We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Ranked #67 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very good location, great Bavaria decors, very specific atmosphere.
BUT......
Starting with the front desk very bad English, I needed to speak in German with the lady, very cold, I would say she was in a very bad mood. Despite I have arrived before the restaurant closure time with half an hour, we couldn't eat something decent. Nobody wanted to serve something at that time. I would say that the legendary german hospitality is only between some hours................
Despite this, the breakfast was excellent. Very civilised, everything was clean, plates, dishes, glasses.
There is big difference between rooms and restaurant
The room was poor and dirty, the cleaning was made only to look clean, but everything was clogged and dirty. The walls, the near bed wood protections, carpets, bathroom was clogged also, only the bed sheets were clean.
Initially I booked a couple of days, but seeing this I checked out in the next morning. I will never come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    76
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
53
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I liked my staying in this Hotel although I think the hotels in Nuremberg in general are quite expensive, so, it was good for the price, comparing to the others. It is a simple 3 star hotel with a nice location from where you can walk and see the main center. The stuff is sympathetic and helpful and the breakfast is very nice served in a cozy place; the stuff for breakfast is also very kind and sweet. The Hotel outside is cute, a building like an old times. I recommend it. Be aware, it is not a 4 or 5 stars but it is good and familiar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMLQ2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the Steichele at the beginning of September. The location was great, close to the Altstadt. As we had arrived in Nuremberg by train late in the evening, although we knew we had to get off at Weisser Turm U-bahn station, we were unable to find the hotel and would have been walking round for some time were it not for a helpful couple who located it for using a mobile phone!

The hotel is traditionally German and is also a restaurant. Food is OK and service average. Our room was on the fourth floor, reached by the smallest and most old-fashioned lift I have ever seen. The room was very small and hot with no air conditioning in 33 degrees of heat. Bathroom was tiny and shower cubicle raised up off the floor which I found to be rather dangerous when getting out as you had to step down with nothing to hold on to.

One thing that we really enjoyed was the plentiful breakfast, however the staff were not particularly pleasant.

I am a fan of traditional German hotels but found the Steichele to be disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't choose the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTheGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I found this Hotel to be very good, the location was excellant for sight seeing around the city centre. My room was good and their breakfast of a good standard. I was most impressed
with the Restaurant and the food was great. Staff very helpful to a non german speaking
person.I ate there both nights I stayed and would stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had one night here and found it convenient for the centre of Nurnberg. It is in a quiet side street, our room at the back was very quiet. Parking is in the multi story almost opposite the hotel - expensive but you get a discount from the hotel reception.
We arrived at 11am but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in early. The room is a little dated in appearance and the bathroom was very small but both were nice and clean. We booked an evening meal in the restaurant, which was just as well as it was full when we eat there. Breakfast was ok, not the best that we experienced in Germany and the staff didn't seem to fill up items as they finished. Not bad - just OK.
The wifi didn't seem to work for us but it wasn't a big deal and we didn't take issue with it.
Nice stay overall and fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very good location, next to metro station and at the old city centre. Very good breakfast and nice breakfast room.
Room was quite big, but it had a very bad smell (like mold smell). The room and furniture was very old, carpet very old and dirty. Bathroom small and awful decoration and colour. Needs renovation. No staff at the reception, you should always wait until somebody come from the restaurant. Only for one night stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenaalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 7/2013. Location is great, peaceful little street within walkingdistance from the centre. Service is friendly and you'll get all the info you need from the reception, they are very helpful. Rooms are comfortable, perhaps a little retro, but very clean and in good shape. Wifi is working not so good in the room, but in public areas perfect. Breakfast has coldcuts, cheese, breadrolls etc. All you need to start the day.
Do not miss the terrace of this hotel/weinstube. Good vinelist with menu of local specialties. We had fish, and it was very good.
We can recommend this hotel, when visiting Nurnberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Agneshof
#15 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#8 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#48 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Property: Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Address: Knorrstr. 2-8, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steichele, Hotel And Weinrestaurant
Steichele Hotel Nuremberg
Steichele Hotel Weinrestaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing