything went smoothly. Our room and also bathroom was small, but we were expecting that. You can only heat your room via air-con which is bit inconvenient when you want to sleep - it might disturb you as it is not totally quiet. We have booked non-smoking rooms but our friends got one where someone has been smoking before. Breakfast good with many options. If they add some croissants/sweet pastry, vegetables and sausages it would be perfect.

This hotel is a good choice especially if you are on budget and want to stay in a clean place near the old town.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusi_2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Lusi_2412,

thank you for taking the time writing such a nice review about our hotel on tripadvisor. It's good to hear, that we met your expectations and you were happy with the value for money. Of course I will share your praise with my employees and we all hope that you come back very soon.

Yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a short stopover in this budget hotel, while driving from UK to Galati County in Romania to deliver aid to the flood area.

After driving from Swansea, UK we needed to get some sleep before the next leg of our journey, we tried a few places such as the Ibis, but they were full and we happened upon this little gem.

It's cheap, clean and comfortable, just what you want from a budget hotel, it does excactly what you expect and you can have food there should you wish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Dave M

Thank you very much for writing a nice review about our hotel. I am happy to read that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I would be happy if you stay with us again when you decide to come back to Nuremberg.
Yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is excactly what I need from a stay. Great location, with nicely decorated rooms, free wifi, cheap parking, fair pricing and great service from the staff at the hotel.

Definitely a place I would return to.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the city, ask for something high and north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear 5tause,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review about our hotel. It's nice to hear that you were so satisfied with your stay. I hope you return very soon.

Sincerely yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Absolute good value for money. The decoration of the walls is a matter of taste but for less than 60 euros per night you get an ok room which is clean, soundproof, has a decent size bathroom and the hotel is close to the city center. Moreover, if you are lucky, you can park for free (on Saturday nights) on the streets in the neighborhood. We will come back as we were pleasantly surprised by the city of Nurnberg itself.

Must see: Reichsparteitaggelande. Must not see: 1. FC Nurnberg :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear AlexanderDH,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on tripadvisor. I am very happy that you felt at home with us and that we were able to contribute to a pleasant stay in Nuremberg. We would be very happy if you visit us again when you return to Nuremberg.

Sincerely yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked 3 nights through hotel website & get rapid reponse on my questions, very good.
We arrived Nuremburg airport almost 11:00 at night, so location was our priority. B&B hotel just next to the exit of station Opernhaus, just one station to the Main Train Station.

Actually it's a basis hotel but the colorful decoration & cleanliness added value on it. The staff was nice & helpful. We stayed in twin room, correctly it should be a double bed with twin bedding and i found it's so common in Germany...And also there's almost 32C during our stay, luckily we picked a hotel with air-con. Disappointed that the Wifi signal really weak, i need to stay near room door to get the best signal :P

Not many restaurants surroundings, but just 5 mins walk then you can visit old town to take delicious food like tasty german saugages from Zum Guldenen Stern Bratwurstkueche.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IP-fafaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrestock, Manager at B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear IP-fafaway,

thank you very much for taking the time writing about your experiences about our hotel on tripadvisor. I am very glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much.
Sorry, that the Wifi signal in your room was too weak. I already checked the access points and found the problem. So the signal will be excellent when you return to our hotel in future.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours
André Stock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
B&B Hotel Nuremberg-Hbf
#40 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Hotel Fackelmann
#39 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Garni Probst
Hotel Garni Probst
#30 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City

Property: B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
Address: Frauentorgraben 37, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#26 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Hotel Nurnberg-City is located in the old town at the Frauentorgraben. Attractions such as the Railway Museum, the New Museum Nuremberg, the State Opera, several churches and even the planetarium are located within a radius of 500 meters around the hotel. The 135 single, double and spacious family rooms are equipped with television incl. Free Sky-TV, desk, bathroom with shower and WC, soundproofed windows, air conditioning and free WiFi. The breakfast buffet can be booked for a small additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Hotel Nuernberg-City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing