We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Elch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elch
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Elch for four nights in June. The hotel, although only a short walk away from the main square, is situated in a peaceful area of the old town. Our room on the second floor was well appointed, the bed very comfortable, with pleasant views from the window.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was generous and filling.
We ate twice at the Schnitzelria restaurant on the ground floor. The menu and wine suggestions given by the waitress were spot on both occasions and we enjoyed our meals immensely.
We would definitely stay at Hotel Elch again if we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffNoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff at the Hotel Elch was very welcoming and accommodating during our stay. The rooms were somewhat small, but very adequate and decorated lovely. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious and a delightful German atmosphere. The location is great - a short walk to the town square and an easy walk to the castle. The day we left the hotel let us keep our car parked in their lot for some time after checkout so we could tour more of the old town. It was raining, and we didn't have enough umbrellas, and they were kind to lend us three for our walk. Would definitely recommend! (Note: there is no elevator, and our floor was up 4 flights of stairs - not a problem for us, just something to be aware of)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I wanted to stay in old town area,so spent a night there.Easy access to shopping area and underground.The hotel's facilities are kind old,but the view from the room was cute looking worth drawing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyoukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. There was some initial confusion of where to check in since we didn't see the sign to head into the restaurant. Really enjoyed the restaurant downstairs for dinner one night and breakfast one morning. The staff was great about sharing tips and history of the building. The room itself was ok decor wise (the randomly plastic beaded chandelier was strange) but the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaYunC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our two night stay at the Hotel Elch was wonderfull. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, room was quiet, just the right size for two, and very clean. Lots of character in the exposed wood beams and creaking wood floors. Staff were friendly and accomodating even though we arrived early on our first day. Highly recommended for anyone who is not afraid to stay in an hotel that is not the holiday inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Small and central hotel in Nurnberg. Cozy is the word -- good breakfast, small but clean rooms, good wifi. Walking distance to the center of the city. Friendly staff. Reception was closed when we arrived, but we'd been told to pick up the keys in the restaurant across the street. I'd come back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Spradebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Decent hotel, well located. Good breakfast - no variation though, same thing everyday - not very big choice. on booking it says no prepayment charge but they took the money upfront without even letting us know, kind of unprofessional. no manager on site, the cook solves any issues and she was not so pleasant at first, only after a chat with her manager! she kept ignoring me while talking back!!! no heater in the bathroom - not good for winter time! FREE WiFi!!! ( not so common in "civilized countries" anymore!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
271 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
618 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,015 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elch

Address: Irrerstr. 9, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#13 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elch Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing