We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Ranked #58 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just had two nights here as a family of five, and thought it was very convenient for exploring the city. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast delicious and varied, and the beds were comfortable!
Nuremberg is just outside the door, enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeans1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I will start with breakfast. The breakfasting room had classical European style and an appropriate amount of trademark German kitsch. The buffet featured a large selection of foods, from multiple cold cuts and cheeses, to eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, yogurt and an array of fresh fruits. To drink, one was offered freshly made coffee or tea of nearly every variety. In addition to the hot drinks, multiple fruit juices and even wine could be found on the beverage table.

The location is fantastic, located at the beginning of the pedestrian zone which extends all the way north to the Kaiserburg (castle). A few minutes west of the Hotel one can find the fantastic Germanisches Nationalmuseum. To the south, only a couple of minutes to the train station.

The staff was very accommodating and were more than willing to help with our booking and satisfy our room requirements. Though the hotel needs a few updates, the historic features shine through, making the Hotel Deutscher Kaiser a perfect accommodation in Nurnberg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AugustWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stay here every year for business & would be loathe to stay anywhere else. Hotel is in a brilliant location - only a few minutes walk to the hauptbahnhof & literally only a few steps to the ubahn station. Both of these modes of public transport will get you around the city, to the outlying towns & to the airport.

The hotel is also in walking distance of all the brilliant restaurants Nuremberg has to offer. During the last few business trips, the only cab's we've taken have been to get us to the airport on our way home - and that's only because we've either had a really early morning flight or loads of luggage! That's how central the hotel is!

Breakfast can be limited but the kitchen at the hotel is tiny, so it's not surprising. Despite this, though, there's a wide variety of items & something for everyone. We never leave the breakfast room hungry!

All of the hotel staff are brilliant. Friendly, helpful & approachable. They all live locally so are really knowledgeable about Nuremberg. Ask them anything & they'll have the answer!

The bar next to the hotel is a great place for a pils/weissbier and although I've never eaten there, the food looks really good.

Overall a good hotel in a brilliant location. Perfect if you want to explore Nuremberg without spending all your time in a cab or on the train!

Thank Salbag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Built nearly 125 years ago, Deutscher Kaiser offers few modern amenities. There are no automatic doors or magnetic keys. You have to manually lock your room and hand over the bulky metallic key at the reception when you go out. But step out of the hotel and you will realize that you are staying at the right place. The historic old town of Nuremberg, paved all the way from the main railway station to the imposing Imperial Castle, with its granite buildings, museums, churches, the confusing maze of strasses and strabes, the platzes lined with shops, restaurants with their endless rows of bistros, Bavarian beauties hanging out with obnoxious jerks … Deutscher Kaiser puts you in the center of all the best that Nuremberg offers.

But old world, charming and quaint come with a few inconveniences. The rooms are small, bathrooms smaller. The shower stall measures 24 in x 24 in. You can’t even rub your back without literally hitting the glass doors. There is no air conditioning in the standard room, not even a fan, heating is by steam radiators. During summer the rooms can get quite warm at night but you have to keep the windows tightly shut. Things can get pretty noisy with partying youths on the pavements. But they do offer a good spread for breakfast. Great coffee, much better than the Columbian muck or the Seattle slop that passes for coffee in the US. The hotel staff is extra friendly and went out of their way to find vegetarian friendly restaurants for me.

Room Tip: Choose your room by the season. In winter rooms in the front will probably offer a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hayagreeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed there for one night on business. This is a little gem, price is reasonable and it is in a good location. I walked from train station to the hotel (around 10 minutes walk) and it is right next to a church, and it is within walking distance to most restaurants/attractions.

They serve very good selection of breakfast, and coffee too! would definitely go back again for my next business trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe81love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is definitely a split-personality type hotel. There are the good, the reasonable and the downright ugly aspects.
Here are the good points. Interesting old building well positioned in Nuremberg's old town and near restaurants bars and the main station. Nice staff.
Now the reasonable. I had reserved a deluxe room that is best described as a normal room. Fair sized bed and bathroom. Bavarian décor style (nothing wrong with that) room fridge, kettle etc etc. The room was right in the roof so was quiet but on one side of the bed the eaves slopped down very close to the bed so best to remember to get out of bed on the right side.
Breakfast was just about OK but no decaff available for those that need it and the scrambled egg was stone cold and pretty solid. Staff were friendly but the whole breakfast experience is best described as functional.
Now the ugly. Right above my bed directly over my head was a very large ornate mirror that was hanging out from the wall. Inspection should that it was secured (wrong word) with some twisted wiring. It did not look safe and I decided that I would not sleep with the mirror of Damocles hanging g over my head so it took it down. Glad I did because the top of it was encrusted with dirty old dust.
The next problem was that night all the lights in the room failed. Something had activated the circuit breaker box down the hallway. The staff soon fixed it but told me the box controlled all the rooms on that floor so it could have been an electrical fault in any of the rooms that had deprived me of lighting. Take a torch if you stay in this hotel.
Would I stay here again? No, there are a lot of hotels in Nuremberg to choose from and I will be trying one of those.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room. My colleague had one and it was a glorified cupboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hogwart31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We first stayed at the "Deutscher Kaiser" in 2002 when we got married in Nürnberg, and we've retuned just about every year since for short visits with our growing family. Two things make the DK different than any other hotel in Nurnberg: first and foremost, the exceptionally friendly and attentive staff, coupled with a very cozy décor and atmosphere that consistently makes us feel "at home" in the most literal sense of that term; and the absolute best location - bar none - in the Altstadt (you can walk to *everything* in a few minutes... just leave the car at home).

Other reviewers have remarked that the interior is a bit "worn," needs to be updated, &c., or that the rates are too expensive. In both cases, a lot depends on your perspective:

As for the first, my wife and I have always preferred to patronize little places that have character and charm (but are also clean) rather than antiseptic business hotels with cookie-cutter rooms and impersonal service. When we first stayed at the DK they were just starting to modernize and upgrade the plain 1960s style rooms, and over the past decade we've had an opportunity to observe the transformation. The dark wood and sandstone of the hotel's public areas is still charming and architecturally fascinating, but now the individual accommodations are much more cheerful, airy and comfortable.

As regards the prices, we've never found them exorbitant given the exceptional comfort, service and overall value we've gotten in return. Alone the proximity to the city center justifies a modest premium (consider how much time and money you'd spend commuting anyway), and keep in mind that Nürnberg is an event destination... if you go during one of the many "Messen," (annual business conventions) or right before Christmas, the laws of supply and demand apply. If you have the flexibility to plan your visit around these events, however, you can get a much better deal. On the other hand, if you're just looking to save a few pennies, all I can say is, you get what you pay for.

Bottom line, our family loves the Deutscher Kaiser, and we stay there whenever we're in Nürnberg. It truly feels like home...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JetSetter1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
623 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#31 of 126 in Nuremberg
299 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#54 of 126 in Nuremberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Koenigstr. 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £100 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing