We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some service issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Holiday Inn City Centre is a nice hotel with many amenities. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is located in the Old Town within walking distance of all major attractions and shopping. The hotel has a parking facility (at EUR12 per day) but it is often full and inaccessible on weekends. When that happens it can be challenge to find parking.

The staff is very friendly but not always helpful. When I visited it was very warm and I noticed the air conditioner in the room did not work properly. The room was very hot at night making it hard to sleep. I brought this to the attention of the staff and they promised to look into it right away. However, nothing happened. I complained on three different occasions and three times the same scenario unfolded. In the end I was fed up and went down to the reception to demand another room. After some discussion (they first said they were full) I finally found someone who gave me another room. Not exactly great service despite all the friendly smiles.

I also noticed that the exercise room was way too hot. Often there were no towels anywhere to be found and one time the staff removed the towels that were there (I don't know why). Most times I had to go out in the hallway to find a towel on the service carts.

My room too had only one towel. Not exactly very generous.

As mentioned before, the garage was often full at night yet they still charged me 12 euros.

Room Tip: The elevators are very slow so pick a low on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice clean rooms if possible the give an upgrade specially to platinum members. friedly staff and a good restaurant and bar. Breakfast was good and a nice choice. locations in the center of the city Nürnberg

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank centurion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a classy Hotel. They do not nickel and dime you to death. You get a bottle of apple Juice and water in your room complimentary. They have free coffee, apples in the Lobby with crossants in the afternoon. The staff are very helpful and nice. The rooms are excellent and clean and has all the amenities you Need. There is a fee for parking if you have a car.
Great Location in heart of old town Walking distance to stores, restaurants and Underground railways.
Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here on rewards points for a one night stopover. I was upgraded to one of the top floor apartments, which was a very nice gersture. The room is clean and large with kitchen and nice large bathroom. The negative is that the carpeting and furnishings are showing their age with some stains, etc. The location is a convenient walk to the centre of old town, but, if you are here with your family, be aware that the red light disrict is just at the end of the block with the ladies parading their goods in the windows. Propery seems quiet. We had the windows open on Saturday night and it seemed to be quiet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear eurocarpaul,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Members. I am glad to know that you found our hotel location convenient and the level of service you received is highly commendable.

On the other hand, I am sorry for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the city.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manger
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here on our drive to Budapest.
Great restaurant and lovely rooms
I would recommend this hotel for everyone.
The staff are really polite and friendly and can speak several languages.
Breakfast was superb, English and continental and plenty of choice. Really good coffee too!
Visit here and enjoy!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joynesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I feel this hotel is very good. Good points are large room, high quality, good breakfast, great service like free mini-bar and free coffee & tea at the front. Only location is not the best, you need to walk around 15 minutes to center of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpursKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am in general a fan of Holiday Inn franchisee but this hotel is stands out among the crowed. It is conveniently located in the city center within the castle walls. All the major attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.There is a good choice of food in the city center. Food prices in the hotel itself are quite reasonable.

Hotel is approximate 15 minute walk from DB station. Hotel staff is very helpful and courteous.

Be aware that hotel is barely 20 meters away from the red light street so you might wanna keep a note of that specially if you are travelling with family.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same so no specific choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijaySharma_CFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,421 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nuremberg
#34 of 126 in Nuremberg
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £68 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing