We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, top-notch breakfast”
Review of Gideon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gideon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Miguel at the front desk was such a great help, kind and full of suggestions for eating and visiting the city...could not ask for a better person to represent the hotel. The location is superb...a short and easy stroll from the main train station, and an equally short walk into Old Town. The room itself was small, as is the norm here, but neat as a pin and quite comfortable. The breakfast room was very tastefully decorated, the offerings were fine, the coffee quite good. Altogether a fine experience, would stay here again every time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel Gideon made our trip much better cos we spent more time exploring the town as opposed to spending time on public transport. We were nearer to the entrance, which was very near the main train station, bus stops & tram stops. So, making our way Nurnberg has been a breeze. Since u are in Old Town, you can just spend the whole day walking and absorbing the beautiful architecture.

The hotel reception closes at 10pm, so u have to get whatever u need in the morning before u head out. Staff was helpful in sorting out rooms for us and immediately offered a cancelled room to us when we needed an extra night.

Room had strong wifi and was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn_huddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Enjoyed our stay for 2 nights n 3 days. Great location, awesome view from our room, many windows overlooking the main area.... Breakfast on 5th floor was excellent.. Clean clean clean and friendly service from all.

Room Tip: Rm 305 ! Book it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255Michaelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Although our reservation was for two nights (fortunately I had a written confirmation), the hotel had reserved a room only for one night. We still got a room for two nights, but a really tiny one under the roof with a column in the middle. We were offered no discount for this, and the evacuation plan on the door indicates that the other rooms aren't any bigger. Too small for nearly 100 Euros per night and double room, without breakfast.

The stay was okay after all, but won't come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aranjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for 3nights and enjoyed our stay. It was a bit noisy in the evening, but it is a good location in the central Alstadt. Easy to visit the sites, Albrecht Durer House, Imperial Castle, St Sebaldus Church and the Germanic National Museum.. The palace of Justice andDocumentation Centre were accessible by public transit. WIFI was totally unreliable which was disappointing and inconvenient.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemima18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Located in the town centre this small contemporary hotel is small stylish with no frills. There is no restaurant so dinner is not an option, breakfast is on 5th floor buffet style. This is a great stay for business trips

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guideposts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Gideon hotel is new hotel in the real heart.

Positive:
- great location (the main door is not located at Königstraße but 10 m far on Theatergasse)
- clean
- comfortable bed
- helpfull staff
- Free wifi (password needed)
- good price (especially for this location)

Negative
- small single room

Generally spacing, good small hotel in great location. I will back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
219 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
276 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Agneshof
#27 of 126 in Nuremberg
523 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#30 of 126 in Nuremberg
299 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#53 of 126 in Nuremberg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Hotel

Address: Koenigstr. 45, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gideon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gideon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing