We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Conveniently located right opposite the Nurnberg Station. Very easy access to local transportation. I stayed 1 night on June 22 for a bbusiness conference and was impressed with the room and the Hotel facilities. It is an excellent choice even for leisure travellers due to the proximity to station. Breakfast was really good and Internet speed was excellent. Beds where very comfortable. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sachin1375
thank you for your review and recommending us to others. It is nice to read that you valued our location so much and that you liked the services on offer.
My team and I are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    392
    166
    34
    33
See reviews for
144
360
101
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had to travel to Nuremberg recently for business. Not familiar with the city, I checked a few websites for hotel recommendations. The only hotel name that popped out was Le Meridien. I have had several good experiences at Le Meridien hotels (Barcelona, NY), so thought it would be a safe bet. I was wrong.

When we checked in, we could tell that at one time, this had been a beautiful old hotel. But it was also clear that its time had passed. The renovations to the grand old marble lobby appeared to have been done in the style of 1981. And it did not get any better in the rooms.

Our rooms had wonderfully tall ceilings, but that was the extent of its positive attributes. The furniture and carpet were pretty bad. The carpet was in shades of brown and black and designed to look like a globe. The effect was pretty horrendous. The furniture was clearly cheap and already showing its age; the same was true of the closet fittings. The bathroom seemed to be original (shades of pink with black accent tiles), but on closer inspection, the tiles looked new. Not sure why anyone would choose that combination in this day and age. And the size and layout made it terribly inconvenient. You could not turn the shower on without getting soaked. There was no place, except the top of the toilet and a small glass shelf above the sink, to put your toiletries.

The room service menu was so limited and unappetizing that I chose to forego dinner rather than order something.

Everyone was nice. The service we did request seemed efficient. And I cannot blame the employees for the style of the rooms.

The only benefit was the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYBizTraveler11612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear NYBizTraveler11612

I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and that the design of the hotel lobby, rooms, carpet and the bathroom did not match your taste.
I passed on your comments regarding the offerings from our room service menue to our F&B Manager and our Headchef and we will make changes in due course. It is nice to read that
that you liked the service and the price on offer.
My team and I still hope that you will return to us again once you are in town and remain, yours sincerely, Jürgen Sziegoleit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elie, Manitoba
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location was excellent! Right outside the old city and across from the train station. We had a room facing the inside courtyard and appreciated the quietness. The staff were wonderful and the hotel spotless. Sadly the hotel charges outrageous prices for Wifi and very expensive meals. Better to eat across the street (2 minutes) in the old city. Unfortunately we stayed during a heat wave and typical for European standards, the air conditioning was lacking. Otherwise a great stay and the hotel met all of our needs!

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Jennine55,
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your compliments about our staff and the hotel. As you mentioned we did experience an unusual heat wave with more than 35°C in the beginning of June and unfortunately our AC system is not adapted to such high temperatures. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and we hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for so many reasons. It is directly across from the train station. The room was large and very nicely furnished. The staff could not have been more helpful in all aspects of our stay. It is literally a block from the entrance to the "Old" historic Nuremberg. We stayed 3 days and explored the entire town. Staying at this hotel made it possible to walk everywhere including the Imperial Castle. The street musicians alone the walk were fantastic. We had some great meals in the town and always returned to have a late night cocktail in the hotels cozy corner bar. It was a wonderful way to cap off the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan4judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Fan4judge,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and will definitely pass them on to them.
We would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We were absolutely surprised by this Le Meridien, as it seem to be the odd cousin who doesn't belong.

Housekeeping staff barge into our room with her own key while we are inside. We specifically asked her to wait outside and was on the way to getting the door. But I guess that wasn't necessary as she has the key to our room.

We also found a dirty towel with gray spots in the bathroom among the change of new, supposedly clean towels.

And room service was absolutely horrible. We ordered a tomato sauce spaghetti which only tasted of salt. The staff was nice enough to hear our complaint and change it for us. Only that the second plate was watery, almost like they just decided to add water to tone down the saltiness. I hardly touched the spaghetti, barely ate dinner and paid the bills.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Advisor987654321,
We are very sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience in our hotel and we would like to sincerely apologize for that. You may be certain that this is not the common standard of our hotel. We have informed the responsible staff in Housekeeping and Room Service about the incidents to make sure that they will not recur.
We would really like to convince you that we can do better if you are willing to give us a second chance in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for business. The hotel is classic design and very attractive. The location is fabulous if you want to walk to most of the old town of Nurnberg. Imperial Castle is totally walkable from here. Loads of restaurants, shops and things to see nearby..

Check In went very quick and easy even though i was there early. I had some problems with things and Verena helped me out with above and beyond what she needed to do. Front desk was terrific too.

I had booked a basic room and while it was small for US standards, had everything I needed for the time I was there. Included turn down service so was nice. Great amenities in the bathroom and LOVE THE SHOWER PRESSURE. Too many times a shower trickles or has low pressure which I hate - but not this one. Room was fairly quiet also.

Bar is very nice with specials every night and live Jazz on Thursdays. If you want to take advantage of the breakfast deal, book it right when you check in and it is only 15 EUROS a day. Plenty of food - healthy options like fruits and yogurt too. Restaurant has good food also.
It is a bit more expensive, but nice for a quiet dinner.

I would stay here again if I was coming to Nurnberg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TravelNut70
thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you liked your stay in our hotel from location to room, service, breakfast choicfe and bar. The biggest compliment you gave us is that you would stay with us again once you are in town.
My team and I are looking forward to your next visit and remain,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg is not good value if you compare it with other hotels. We had just come from the Frankfurter Hof in Frankfurt so comparisons were inevitable; and while every hotel is different, we just did not feel that the Grand Hotel came up to standard. We had a junior suite, which was one room with a sitting area (fully disclosed on the website so no surprises there); but for a similar size room, we paid less at the 5 star Frankfurter Hof than at the Grand Hotel. The room was OK, the bathroom nothing special; turndown service consisted of closing the curtains (nothing else, so why bother?) The restaurant service was disappointing, the food reasonable but far better places to eat. The breakfast was the usual Le Meridien standard fare, quite adequate, and the breakfast staff were good. Probably the best feature was the staff at the front desk; always happy and ready to give you a greeting. The hotel is well located, especially if you want to be close the Main railway station, it is directly across the road; and this is a nice area of Nurnberg, unlike the railway areas of some cities. You can walk to the main sights in 15 to 20 minutes, or take the U-Bahn, just one stop. Also close to the tram stop. All in all, we were a bit disappointed with the hotel, but did enjoy the location and Nurnberg is a surprisingly interesting City to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear FunTimes030
thnak you for your review. First of all my apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations, but the hotel is nearly 120 years old and partly listed, so we are not able to make a lot of changes to the physical layout of the building. Normally the turn down includes more than just closing the curtains, again I want to apologize that this did not happen during your stay and be rest assured that I have spoken to my Housekeeping Manager already that a similar situation does not reoccur. Thank you for the praise you have given to our Front Office associates, I have passed them on already and they are all happy to read such comments.
My team and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future and I hope that you come during a time where is not so much pressure on the city to offer lower rates.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#29 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing