We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy, atmospheric lobby bar, reminders of a bygone age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #24 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Orlando
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Classy, atmospheric lobby bar, reminders of a bygone age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Grand Hotel in Nuremberg reminded me of an bygone, elegant age of travel. The lobby bar was elegant and had a lovely atmosphere. The standard rooms were small but beautifully appointed. The location downtown is perfect for exploring the city on foot especially during the Christmas market time and then returning late for a night cap in the bar. Internet access is expensive at 19 Euros but that is typical for european city hotels. The breakfast buffet is very comprehensive with good hot and cold choices. The hotel staff were welcoming and attentive. All in all i enjoyed my visit there.

Room Tip: Friends who were starwood premium members got upgraded to rooms with a beautiful city view. I wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear sjb3268
thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you liked the Grand Hotel with its old splendor and the F&B offerings. My team and I hope that you will stay with us again once you are in town and wish you all the very best for 2014.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    386
    164
    32
    33
See reviews for
141
355
100
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

A solid four star option in Nuremberg; close to the markets and the old town (an easy 10 minutes walk) and pretty much across a big road from the main train station. Our room was comfortable and well maintained. One strange thing was that the door to the bathroom was not totally clear but you could see through it to an extent, which caused some privacy issues for our daughter. The beds were comfortable. The staff were pleasant but not super welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner one night and it was a buffet for around EUR49 per person I think. It was fine but not a gourmet experience and expensive at EUR49. There were lots of food choices on the buffet tables though.

Two highlights were the extensive breakfast - fruit salad that was definitely a cut above lots of other hotels due to the variety of fruit, lovely fresh breads and hot foods - and the fitness centre. Newish Life Fitness machines (two cross trainers, two bikes, three treadmills and a weights room) and air con that is controllable by the person in the room - really great when trying to get over jetlag!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Feeber
thank you for your review and sharing your experience with me and others. The location is really great and nearly everybody comments on this. I take the point with the evening buffet which is very famous here in town and we have a lot of locals who exactly want that sort of buffet. I appreciate your comments about the breakfast choice and our fitness centre which was recently built. My team and I wish you nice festive season and all the best for 2014 and we hope that you will stay with us again once you are in town.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen SZiegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

And old school hotel of marble and brass but in good shape. Rooms are quite large. Our interior room was extraordinarily quite. Others facing the street seemed to receive a bit more noise though. VERY close to the Hauptbahnhoff. A comfortable 10-12 minute walk to the town square and Weinachtsmarkt.

Like most German city hotels the breakfast is quite good but rather expensive.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mylze2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Matt M
thank you for your review and the nice comments about our convenient location and the room size. Our breakfast buffet is really offering what ever a guest is looking for and that of course has its prize.
My team and O are looking forward welcoming you back and we want to wish you and your family a festive season and all the best for 2014,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and found it a delightful experience. Excellent staff, excellent rooms, excellent food & a wonderful location. 10 minutes walk from the old city centre and just across the road from the main railway station & U-Bahn. There is also a tram junction just aside. All these services sell tickets via multi-lingual machines. We plan another visit to Nuremberg in the near future and plan to stay at the Grand Hotel again.

Room Tip: Simply ask for one on the front when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnStratfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear JohnStratfordUK
thank you for your review and your kind words about our associates and all the other services on offer. The biggest praise you have given us is that you plan to return to Nuremberg and to our hotel. Thank you for your trust. We all looking forward welcoming you back and we all want to wish you and your loved ones a festive season and all the best for 2014.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Le Meridien is in a historical building, but inside is all very stylish and well-played. The staff is very friendly - you really feel welcome there. It is located basically in the middle of Nuremberg and you have easy access to everything. To the airport it's only about 16€ by taxi, but the trainstation is right in front of the hotel, so you can go by train also. The food selection is wide and it's good too. The rooms and specially the beds are very comfortable.

They could however provide better wifi service to rooms and lower the room prices only a little. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear karelkask
thank you for your review and the description of the hotel. It is nice to read that you liked the ambience and that you praise the associates. I also have some good news for you and for all others who read this. We just increased our internet from 20 MBIT to 100 MBIT so all problems should be solved and the speed will be much faster.
My team and I hope that you will stay with us again once you are in town and remain,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

- Centrally located
- Very friendly staff: taught us how to make spatzle, called our cab, gave directions to hotspots
- Located directly in front of train station
- Only 19 euro taxi ride from airport and 13 euro on the way back
- Rooms were very clean with good heating and great water pressure

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear LostinHI
Thank you for your review and the nice description about the hotel. Just for your informationthere is also a tube running from the airport to the main train station just opposite the hotel. The ride takes 10 minutes and cost only 3.00 Euros.
My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had to stay at The Grand for a business trip, but added a few days to enjoy the Christmas Festival. I've been to Germany several times to Munich and Berlin and love coming here; Nuremberg was no different. I can't list all the reasons that Germany is superb, just come and enjoy it.

However, The Grand should not be high on your list. They unreasonably up-charge for everything: internet, breakfast. The rooms are not modern; the walls and doors thin, letting in outside and inner noise (bring ear plugs). The staff is generally nice, but in accordance to the cost of the hotel.

I was disappointed. I'm a preferred guest with this hotel chain, and that meant nothing. This may sound like I'm crying in my bier, but if I spend my money with this hotel and they don't recognize my loyalty, then what good is it?

Anyways. This was the last hotel to fill up in the city during a trade show and I can see why.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisIsntMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear ThisIsntMichael
thank you for your review, even if it is not as good as I wished for. Xmas time is a peak season for us and high demand has an influence on the end price we charge, I am sure you know that since we all adopted this strategy from the air lines. As a Starwood Prefered Guest you should receive special attention and if that was not the case I want to sincerely apologize for that. We are aware that some rooms can be louder than others and we have it on our agenda. I hope you will give us a second chance and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#33 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing