We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful hotel/hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful hotel/hostel!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

first of all. Great location Its within the old wall of the old city. Its 7-10 mins from the Central rail station where you can depart and arrive on a train from the rest of Germany.It is by a underground/subway station called "Opernhaus" which does connect you directly to Nuremberg airport If you get U2 train!
Then the hostel is 5-10 mins walk into the centre of the old city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianlewis_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    68
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
42
88
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Honestly, I've never had such a dramatic reversal in my opinion. What a shame.

This hostel offers excellent value for money and really goes above what you'd expect from a hostel. The 4-bed dorm we were in was very big, had individual safes in the room and 24-hour key card access to the building and the dorm. The bathroom was kept clean, and the rainfall showers were very spacious and a pleasure to use. The hostel has a little dining area next to the reception where they serve breakfast (which we did not eat), and offers a kitchen for guests to prepare their own meals. There are also a pair of couches to relax on. Free wifi access was good throughout the hostel (even in the room).

Unfortunately, here's where things go sour. I was staying with a friend who joined me later at the hostel. I had already paid for my bed for the two nights, and we agreed with the receptionist that my friend would pay for his bed later when he arrived. When my friend did arrive (much later), we put his stuff down in the dorm and then left the hostel. In the excitement, we just wanted to go out and forgot to settle his bill. Fast forward the next morning. The owner barges into the dorm, waking us up and asking who hasn't paid his bill. We immediately apologized and told him we would be right down to settle it. After a quick shower, I find my friend packing his stuff and the owner telling us that we are "undesirable" (his words), and that he refused to have us at his hostel any longer. The reasons for this eviction was an "inexcusable" violation of the rules (sleeping without paying), as well as a "very aggressive" other friend who had tried to come into the dorm earlier in the morning. This other friend was joining us to go spend the day with us in Nuremberg, and had asked to be given access to the dorm but had the door literally closed in front of him. To add insult to injury, the owner also accused us of making a mess in the bathroom - a crime we were not guilty of. We ended up having to find another place for the second night. Since I had paid two nights and my friend none, we left without paying anything else.

Overall, it is impossible for me to recommend this hostel. Based on my observations, I would recommend a change in management. The owner should be kept well away from the premises, and a professional General Manager hired to take care of daily operations. If these changes are implemented, I am confident for the future of this establishment which otherwise is a real delight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank switzerlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a lovely hostel in a brilliant location in Nuremberg. The room was really spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and as soon as we arrived we were given a map, the guy marked out all the tourist attractions we could go to, he also told us a bit of the history of Nürenberg and recommended some really good places to eat. The bathroom although not an en-suite in the room was the most swanky bathroom I have ever seen in a hostel and was also very clean, it also hand hand towels, soap and a hairdryer to use unlike other hostels. The only downside was that I only stayed one night, wish I could have stayed longer and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luminouslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hostel/hotel has been refurbished recently and is now very clean, bright and comfortable. I booked a single room with a shared bathroom for a night. Very good internet. It was a 10 minute or so walk from the station, and close to attractions in the southern half of the city. I'm not sure there were many people in the hostel, but it was quiet. There was no online booking through their own website, but they were very easy to email with in English. A good value for money choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlesAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This place, now called th Five Reasons Hostel, is easily one of the best hostels that we have stayed in our entire trip. The staff was very friendly and super knowledgeable about everything from attractions, to places to eat, to advising us on the local weather. The rooms were comfy, and came with large lockers that you "rent" for a euro. The bathrooms were clean and spacious, and the kitchen was small but useful, and never that busy. Travelers here were also a joy, and we spent many hours sharing beer and stories in the dining room. Really an excellent hostel. And did I mention that its a five minute walk from the train station? Loved this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unshavenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed two nights in this hostel with my friends. The rooms are new and clean, and was a all girls dormitory. The bathroom is really good, recently remodeled. Has elevator, a nice well-equiped kitchen and the best thing is the location. Best place to stay in Nürenberg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for one night in December. They had over booked my dorm. I was offered a cot/extra bed for €10 (not including the deposit I paid Hostelworld). Another girl who turned up later was without a bed. My cot was falling apart- it was sinking in the middle. The pillows are lumpy and disintegrating.
The other guest were abominable. Naturally, this is not the fault of the hostel. However, the disappearance of the staff from 9pm on meant that the guests' behaviour descended considerably.
There was no door between my dorm and the next room. This area is called 'deep sleep' and is to be avoided. The 'italian embassy' dorm seemed less offensive. The showers and toilets are extremely basic. The toilet was regularly out of paper. I was relieved when I left with the belongings and me in a similar condition to that in which they arrived. I shall go to the Jugendherberge next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medb_ag_taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#18 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel

Property: Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel
Address: Frauentormauer 42, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Nurnberg Hostel)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Reasons is a new Hotel & Hostel in the center of Nuremberg directly located behind the city wall with a lovely view at the opera house. When we started in 2012 everything was refurbished and thoroughly refurnished. We emphasize a lovely athmosphere for our guests and the double rooms as well as the dorm rooms will certainly meet your needs! Every room has an oak flooring which gives the rooms a warm and cosy touch. Comfortable beds, custom made tables - we provide you with everything you need to be satisfied. In our brand new spacious bathrooms you'll find rainforest showers and specially selected beautiful tiles. You'll love to take a shower there. On the ground floor you will find the reception with the lounge where you can meet others, surf on the iPad-terminal or just have a beer or a coffee. We offer a delicious breakfast which you can book spontainiously in the morning. Moreover we have a fully equipped self-catering kitchen where you can prepare meals yourself. As well you'll find a cosy dining area with large wooden tables. Furthermore there's always someone of our staff around to help you with your questions. But enough talk, just have a look at our galleries and if you have any more questions, give us a call, write us an e-mail and then come around and discover your own five reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing