We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Nurnberg City
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A well run hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We chose this hotel because we had to depart from the train station (on the bus to Prague), and that is across the road. I had stayed at an NH property earlier, so the brand was familiar. The online reservation was smooth and check-in at the property was efficient, although not effusive. Our room was on the first floor and overlooked an inner courtyard, which was disappointing but a part of the price the smoker pays I guess. The room was compact, which means it was a shade better than cramped but efficient. Surprisingly it did not have a tea-coffee service; this now ought to be a staple in hotels of this class and I was surprised at the lapse. We slept well, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean, adequate and of an acceptable standard. The breakfast spread was superb, and more than made up for any shortcomings we might have felt. Overall, this was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    583
    139
    29
    22
See reviews for
145
391
79
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

From check in to check out the hotel proved to be comfortable and an excellent base for exploring Nurnberg. We stayed for 5 days on a room only basis and the rate was very reasonable. The hotel was constantly spotless and the staff are very efficient and friendly. One downside is the lack of a bar counter, we found at times we were waiting up to 20 minutes before being asked if we wanted another drink. It would be really helpful also if the free wifi was available throughout the hotel as opposed to reception area. It made it a little difficult to plan day-trips etc...
Overall the hotel is really nice and worth a stay in if you get good rates!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Conveniently located only 5mins walk from the Nuremberg Hbf and about 15mins walk to the Hauptmarkt, where the Christkindlesmarkt was during our stay. Surprisingly, the hotel was not booked out in the last few days of the market so we were lucky to get a good deal staying here and it was fantastic value. Note: We booked via Agoda.com and there was an issue with our booking, so I would advise not to book via Agoda if possible.

The room was great, large, modern, new looking, spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also impressively large & had an excellent shower. As well as coming to Nuremberg for the Christkindlesmarkt, we also used it as a base for doing some day trips via rail (Rothenburg ob ber Tauber & Bamburg), therefore its proximity to the Hbf came in very handy for this reason too. We did not eat at the restaurant at all (there was the market for that!) so cannot comment on it.

The only nuance staying here is that they charge for wifi, and even though I signed up for a 24hr 'trial' or something, it only lasted for one session. Wired internet is offered if you have a laptop (which I did) but it continually did not work, saying 'max number of users reached'. Nevertheless our stay was very good value, good room, staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was a really nice place to stay. The only thing that let it down was the staff. They are very professional, but not friendly, or willing to help out even with the small things. My example is a cork screw to open a bottle of wine. They couldn't help me get one, they didn't even look for one. Even when I offered to bring the bottle down to reception.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely stylish modern hotel, good suprise. Hotel is close to city centre with lovely shops

rooms are very stylish, although perhaps a frosted glass window into the bathroon and wooden flooring is perhaps too stylish for me.

Confortable rooms and beds, wifi in rooms a bit flaky and restrictive in terms of business use.

All in all a good hotel.

Would i stay here again? Yes most probably!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazzyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Close to main train staition. Comfortable bed. Spacious room. No noise from the street (I stayed on the first floor!). Exellent and quality breakfast.
We stayed on Sunday and breakfast costs only 15 euro for two of us. Staff said that Wi-Fi doesn't work in the room, but we were lucky, in our room it worked and it works in the lobby. But it could be problem. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Irina555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

So we picked this hotel as a last minute chance to go to the Nuremberg Christmas markets. We took the train into town, coming in after dark, so being within walking distance was key for us. Unfortunately we had to walk past a construction area that was dark and a little spooky. Once we arrived, tired, dragging our bags, we were given a very cold welcome. My husband even commented about how snobbish the reception was. Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the street. DO NOT EVER GET A ROOM FACING THE STREET. The room shuddered each time the train passed, and it passes every 5-10 mins. Even with double paned windows, which easily kept the cool air out, the noise was irritating. Also, the doors are heavy so the SLAM shut, echoing down the hall. And apparently there is some kind of room upstairs where people are dragging chairs around all morning. Anyway, other than that, the room was beautifully appointed. The heat worked well, almost too well. I tried to turn down the heat, but could not manage to turn it off. I ended up opening a window to get some cooler air in. The bathroom is small, but functional. The water pressure was dismally weak tho. The bed was firm, the pillows feathers...so my neck was killing me. I asked for add'l pillows but were provided smaller feathered ones. No luck there. We checked out the fitness room (small, but adequate) and the sauna area (also small, but adequate and clean). The most disappointing was that we were not told that we could get robes/slippers...we saw other guests with them! Again, back to inconsistent, inadequate customer service. We tried the restaurant on the first night and the waitress was quiet but fun and the food was fabulous...so much so that we went back the second night...only to be fully disappointed. We were seated in the back, despite empty (and more comfy) seats in the front and were told that they were reserved...that was BS since no one sat in those seats all night. We watched. The food was just okay, no where near as much or as good as the night before. Very disappointing. We tried the wifi which I was able to get working on the first night, but never again after that. Breakfast had a lot of variety (2 juices, teas, coffee, breads, cereals, some gluten free pastries, a few fruits, scrambled eggs (terrible), bacon (undercooked), hard boiled eggs, 2 sausages, sliced meats/cheeses, veggies, fish, sweet) but the service was terrible (if you don't like working the morning shift, please don't) and the food was just okay. I would have preferred that they had less variety but better quality, tho I have eaten much better at hotels for far cheaper (breakfast was $15 per person). Overall, it was an okay weekend, but I think next time I would look for some other opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room away from the street if at all possible. But good luck trying to get service fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
536 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Nurnberg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Nurnberg City

Property: NH Collection Nurnberg City
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17-19, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH Nuernberg City)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Nurnberg City 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated NH Collection Nürnberg City is located in the very city center of Nuremberg, just a two-minute walk from the central station (an important hub for ICE and long-distance trains) and a five-minute walk from the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Nurnberg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Nurnberg City Hotel Nuremberg
Nh Nurnberg City Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing