We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Meridien is Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Beautifully appointed lobby, bar, rooms. Quite comfortable and an unforgettable setting. Had the morning breakfast buffet and was not disappointed by any part of it. The view from my nice quiet room was absolutely lovely. Was in Nuremberg to visit the Christmas Market a few block walk away. Beautiful elegant hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsK48979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear MsK48979
thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you liked the interior design. The Hotel was built in 1897 and a lot of the old charme from the turn of the 20th century is still there and you do not find so ften anymore nowadays. My team and I would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel, once you are in town.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Below are my conclusions on the hotel:

(A) location: could not be better, right next to the main train station and at one of the main entrance gates to the old quarter of the city.

(B) staff: very friendly and helpful. They were all great.

(C) breakfast: the best we has in or round trip in southern Germany. It has show cooking, and everything you could think of. Try to book a rate with breakfast. You will not regret it!

(D) common areas: these are beautiful, in Art Deco style. These areas have been very well kept and maintained.

(E) hallways: as opposite to the common areas of the hotel, the hallways to get to the rooms are ugly and extremely faded. This should be refurbished by management.

(F) rooms: very modern and with everything you need. In the room you will also find an invitation for a free coffee at the nice hotel's cafe.

(G) sauna and gym: these are modern, clean and well kept.

(H) parking: just park in front of the hotel and give the keys to the staff. They will take care of parking it for you.

If I return to Nuremberg, I will stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear CanarioViajero
Thank you for your review and the very positive comments you made. It is nice to read, that you rate us so highly. Your copmments in regards to the hotel corridors have been taken on board and this will be discussed with the owners of the hotel shortly. We are all glad that you will stay with us again once you are in town, than you for this.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Le Meridien Grand Hotel in December.
The location of the hotel is very good, if you come to Nurnberg by train, as we did, the station is diagonally opposite the hotel.
There is a lot of traffic noise around the hotel, the streets in this part of the city are always busy. It wasn't a problem, though, our room was on the street side, but the windows are double glazed.

The public spaces of Le Meridien are nicely old, and have mostly kept the original grand style. The restaurant is also quite stylish and comfortable. The bar was somehow disappointing and the staff didn't show much interest in their work, the cocktail selection wasn't impressive and it wasn't possible to get a drink that wasn't on the menu.

Our room was small, but reasonably comfortable, the style of the room was modern, the latest renovation was obviously just a few years ago. There wasn't quite enough light in the room, the lamps were there more for decoration.
The bathroom was very small for this category of a hotel, but fortunately they had not changed it too much, something of the old style was still there.
The airconditioning was the only real problem of the room. It simply didn't work, and the room was far too warm. We decided to leave the window open each time we went out.

The breakfast was a very expensive experience, especially for this quality, and the offer wasn't impressive at all. We have had better breakfasts in several considerably cheaper hotels, like Novotels, not to talk about places like Pullmans and Sheratons.

The staff of the restaurant was very young, very unexperienced and very much concentrating on something else but the customers. We were somehow forgotten. Nobody took us to the table, and it took 10 minutes to find someone to arrange us a table. There were young girls arranging some table clothes and cutlery in another part of the restaurant, probably doing tables for lunch or something, but they were too busy to pay any attention to the customers or collect used plates from the tables. And we were not the only ones waiting for service. There was someone at the counter in both mornings and they surely made sure everyone paid for the breakfast and signed the bill, but that's where the interest stopped. It took much too long to get some coffee and the second cup was not any easier. There was a young man making omelets and such, but he hardly spoke English and even his German seemed to be so and so. On top of that he was unexperienced and very slow. I understand it takes some time for a young trainee to learn things, but it's not a good idea to leave some trainee completely alone to take care of the customers.
Basically a lovely, old hotel in a good and central location, with some charm, but not enough comfort for this price. And something is clearly missing. That missing thing is the supervising of the staff.
Will not go back for some time.

Room Tip: Obviously only the most expensive room categories offer enough space for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Whim
thank you for your review and your detailed experience you encountered. In all fairness, I have to mention that we are normally prsisede for the choice and variety we offer for breakfast. The breakfast buffet is spread out over 3 rooms. Is it possible that you did not see all of it? However, we now put a signage up to inform all of our guests. You are right when mentioneing that we employ a lot of young people. In total we nearly have 40 apprentices and our hotel is extremly well known for offering a very good training scheme. If we failed to give you the service every customer should get, I want to apologize for this and hope that you will consider us again once you return to Nuremberg. Wishing you and your loved ones all the best for 2014.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed there 1st Jan til the 3rd. Beautiful, elegant hotel, great location (a stones through from the train station!!) Easy walking access to all of Nurnberg. Very clean!
We had a huge and very comfy bed. Bathroom was small for what you pay for but it had all the amenities that you need and the bath was a very good size.
The staff were extremely friendly on arrival and departure. We didn't use the restaurant or the bar due to the high prices but there are some lovely bars/cafes/restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the front door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_90_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear C_90_13
thank you for your review and the nice comments about staff, location, friedliness and accessability. It is also nice to read that you liked the beds which are exclusively designed for all Le Meridien Hotels worldwide. My team and I are looking forward welcioming you back and all the best for 2014.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with our 4-night stay in October. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at all times. Although internet would be expensive-- as others have written-- it is free if you use the Business Center off the lobby. The location was ideal: across the street from the train station. Since we arrived and departed by train this was helpful. Also, there are several easy day trips by train from Nuremberg (eg. Rothenberg-aub-der-Tauber) so the proximity to the train station was great. Nuremberg is easy to navigate from the hotel whether on foot, by tram, or by subway. We bypassed the breakfast due to the high cost, but restaurants and coffee shops were within easy reach. Spacious and quiet room. Our only complaint is the hard mattress on the bed, but evidently this is typical throughout Europe. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Deb R
thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts in regards to our location with others. We are very glad to read that you would stay with us again. My team and I wish you all the very best for 2014 and remain,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Older hotel with small European size rooms and helpful front desk staff. Just outside the old city walls it is about a 15 minute walk to the main square and the Christmas market. So you are not in the middle of all the hubub. Conveniently right across from the train station which is also a major transit hub. Close the the Germanisches Museum (a must see)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear marekw
thank you for your review and the description about the location. Once you decide to come back, we do hope that you will stay with us again and apart from the Germanisches Museum there are many more worth while to visit.
All the very best for 2014
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel stay was fantastic for my wife and I. We stayed about a week to visit the Christmas markets in Bavaria.

The location was perfect. We didn't have a car to travel around, so we relied on the trains. The hotel is across from the main train station. So all the trains including the subway from the airport (12-15mins away) stop here. The hotel is convenient to the sights in Nuremberg. The Hauptmarkt is about a 10-12 min walk, but the Nuremberg Castle maybe 20-25min and is an uphill walk as it does sit on the highest points in the city. The Nazi sights are probably accessible by the public transportation that are nearby the hotel; we didn't get a chance to go there.

Service here is great. The check in was smooth and quick. I was happily surprised to check in early as our flight arrived in the morning. The front desk staff were always present and happy to answer any questions I had even when they looked busy.

Internet in the room is pricey. 19 euro per day for wifi, but the wifi in the lobby and the business center are free to use. You can access the wifi in the bar too. The room was spacious for Europe. We had the deluxe King room facing the street; we were actually on the 2nd floor. The noise level was tolerable. Every now and then the police or ambulance sirens would go by. Some pedestrians were audible. Still we slept fine at night. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were clean. The TV had international channels, but not a lot of options for English-speaking customers. But I wouldn't expect English-speaking channels in a place where English is not the primary language.

The breakfast was pretty good. It's a buffet; 24 euros per person that includes coffee/tea and juices/water. Sometimes it's included with the room. The buffet includes fresh fruit, cold cut meat, smoked salmon, yogurt, cereal, sausages, eggs, beans, tomatoes, and a egg station (omelets, scrambled, fried). There are also pastries and other baked goods. If you didn't want to eat there, you could find stuff outside the hotel either at the train station or in the old town.

Overall, a pretty good hotel to stay at. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Michael L
thank you very much for your detailed and lengthy description of the hotel and all we offer. Your summary that you would stay with us again makes us very proud and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,014 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#14 of 126 in Nuremberg
203 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £80 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing