We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Pricey during Toy Fair”
Review of Gideon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gideon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As usual my company booked too late, so this was quite a pricey option given it's usual rate when there isn't a toy fair in town.

The hotel itself is ideally located in the centre of Nuremberg. The decor and rooms were modern and comfortable.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was good, and the staff were very friendly and good at remembering you each day.
Free wiFi was included which is always a nice bonus.
I would stay here if I was visiting for leisure reasons.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Gideon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is situated right in the centre of town. It is spotlessly clean,nicely done up and quiet enough. The one thing it does not have is a car park, but there is a public parking garage (Katharinenhof) just a few hundered meters away and the hotel offers a little discount on parking there. I really recommend this hotel if you are thinking of staying in Nürnberg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpunkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were in Nuremberg for 3 nights early December when the city is flooded with tourists eager to get a glimpse of the christkindlmarkt, us included. High season as it was, the prices reflected that and the booking was made well in advance as most of the city centre hotels were almost sold out by november.
A quick walk from the HB on the pedestrian zone towards the old center and we missed it altogether, had to return and walk the other side of street to actually spot it. Its a nice reddish brown building probably rebuilt after the war as most of the downtown is, and the entrance is on its side where the cars leave off the main pedestrian area. Also about 30meters further away from the hotel entrance is a nice little restaurant complete with the usual specialities and favoured by the locals.
Our room was right on top of the action, 2nd floor facing the crowd and plenty to see or hear anytime of the day. We were not disturbed by the general hustle and bustle noise even when germans leaving the across-the-street-pub were chanting/singing/shouting (or whatever they do when they get high on alcohol). This room was on the same level with the reception and it became apparent quickly that it wasn't the best soundproofing we have seen although the hefty doors seem to fulfill this task well. After all some people might find this lively environment a bit too much for their taste but then such a central location usually calls for this.
The room was very small, something to be expected i guess in a smallish building smack in the middle of town, and the bathroom adequate and well equipped. Everything looked quite new and functional and the lack of space was somehow compensated in the minimalistic and functional room decoration. Twin beds pushed together hardly make out a double but we dont need to be picky here. We didnt spend that much time in the room due to the huge number of interesting sights the city has to offer.
We had breakfast only on the first day. The modern decorated restaurant is placed on the top floor and during the warmer season they can use the terrace too. The breakfast itself is basic and nothing in particular to write home about. We skipped it for the next days in order to eat out - far more interesting.
The staff was helpful (both front desk and restaurant staff) and always willing to give you the information you need for a smooth hassle-free stay.
The Gideon for all its small size has a lot to offer. Of course it has properly working wi-fi free access and even an indoor parking place for your bicycle and a fast elevator to zoom around.
We went to see the Drei Raben hotel just across the street for future reference and found that they work together with Gideon so you can give both these hotels a look and it is likely you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the street...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Miguel at the front desk was such a great help, kind and full of suggestions for eating and visiting the city...could not ask for a better person to represent the hotel. The location is superb...a short and easy stroll from the main train station, and an equally short walk into Old Town. The room itself was small, as is the norm here, but neat as a pin and quite comfortable. The breakfast room was very tastefully decorated, the offerings were fine, the coffee quite good. Altogether a fine experience, would stay here again every time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel Gideon made our trip much better cos we spent more time exploring the town as opposed to spending time on public transport. We were nearer to the entrance, which was very near the main train station, bus stops & tram stops. So, making our way Nurnberg has been a breeze. Since u are in Old Town, you can just spend the whole day walking and absorbing the beautiful architecture.

The hotel reception closes at 10pm, so u have to get whatever u need in the morning before u head out. Staff was helpful in sorting out rooms for us and immediately offered a cancelled room to us when we needed an extra night.

Room had strong wifi and was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn_huddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Enjoyed our stay for 2 nights n 3 days. Great location, awesome view from our room, many windows overlooking the main area.... Breakfast on 5th floor was excellent.. Clean clean clean and friendly service from all.

Room Tip: Rm 305 ! Book it! :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255Michaelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Although our reservation was for two nights (fortunately I had a written confirmation), the hotel had reserved a room only for one night. We still got a room for two nights, but a really tiny one under the roof with a column in the middle. We were offered no discount for this, and the evacuation plan on the door indicates that the other rooms aren't any bigger. Too small for nearly 100 Euros per night and double room, without breakfast.

The stay was okay after all, but won't come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aranjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
128 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
553 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#51 of 126 in Nuremberg
149 reviews
Lorenz Hotel Zentral
#79 of 126 in Nuremberg
75 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Hotel

Address: Koenigstr. 45, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gideon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gideon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing