We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ranked #15 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

What you need if you are traveling in very limited time, absolutely LOCATION.
This hotel has prime location, in the old town of Nurnberg, 3 minutes walk to the Main station, Tourist office across the hotel, surrounded by restaurants, easy to get public trans, etc. We feel like we have big room for european size hotel and we had smoking room which is difficult to find in the very budget hotel like this. Definitely very recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Smoking room. We had a city view on the top floor with spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRamadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I had the same positive experience as @ehelden and others. A small, clean and simple room for not a lot of money is all that one needs since you should be out exploring the historic Aldstadt, the old city. Or out eating at numerous great restaurants nearby (I picked Istanbul, literally two doors down; reviewed elsewhere).

The floors are hardwood, of pretty decent quality, which I prefer to carpets infected with all sorts of germs and odd smells.

Lots of electrical outlets to charge your gadgets (if you're not European, I hope that you have enough adapters!).

The Internet access is paid, by M-3 Communications. They offer Accor packages of up to a week and nothing in their FAQ's (German and English) indicate if it can be used in other properties besides this Ibis, if you are moving around.

Room Tip: If you're staying at other Accor hotels in Germany on an excursion, find out if M-3's weekly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garydpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent one night ,because we had an early flight and we live near Munich.The night and the location was perfect ,the staff was very friendly and plan on coming back in the summer to see the old city of Nürnberg..Thank you for a stress free night before our vacation.


Ernst

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Ok. the location is fine. You are in the old town, close to the wall and the main railway station, but... it is clearly a two star accommodation, small not very clean with untrained service personnel. Why untrained? Because, in the morning the cleaning personal is chatting in the small lobby and smoking in the entrance. I don't need this. At least I am looking for a little bit professionalism. Next time I spend more on the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Great location, in the middle of the city.
No need for public transportation, just walk out of the hotel and you are in the city center.
Airport is just 15-20 minutes by metro.
The room is typical "Ibis" clean and tidy. My room was facing the street and it get's noisy during nights. The hotel has no lobby and the breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellersub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here three nights for a long weekend, the room rate was very convenient when compared to other hotels in the Altstadt area, and of course the location was very good, it was close to everywhere.
We arrived at 11:30am, strolled around 4 hours till 3.30pm for a room at the 7th floor but it was worth waiting, the penthouse type room # 704 was cozy with a good view over the city and snowy landscape. The airconditioner in the room was responding late to commands; we could not warm the room immediately, may be the central system needs a tune-up. The room was very clean, the bedlinens and the bathtowels were not changed during our stay; it was probably due to the Ibis low price concept.
The buffet breakfast was of good quality and worth for the €10/person. We met different staff at the reception area, 2 ladies and 2 gentlemen, all of them were helpful and friendly. Although the receptionist lady on our arrival date caused us to stroll around for 4 hours with no alternative solution we were in general happy with the service we obtained.

Room Tip: 704 a triple room with one double bed and one single bed is ideal for good city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here 2 nights January 2013. Having stayed in many Ibis (we'd come from Regensburg and stayed in the Ibis there directly before arriving in Nuremberg) prior to this we were a little let down by this one. The positives: The location is brilliant and we had a good view from the room which itself was huge. The negatives: The staff were quite surly, breakfast was poor for the price, the bar area consisted of a counter and a couple of stools next to the reception so there's not really anywhere to sit that wouldn't be in the way. The place generally wasn't that welcoming and seemed a bit poorly maintained. On the whole, we've definitely had better Ibis experiences elsewhere and probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#26 of 126 in Nuremberg
651 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,374 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Address: Koenigstr. 74, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#20 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £50 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the railway station and 7 km from the airport, the Ibis Nüernberg Altstadt hotel is located in the heart of the old city. Book one of our 53 rooms, all with Wifi Internet access. The hotel also features a bar, a 24 hr snack service andundercover public pay parking. The centre of Nuremberg is 800 m away. The Meistersingerhalle cultural and convention centre is 4 km away, and the Opernhaus is 200 m from the hotel. The Nuremberg Arena is 4 km away. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing