We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Superb service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #52 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel is situated about 2mins. from the station and there is access to the old town via an underpass in front of the hotel. It is also close to the opera house and the bus and tram stops.
We found on arrival the reception and porterage was excellent and was served a hot meal
despite arriving after 9pm.
Our room was of a good size, very clean and comfortable with plenty of room to sit.The bed was rather hard but the pillows were soft and large. The shower was powerful and the temperature easy to control. As in most continental hotels there was no tea and coffee tray. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet. The use of formica was perhaps a little dated but it did not affect the comfort of the room.
The buffet breakfast was of superb quality with unlimited amounts of every type of food. It appeared to cater for every nationality and dietary requirement. It was served from I think 6am.
and the staff were efficient in clearing and resetting the tables, We never had to wait to be seated.
The evening meals were also excellent, tasty, hot and quickly served. Wine was expensive but the quality was good.
The staff spoke good English and went out of their way to help and provide information about everything from bus and tram numbers to obtaining tickets for the opera.
We were very satisfied and would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. It is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you have taken for rating Maritim Hotel Nuremberg.
We are pleased that you are satisfied with our service and passed the positive feedback to our employees.

Unfortunately, our hotel is because of technical conditions not able to offer a tea and coffee tray in each room.

We are glad about your kind notes and look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely Yours
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Maritim has a great location, next to the Hauptbanhof – and actually even closer to the opera house, handy for both the opera and also when arriving from the airport as the opera station (follow the opera house exit) is almost next to the hotel and far easier to negotiate than that at the Hauptbanhof. The main station is of course convenient if you want to go to, say, Regensberg, Bayreuth or Bamberg or to catch a local tram. Otherwise, if you are staying in the town you may wish a hotel actually within the city walls.
Front desk staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Building was clean and well kept, though the décor in both the room and the public areas was uninspired, dated and rather lacking in character. The bed was fine but with a thin pillow and thinner duvet, both had to be doubled up (which was done instantly on request). Some panelling hinted of an earlier age and the massive TV was vintage. It had poor reception and the choice of an English news channel on the non “pay TV” selection led to an advert on a Chinese news channel and a €5 charge. This I refused to pay and it was deleted. I don’t know about the dining room as breakfast was not in the room rate and I was not sure I could eat €19 of food first thing. Unfortunately there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
A particular attraction had been the pool and the gym – both were in the basement so lacked natural light. The gym was 4 cardio machines. The pool was small but not tiny and as it was little used, it was fine for a quick swim, if not quite Olympic training. The tiny “business centre” was free to use and handy for checking info and checking in for flights. So overall a reasonable stay, though not as special as some of the other reviews seemed to suggest it would be.

Room Tip: rooms at back are quieter and get the morning sun but the builders next door start work just after 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We drove passed this hotel while looking for accommodation in Nuremberg. The reception was very impressive and our initial thoughts were that the hotel would be out of our price range. However upon enquiring the prices proved to be quite competitive. We stayed in room 205 which had everything we needed, although the only mirror was located on the front of the bathroom door which wasn't ideal. The beds were very comfortable with lovely large soft pillows.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the bar had a very good atmosphere on the night we stayed.
Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Not a room with too much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for years while attending the International Toy Fair. Centrally located with close access to downtown Nuremberg, restaurants, shopping etc. And quite close to the main train station which for us is perfect to access the Messe.
A super friendly staff who speak English very well thankfully and are all very professional, pleasant and helpful at all times.
The rooms are always very clean, the beds are a firm which I truly enjoy.
The restaurant serves a great buffet style breakfast with a very large choice of breakfast foods since there are always many cultures represented during this inter nation event.
The price always seems to be so much higher during the fair but I guess that is not outline as everyone raises their prices during this time. And after checking a lot of hotels of this caliber I can confirm that their rate is not out of line, just a lot of money. Anyway if you're going to stay there at "non-fair" time the rates are pronely quite reasonable.
However is it difficult to complain too much because the hotel is wonderful and quite consistent, you probably cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel was great. Very close to the train station (2 mins walk), the DB museum and the old town just across a very busy road - there is an underpass just outside the hotel for access. As other reviewers have noted the staff are friendly and efficient, breakfast was very good with a good selection. Internet in the rooms would have been appreciated, but this was only a minor drawback.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is actually a very nice hotel. Unfortunately, when we were there some of our personal items were stolen from our room. I really can't blame the hotel as this can happen at any hotel from no stars to the premium 5 star hotels. We did not inform the hotel of the situation because of the nature of the items stolen, however the next time we travel we will definitely carry locks and keys for our luggage.

Now that i've gotten that out of the way i'll rate this hotel as though nothing had happened. The room is big and quite nice, the location is awesome with an actual cross walk under the street over to the old town. The desk clerks were quite friendly and helpful. I knew this from before we booked the hotel but i think the hotel should include wireless internet to there guests for free. My wife complained that the beds were alittle too firm. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and i would stay here again if i ever visit Nuremberg, however i will travel with lock and keys for our luggage to any hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Miami_Rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in Maritim Hotel Nuremberg and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our hotel.

With great regret we have read your notes about the theft. Unfortunately we cannot undo you experience but we would like to apologize formally. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to avoid such incidents in the future.

I sincerely do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and you may rest assured that we will do our utmost to provide you with our best services and to guarantee a pleasant stay.

Faithfully Yours

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at the Maritim hotel which was the location of a formal dinner we attended. The hotel is well-located, just a 10 minute walk from the Christmas market and several famous attractions, and bus/train access are very close. The food served by the hotel, both at the dinner and at breakfast was exceptional. The lobby and public areas were immaculate. We had the privilege of staying in the royal suite (Rm 724) which was very comfortable and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that the individual sized duvets on the bed are too small. Big enough for the Travelocity gnome but not a normal-sized human being. Bottom line, this is a great hotel in a great location, and we will definately return again next time we come to Nurnberg.

Room Tip: Room 724 is a two floor 80m2 apartment with a large dining/conference area, living room, and bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Cynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Cynthia,
Dear Steve,

Many thanks for the time you have taken for rating Maritim Hotel Nuremberg. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our service and passed the positive feedback to our employees. We are glad about your kind notes and look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
IntercityHotel Nurnberg
#70 of 126 in Nuremberg
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
909 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,377 reviews
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#23 of 126 in Nuremberg
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £70 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Nurnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Nürnberg awaits you in the immediate vicinity of the historic old city with its numerous monuments and buildings, including the Kaiserburg and a host of fascinating museums. Located in a very convenient place with regard to traffic connections - the main railway station is just a few paces away - and the autobahn, airport and trade fair are just a few kilometres away, the elegant hotel is not only an ideal starting point for business travellers and travellers to the city, but also a perfect partner for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing