We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to train station, but inconsistent/poor service for a 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Nurnberg City
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Close to train station, but inconsistent/poor service for a 4* hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

So we picked this hotel as a last minute chance to go to the Nuremberg Christmas markets. We took the train into town, coming in after dark, so being within walking distance was key for us. Unfortunately we had to walk past a construction area that was dark and a little spooky. Once we arrived, tired, dragging our bags, we were given a very cold welcome. My husband even commented about how snobbish the reception was. Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the street. DO NOT EVER GET A ROOM FACING THE STREET. The room shuddered each time the train passed, and it passes every 5-10 mins. Even with double paned windows, which easily kept the cool air out, the noise was irritating. Also, the doors are heavy so the SLAM shut, echoing down the hall. And apparently there is some kind of room upstairs where people are dragging chairs around all morning. Anyway, other than that, the room was beautifully appointed. The heat worked well, almost too well. I tried to turn down the heat, but could not manage to turn it off. I ended up opening a window to get some cooler air in. The bathroom is small, but functional. The water pressure was dismally weak tho. The bed was firm, the pillows feathers...so my neck was killing me. I asked for add'l pillows but were provided smaller feathered ones. No luck there. We checked out the fitness room (small, but adequate) and the sauna area (also small, but adequate and clean). The most disappointing was that we were not told that we could get robes/slippers...we saw other guests with them! Again, back to inconsistent, inadequate customer service. We tried the restaurant on the first night and the waitress was quiet but fun and the food was fabulous...so much so that we went back the second night...only to be fully disappointed. We were seated in the back, despite empty (and more comfy) seats in the front and were told that they were reserved...that was BS since no one sat in those seats all night. We watched. The food was just okay, no where near as much or as good as the night before. Very disappointing. We tried the wifi which I was able to get working on the first night, but never again after that. Breakfast had a lot of variety (2 juices, teas, coffee, breads, cereals, some gluten free pastries, a few fruits, scrambled eggs (terrible), bacon (undercooked), hard boiled eggs, 2 sausages, sliced meats/cheeses, veggies, fish, sweet) but the service was terrible (if you don't like working the morning shift, please don't) and the food was just okay. I would have preferred that they had less variety but better quality, tho I have eaten much better at hotels for far cheaper (breakfast was $15 per person). Overall, it was an okay weekend, but I think next time I would look for some other opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room away from the street if at all possible. But good luck trying to get service fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    543
    128
    28
    20
See reviews for
132
356
69
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

easy choice close to businesses and the city centre (10min walk) ; extensive choice at breakfast, restaurant is ok, but service rather slow ; no Wifi in the rooms is really the big weak spot for the hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ron_1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were foolish to believe that this is a 4 star hotel prior to booking our 2 nights stay on Agoda. When we arrived at the reception, it was almost impossible to grab hold of the receptionists. Two receptionists were present at the time but they were both serving the same customer at a time (one was doing the talking and the other one just standing and watching from behind) hence there was a bottleneck and a queue of customers waiting to be served. When we got to our turn and presented our confirmation emails from both Agoda and the hotel, the receptionists checked the system and then told us "Sorry we are busy tonight and all our rooms have SOLD OUT". I had to show them the private confirmation email I received from the hotel (not Agoda) 2 weeks prior to arriving in Nuremberg. They told us again "we have no rooms left for tonight we are very busy sorry". We were getting very annoyed as we already paid for the room, so we asked for a possible upgrade. They looked at the system again, and booked us in the room we originally booked for. We had no idea what the fuss was about, checking in was a nightmare. There was nothing exceptional about this hotel. Car park was tiny for a big car and overpriced. When we asked to borrow a cable to use the internet, the receptionists asked us to come downstairs to pick it up, absolutely appalling service. Had to wait 30 mins for others to be served before we got our cable, and a poor British guy in front of us was told the same story "sorry we have no rooms for tonight" after he showed his booking confirmation. Wouldn't trust this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank raspberryinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've been going here for a while on work trips. Nice location near train station and a few blocks from the entrance to old town. Very good breakfast which can be expensive if not included in your rate. Gym is sub-standard, with only cardio equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room for complete quiet. Parking is tight. Don't try to bring a large vehi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gzerwekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very close to the Central Station that you can just walk in. English speaking friendly and helpful staff ensures you have a comfortable stay.
The breakfast buffet was very nice. The wifi connection was weak in the rooms so they offered me a LAN cable.
Real good place to stay for business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at NH for a weekend in December 2013, to visit friends and the nearby Christkindlesmarkt which we return to almost annually and were not disappointed. The NH group rarely lets you down (one experience in Fürth wasn't the best) but their hotels in Frankfurt and elsewhere have been second to none and we expected the same from Nürnberg City.

The hotel itself is located a short walk from the Hauptbanhof (Main Railway Station) and Altstadt (old town) and ideal for those looking to visit Nürnberg's festive markets or the city in general.

The room was very comfortable although did suffer from the peculiar oddity of the Germans in having twin beds rather than a typical double, we've found this is common in a number of German hotels and is particularly irritating as I keep falling down the gap.

Our room overlooked the railway lines and the noise from these was noticeable with the window open (it should be noted the windows provide excellent soundproofing - but I always sleep with the window open)

The hotel is spotless, the staff couldn't be more helpful (and speak very good English which is helpful as my German isn't that great). The breakfast (Frühstück) was fantastic, with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes to choose from including the typical german sausage and meat selection and danish pastries and cakes as well as the usual cooked breakfast.

Only few downsides - they advertise "Free Internet" whilst this is the case it *isn't* wifi, it's cabled ethernet which unfortunately isn't useful unless you have a laptop (and even the most recent of them often don't have ethernet ports) - you can get a cable from reception. There is also no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, not a major problem but was unexpected. Also the room TV is an old CRT which, presumably having become accustomed to LCDs for the last 10+ years, I find quite uncomfortable to watch - not that you travel abroad to sit in your hotel watching TV. Handily it also had a range of radio stations including the local Antenne Bayern.

The hotel has an underground car park - this is (a) expensive and (b) difficult to get in and out of if you're unaccustomed to your particularly large hired car (in our case a BMW 520) - would have been fine in something the size of a VW Golf or if I was more used to having a steering wheel on the left hand side.

Will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Central location.spotless. in a word fantastic. My wife and I spent an overnight at this hotel and we would have no hesitation on recommending this hotel. Excellent value the hotel pride the comfortable beds which set set the tone for our follow on Danube cruise and tour of the old city. Paddy & Geraldine Dublin

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
837 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Nurnberg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Nurnberg City

Property: NH Collection Nurnberg City
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17-19, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH Nuernberg City)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Nurnberg City 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated NH Collection Nürnberg City is located in the very city center of Nuremberg, just a two-minute walk from the central station (an important hub for ICE and long-distance trains) and a five-minute walk from the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, NHHotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Nurnberg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Nurnberg City Hotel Nuremberg
Nh Nurnberg City Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing