We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old fashioned hotel in the heart of Nuremberg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice old fashioned hotel in the heart of Nuremberg”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Located in the downtown area of Nuremberg in a small quiet side road there is very nice hotel, called Steichele. The architectural style matches perfect to the old buildings throughout the city. Our room was comfortable, of good sice and clean and had everything needed (no mini bar). Breakfast was quite ok. The staff is kindly and service minded. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel where they even serve vegetarian food (something I appreciate), aside the more traditional food of the region. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JotDeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    79
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
56
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very obliging staff and a very pleasant hotel - a little old fashioned are the bedrooms but adequate and comfortable for one night. Excellent old style restaurant offering hearty good food with plenty of choice. Lots of locals seem to use it which is always a good recommendation. Great location for the town and there is good parking nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Das Steichele is located inside the old city, two steps from Weisser Turm underground station, Jakobskirche and St. Elisabeth, in a quiet, small road.
My single non-smoking room was clean, well carpeted and furnished, and spacious enough.
Staff at reception speak english fluently and is really kind. Don't be afraid to ring that bell, they are always working nearby!
Breakfast is a dream: there's huge selection of food: traditional cheeses, sliced meat, sausages, salmon, any sort of bread, cereals, fresh fruit prepared a-la-minute, freshly baked cakes... Tables are covered with immaculate white clothes, dishes and cutlery are just fine.
Considered the price paid, here you can find real value for the money. I have booked directly from their web page.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC - Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Eat in the restaurant during the Embedded World exhibition. The building is a typical old style German tavern.
The menu was fairly simple but the food was plenty and wholesome. I had the shoulder of pork with potato dumplings (first for these) and cabbage with gravy. A good hearty meal for a cold night and so much that there was no need for starters or desert. It was also very good value for money and maybe because it was exhibition week, but the restaurant was busy.
Good place to eat German food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

the hotel seems to have some great history but not much is been done to keep this reputation alive. The rooms where very small and dirty. I lifted up the phone next to the bed and dust mice flew everywhere. Toilet/ Shower very small, the bed uncomfortable. We had a room facing the front and it was noisy during the day and at night with rubbish removal at 4 am.great way to be woken. The location was good walking distance to the old town, castle ...
The breakfast reminded me of a cafeteria in a youth hostel. Nothing fancy for a hotel of such a " reputation". The older lady at the reception was not very friendly. Not even a good morning or something similar. Would not recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthLincs
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Booked this Hotel for an overnight stay in Nuremberg on business. Fancied the idea of a smaller Traditional German hotel rather than one of the larger chains (eg Ibis, Holiday Inn, etc).
Booked a single room and this was certainly small and traditional, just about enough room to swing a cat!, but that didn't bother me as I was hardly in the room. The room did feel clean though and had TV, decent shower and comfy bed plus the mulled wines at the Christmas market certainly helped for a good nights sleep!
Breakfast was very basic and a bit disappointing, but this is normally the case the Germany so no real surprise.
Would probably stay again next time I am in Nuremberg and would like to try the Restraunt as it looked very good.
Word of warning though...the hotel is not too far from the red light district so be careful where you wander at night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberBridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very good location, great Bavaria decors, very specific atmosphere.
BUT......
Starting with the front desk very bad English, I needed to speak in German with the lady, very cold, I would say she was in a very bad mood. Despite I have arrived before the restaurant closure time with half an hour, we couldn't eat something decent. Nobody wanted to serve something at that time. I would say that the legendary german hospitality is only between some hours................
Despite this, the breakfast was excellent. Very civilised, everything was clean, plates, dishes, glasses.
There is big difference between rooms and restaurant
The room was poor and dirty, the cleaning was made only to look clean, but everything was clogged and dirty. The walls, the near bed wood protections, carpets, bathroom was clogged also, only the bed sheets were clean.
Initially I booked a couple of days, but seeing this I checked out in the next morning. I will never come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
177 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#22 of 126 in Nuremberg
482 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
142 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
367 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Property: Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Address: Knorrstr. 2-8, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steichele, Hotel And Weinrestaurant
Steichele Hotel Nuremberg
Steichele Hotel Weinrestaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing