We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Have just returned from a lovely stay at the Hotel Am Josephsplatz in Nuremberg. Went with a group of friends for the opening of the Christmas Market.
We were accommodated in an apartment for 2 which sleeps 4 and there was plenty of room for us all - it being on 2 floors. The bathroom was new and modern and the rooms had plenty of storage space.
There are lots of steps to the top of the building but there was a small lift which would carry 2 average sized persons with cabin sized luggage.
Breakfast was the same every day but there was a large choice from cereal, fruit and yogurt, cold meats and breads and boiled and scrambled egg and smoked salmon etc. You could help yourself and return as often as you like.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated about 200m from the U-Bahn stop at Weisser Turm. We caught the u-Bahn directly from the airport with one quick,easy change; so from landing to getting to the hotel could take just half an hour.
The hotel is perfectly situated within Nuremberg old city and is ideal for the Christmas Market and shopping.
For meal out I would highly recommend the Gasthaus Pilhofer on Konigstrasse close to the main bus station at Hauptbahnhof. You will probably need to book as we may not have got a table if we hadn't.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    71
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
56
46
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Very Central Location, great staff. Very convenient for families. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

When I booked this hotel, I believe it was number 1 or 2 on Trip Advisor for Nuremberg. Please don't make the same mistake I did and assume that this means you have found a worthy place to rest your head.

The one positive note was the staff - they couldn't have been nicer or made greater attempts to be accommodating.

The hotel's location was fine, but the problems began nearly immediately. If you are driving to the hotel, be sure to check with the hotel beforehand about parking, as the "onsite parking" they claim to offer is nearly a half a mile down the road. Not convenient, and certainly not onsite. It was also not cheap - I believe that even with their discount, it was 15 Euros a day or more, but with the maze of streets in that part of town, you will not find street parking.

The elevator could only fit one person at a time with one small piece of luggage. My husband is a very slight man, and even he was unable to fit with just a backpack. We were fine to go up and down the stairs, but others were not.

The room was really quite awful. Tiny, smelled of must, and the mattress was at least 30 years old, if not more. It sagged visibly in the middle and had no support whatsoever. They could have ameliorated this with a respectable bed platform, but the bed itself was a creaky old flimsy frame with only bar supports underneath, making for a very rough night.

The hotel itself was very loud - you could hear absolutely every noise through the flimsy walls. In addition, we had specifically asked for a quiet room, and we were put in a courtyard facing area, which is usually the quietest area of the hotel. Unfortunately, at 3 am, there were at least 50 birds singing directly outside of our window. Though this may not have been the fault of the hotel, I find it unlikely that they were unaware of this early morning occurance happening regularly.

We had a great deal of work to do that evening and had specifically asked beforehand about the internet at the hotel, which we told was wireless and strong. Upon checking in, however, we were told that wireless only worked in one room of the hotel, and we would not be able to use our computers in our room. Plus, the wireless signal was absolutely dreadful, and the 10 year old computer they offered guests to use wasn't much better. If you hope to use your computer in Nuremberg at all, do not plan on using it in this hotel.

Finally, the breakfast was dreadful. Very stale cereal or extremely ripe fish were our choices. No thanks.

I'd give it a 1 star, but for the kind staff and the relatively good location. Otherwise, avoid it.

  • Liked — The staff were very nice, and the location was decent
  • Disliked — Terrible beds, horrible internet access.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank theoperadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

This was a pleasant hotel in the center of Nurnberg. I think that with any hotel of this class it is value you are looking for. Breakfast was included and was just about what you needed. Not extravagent but tasty. The rooms were clean, well equipped, not overly big but what you need to rest up and clean up. It is just at the end of the modern pedestrian shopping area. There are parking garages just past the hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to the christmas markets as well. The staff was friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a place to really stay close, get value for money, and stay here. One note is that it seems like they are no longer listed on the Romantik group website so we were a little worried when we arrived but all was the same and the reservation from Orbitz was just fine.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not really the most attractive place but it does not detract
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Philly2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

I stayed here for a couple of nights while in Nuremberg for the Everton/Uefa cup game.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good and included in a very reasonable room rate.

The hotel doesn't have a bar, but there are loads of places within a short walk and the reception is manned 24/7.

Excellent location, right at the end of the main shopping street .

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxbiaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

Just back from a stay in Nuremberg,
hotel was very basi,c no bar, not that central
staff very amenable but wouldnt rate it 4th on tripadvisor, much better hotels to stay in plus my son and his mate didnt take too kindly to be given a fourposter double bed when i'd requested singles!!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank julieparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2007

NUREMBERG: Romantik Hotel
Wehave just returned from a four night stay at the romantik hotel in Nuremberg. (Myself, my wife and three children aged 10,7and 5 years) l was worried initially because of the size of the family but this hotel provided us with accomodation the size of a comfortable two bedroom apartment. It was unbelievable the amount of space we had. Breakfast was good. The staff were brilliant too. Quite frankly, the comfort the hotel provided compared to cost was one of the high points of our eight days stay in Germany. The children enjoyed every minute of their stay.
We are returning to Germany in November to attend a family birthday party and we are definitely going to stay at the same hotel. It was value for money
K.O. Osagie

  • Liked — Space and comfort
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dolorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
144 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Avenue
Hotel Avenue
#57 of 126 in Nuremberg
114 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#44 of 126 in Nuremberg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#31 of 126 in Nuremberg
258 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#7 of 126 in Nuremberg
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Josephsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Josephsplatz

Property: Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Address: Josephsplatz 30 - 32, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Josephsplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Josephsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing