We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at HI Nurnberg (Nuremberg)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a nice modern hotel with western amenities, but was better in past years. Location is great in the Old Town and convenient to restaurants and Underground. Nice bar, good restaurant. Just some minor inconceniences: we could not get the room warm enough for our Florida bodies and the thermostat on the wall must just be for the amusement of the guest to try to adjust the temperature; also, this was a trade show week and I did not have to be at the venue early, so by the time I got in the shower the hot water was gone and the best I could do was a tepid, warm water shower.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights while visiting the Embedded World trade show. Basically we suffered from three issues:
1. It was very cold in the room. Even with the heater on the temperature did not want to go above 20 degrees centigrade. After several insistent complaints the staff brought us an electric heater that resolved the problem.
2. Very slow Internet connection. Wi-Fi routers are obviously very old and as a result the download speed is just about 1 Mbps.
3. The staff is very tricky. On checkout they (in particular Ms. Ines [--]) tried to cheat us three times. First of all she tried to charge us for 10 breakfasts for 3 persons for 3 nights stay, After we pointed out this did not make sense, she said that we booked 2 rooms with 4 persons. She insisted on that. However when I produced the reservation confirmation for 3 persons she immediately forgot about that. After that we noticed that she was trying to charge EUR 213 per night instead of EUR 204 per night as per reservation confirmation. This was also fixed.

The bitter thing is that the mentioned lady did not even care to bring me a single apology, even despite being asked to. She was rude and unfriendly.

After we left we found out that despite all our efforts she had still cheated us. The daily rate EUR 204 included breakfast and she charged additional EUR 15 for each breakfast.

I consider that it's simply extraordinary. I would not advise anybody to stay in this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
7  Thank YuriKirillov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchumaT, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sir,
we have sent you a separate detailled letter.
We want to fix the following facts: heaters are working, no technical issues.
Internet connection is not old, fresh reconfigured in 2013 with additional lines to be faster and still opportunity to make it even better in 2014.
Staff is definitely not "tricky", please see other reviews for our property, it was in case a technical error that submited us other rates, refund has been issued right after claiming the error.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Location can be offensive for some because the Red Light District of Nurenberg is just around the corner. The hotel WiFi is worst ever internet access I have seen so far, and I have seen a lot. Breakfast is quite good. The Bistro in the lobby is good. Rooms are clean but lacks a little touch.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank tzravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the rooms. On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you have encountered with the location and most especially with the unsatisfactory WiFi connection. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is situated at 5 minutes walk from the city center.it is a brandnew , modern Holiday Inn with a nice design.A plus is the parking garage which leeds you directly to your rooms.Service is good and rooms are big and nice .

Room Tip: go for a superior room at the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Loved the rooms , the service and its very very well located hotel. very near to the city center.
The prices are holiday inn prices but its value for the same. Rooms are big , cozy and service is quick and good. There are good restaurant options near by incase you want to try ,,, thai, turkish, japanese. They also have a nearby parking place (5 mins walk ) if you donot get space in holiday inn parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ketaki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the worst service from any hotel I have ever had the pleasure of NOT staying in! My cancellation did not go through on the IHG website and thought it was acceptable to charge me 300 Euro even as a platinum member.

All staff I spoke to at the hotel were rude and obnoxious who took great pleasure in advising me that they were taking the money and that was final!

Currently complaining to senior executives of IHG group as I certainly wouldn't have this problem with Hilton!

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
8  Thank anagramdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchumaT, Manager at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

review is factually incorrect, client is spreading slander! Hotel has not "stolen" money, client did not cancel his reservation, now is annoyed because of penalty fee. Client never stayed at property, review is not representing the originally provided service on site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's only a Holiday Inn soI was not expecting great things, but this is not great. The rooms were not what I would call clean, the bed mediocre, and the service slapdash.

Biggest problem is the dodgy area, near the red light zone and with shady people hanging about. I was twice offered drugs on the street corner.

There are better places to stay. I' rather stop in an Ibis, and you won't hear me say that often.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank brunnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear brunnian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,374 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing