We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, well-presented historical overview at an infamous site”

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.51*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Day Trip with Train Transport from Munich
Ranked #1 of 173 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting, well-presented historical overview at an infamous site”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited in June 2014. The centre itself houses a very good exhibition outlining the rise and fall of the Nazis, as well as the role Nuremberg played during these times. Included in the entrance fee is an audio guide, which provides comprehensive information on all the exhibits. It's a fairly normal set-up here, with themed rooms taking you through the chronology of the Nazis from the 1920s through to the Nuremberg Trials. The videos around the museum were particularly good. I really liked the emphasis on Nuremberg's role in the rise of the Nazis, and it was chilling to see videos of the Nazis parading through the streets we had visited earlier in the day. You can also see the remains of all the sites the Nazis used for their rallies here, which was again interesting. Only downsides perhaps were that it took a very long time to go around the exhibit if you listen to all the audio guide information, as there is no written English translation. Also, if you already have some understanding and knowledge of this period of German history, you might find some of the exhibits and audio guide information quite basic, but the Nuremberg city and trials-related information was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravellersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    557
    124
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Informative and tourist friendly”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a must-see while in Nuremberg. I was scared that I would not be able to really enjoy the museum because of a language barrier but headsets are provided where you can select your language and enjoy the entire museum. A plethora of information is provided on this part of history through video, picture and the actual location. Would definitely recommend going here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brbetha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very informative and sad. While I don't condone what happened, the history behind the Nazi's and Hitler is important to know. What we saw during our visit included information not given in our history books in school. Overwhelming but worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must see in nürnberg”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very well set out museum, easy to navigate with audio guides in many languages.
A very somber experience and a very important place to visit if you're visiting Nuremberg. I learnt so much there.

Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyBRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very informative”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

so much to learn from this life changing time in history. was very glad I took the time to find it to learn even more about a very important part of history

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGirl852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing