We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location- great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Burgschmiet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Burgschmiet
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location- great breakfast”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights during Christmas season. Very nice 3 star hotel, we needed a quad and it was roomy, clean and updated. Breakfast buffet was great- fresh and huge selection. Hotel is a block outside of walled city in quiet residential area, but only 10 minute walk to Christmas market. Would highly recommend and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSpartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    112
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
101
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

With only 39 rooms, this is a friendly place for travellers and especially those who are planning to see the Nuremburg Christmas market and museums in the city. The rooms are very clean. The hotel's breakfast buffet, included in the room price, is outstanding. In fact, eat a big breakfast and you don't need to eat again until dinner. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. English is spoken by most staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Advertisingrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

An overall OK hotel.
We had a nice small room, though somewhat dated (the bathroom especially). The room was quiet and clean - all you need for a one-night stay. The only downside are the pillows (paper-thin).
The breakfast really is as good as all the other reviewers write - a vast selection and good quality.
The old town is literally across the street, it's as close as you can get without actually living within its walls.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyaredzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is just outside the city walls, There is just one street to cross and you are there. Warm welcome, nice room and wonderful breakfast. Lavish even by German standards, there was just about every possible thing you could possibly consider eating and quite a few you wouldn't even have thought of.
Excellent value for money, especially when you consider how close to the city centre this is, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domzale, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room was nice, big and comfortable double bed, TV, refrigerator, small desk, separate anteroom/lobby for luggage and small sofa. Bathroom very basic - shower, sink, toilet. Everything clean and in good condition. Baby bed was provided without extra cost. Breakfast was excelent, a lot of choise. The location is great (we traveled by car and we were happy to have a parking space at the hotel), few steps from the old city.

We had the room next to the elevator shaft and we could hear it every time it was in operation. But having a small child, we are not bothered with night noises anymore.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krspela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

When we arrived, we got a warm and helpful reception. Checkin was quick. Then he carried our bags for us to the room, one flight up. There is an elevator. Our initial impression of the room was "oh my gd, what did we get into here?" The room is not spacious but by the next morning, we'd figured out how to make it work for us.
We grew to love it and would stay here again. The breakfast is fabulous, so many good and even healthful choices. So pleasant in the dining room too,
Also in a few days, we figured out where we really are and began to appreciate the proximity to good bus routes, U (underground) and especially the ease to walk to Old Town.
All on all, a delightful small hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge perhaps and ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Sug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this delightful hotel breakfast was the stand out here the food and service excellent and the breakfast room itself has great ambience antique furniture and paintings,over all we rated it highly .We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the hotel car park the room was quiet spacious and spotlessly clean with a good comfortable bed and pillow.Taxi from the main train station is around 10 euro.The castle and old city are just across the road and there are plenty of reasonably priced places selling local Bavarian dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#15 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#8 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burgschmiet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burgschmiet

Property: Hotel Burgschmiet
Address: Burgschmietstr. 8, 90419 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burgschmiet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet "Hotel Burgschmiet" is in close proximity to the Imperial Castle and the citywall around the old city. Also to Nuremberg's main market, which is only a short walk from the hotel, where Germany's most famous Christmas market opens each year, the Nurnberger Christkindlesmarkt; Its stalls for visitors from around the world. Every year more than two million visitors from all over the world come to see the Christmas market.Whether you are working at the fair or on a journey through Nuremberg, thanks to the friendly atmosphere of our house your stay will become an event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Burgschmiet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing