We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one at reception, no attention, really noisy.”
Review of ArtHotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ArtHotel City
Ranked #73 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed 3 October 2007

That’s how they work in this hotel. They attend it like a supermarket and leave you alone there. When you reserve here you must to know they have “supermarket hours”. We have a problem with the incredible noise of a water pump, and waited for the one in charge to come from his own home where he was sleeping, to switch it off and let us sleep. Without any apologize!!!
In our bedroom seems to be the kitchen, really food smelly.
Consider another where you don’t feel like stupid when you pay.

Reservation number: 350882
two nights on 20th Septeber 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeMadridAlCielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for ArtHotel City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2007

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I booked it last minute and my main concern was central location. I found the hotel to be an oasis of quality in an otherwise shady neighborhood. But more on that in a moment.

The hotel gave some pretty poor directions on Hostelworld.com. It simply says, "Metro (Subway) Stop 'Plärrer' just a 300m away from the hotel." What they don't mention is that you have to exit the subway, cross the street to Gastonhofer Hauptstrasse, follow that street until it ends, then take a left onto Bauerngasse, and follow that until you come upon the ArtHotel City. It took me at least half an hour to find, and I can speak German. I would've hated to be a non-German speaker trying to find it.

The area is also a bit sketchy. It's not somewhere I would feel safe walking in at dark, but during the day it's fine. Convenient access to the metro, and the metro is just two stops from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station), making getting to anywhere in the city very easily. Buses at Plaerrer also run to the Doku-Zentrum, so you can visit the Nazi Party Rally Grounds very easily.

Now, the hotel itself. As I said, very modern art. Lots of whites, some abstract art, very rich mahogany furnishings. I was a huge fan.

The receptionist I spoke to did not speak English, unfortunately, but I think another receptionist I spoke to when I was checking out did - either way, I'd come prepared with a few phrases in German.

Internet seemed decently cheap but was only available via WiFi, so you need a laptop. Breakfast is not included, and I didn't sample it, so I don't know how it was.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay. I'd probably stay someplace a little more central next time, but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WhatRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We stopped here for one night during a driving tour of Austria and Germany. We were surprised to find free parking available, which is unusual for such a centrally located hotel.

The rooms are good, very clean and have all you need. There is a telephone in the room and WiFi for a reasonable fee, but we found the cyber cafe 100m away (turn right out of the hotel entrance) to be a much better deal. We didn't take breakfast as it was quite expensive, but it looked good when we checked out.

It's quite well located just outside the city, it is a 15minute walk to the centre. We would glady stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CrisMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gabriele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank coralieh568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joeri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
184 reviews
Hotel Prinzregent
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
170 reviews
Novina Hotel Tillypark
#12 of 126 in Nuremberg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Behringers City Hotel Nurnberg
#88 of 126 in Nuremberg
43 reviews
Gostenhof
Smile Hotel
Smile Hotel
#54 of 126 in Nuremberg
86 reviews
Design Hotel Vosteen
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ArtHotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArtHotel City

Address: Bauerngasse 32, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Gostenhof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ArtHotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your ArtHotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel City Nuremberg
Arthotel City Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing