We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So average”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #103 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel has a decent location but otherwise it has nothing to recommend it. Staff is cold and unwelcoming. Breakfast is an add-on. Price is too high for what it is. Our room was overlooking a parking lot so occasionally noisy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you just need a roof to keep out the rain. Price in Canadian dollars was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very clean spacious room and large bathroom. I paid for the breakfast and it was a little expensive but the food was really good and a good selection. no wifi in the rooms which was frustrating. The hotel was located about a 5-10 minute walk from the hbf which was nice but the walk into the town centre was close to 20 minutes. With the weather being so nice this wasn't a problem, just that there wasn't anything really nearby for restaurants or stores. The lady working the front desk was kind enough to print my bus ticket for me so that was very helpful to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGirl852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

They don't have AC and reception after 10 pm, nobody was in hotel when we arrived from town...It's ok for a night, no more. Breakfast is ok ,internet in room is not real:) Quiet, but not very close to the center, you must tu walk about 15- 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It's a good price to stay in a basic hotel nearby central, Nuremburg HBF and DB Museum, just 10 mins to the old town. Room is big and well-facilitated. However, they will have a stupid procedure if you book the room through booking.com. They will send you back the pre-payment to your credit card account when checking in, and ask you pay the rent by cash immediately. But the amount of pre-payment and the cash rent is the SAME!!! Of course they didn't take double finally, but it made us worried on the night we stayed because we had no idea about what they were doing, and we didn't understand what the bank receipt saying, they were all German.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed during the Christmas Markets, & also Fortuna vs Nuernberg football game. The hotel price was really what sold me. It is a good value; 5 minute straight walk from the main train station, & a 10-15 minute walk to the square where the main Christmas Markets were. My husband & I don't mind walking a little bit to get to where we want to be.

The room was clean, albeit a bit dated. The breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast, enough to get us going in the morning. Considering location & the really good price we got, & it met our minimal standards, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelynM561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights during the toy fair and found the hotel to be clean, polite staff and good service.

It is an excellent location for the main train station and old town, and has a u-bahn station at the end of the street.

Yes the hotel rooms are basic but they had comfy beds, good size tv & my room even had a newly refurbished bathroom, so for its usual rate decent value for the budget traveller.
Everyone is offered free wifi and the options for breakfast (if taken) are good.

It can be noisy from the street, particularly at the weekend, and this didn't seem to differ if you were at the front or back of the hotel.

The rate was increased significantly due to trade show period so the rate would have been hard to swallow had it been a pleasure trip, but this is common place throughout the hotels in nuremberg so I do not feel too aggrieved.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I only staid in this hotel for one night. Its a decent hotel with a reasonable price. It is situated only 5-10 min walking from the city centre.
The room we had was clean but was near the street side, which was a bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Fackelmann
#44 of 126 in Nuremberg
134 reviews
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
#27 of 126 in Nuremberg
438 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gostenhof
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Weidenkellerstrasse 4, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing