We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic accommodation in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #56 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed one night to attend a fair at the Messe. It was very difficult to find a decent hotel at a good price within reasonable/easy travelling distance. I looked at many hotels and the prices were very high and the locations difficult. The Garden Hotel whilst expensive for a three star hotel was chosen as the best compromise.

The hotel is small and accessed by a lobby off the street. A small elevator takes you to the 1st floor reception. First impressions were not so favourable as the public spaces were small and quite dark. The receptionist was really pleasant and helpful. She also made an excellent recommendation for dinner. The different receptionist on checkout was equally helpful and pleasant.

The room was small and basic, but very clean and comfortable. I slept well in the small single bed.

The bathroom again was small, but again very clean and with an excellent shower.

Breakfast was typically German and offered the usual cold meat and cheese choices. The breakfast room was pleasant.

The location of this hotel is superb within the delightful old city wall and a close walk to the Underground making the Messe very easy to get to. Also the hotel is on a quiet street yet close to the main squares and streets of the city.

Overall I would recommend the hotel based on its location and suitability for a one night business stopover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    55
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
14
44
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very efficient check in. Pleasant, very clean room. Very quiet - overlooking the garden. Super breakfast. Close to all tourist spots. Great for the Christmas market. Easy to reach from the airport by U-bahn.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutherland1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very clean but small room . Great breakfast buffet. When a problem occurrd using credit card machine, they kindly agreed to bill our card later once resolved. Good value. We had a bit of difficulty locating the entrance as our map was not very good. The entrance is only a small billboard out front .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahnmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is very close to the Weisser Turm station exit via Breite Gasse / Ludwigsplatz. Its a small hotel and friendly. Our room was ready on arrival 1:00pm. The lift is small but there are stairs which are large and bright. . Breakfast was included - lots of variety breads/rolls, meats, cheeses, fruit salad, yogurts, croissants, cereals, small cakes/danish, fruit juices, tea coffee. There was no hot food but I'm very happy and enjoy a good continent breakfast.
The room was clean and comfortable. There was a bar in the room but I think was quite pricey. The service was very good and friendly. The bathroom is small not much space for toiletries with small shower cubicle. Room lacked a full length mirror. The Wii was a bit flakey. But otherwise no complaints. Very comfortable and very enjoyable stay. There was a laptop and printer in the breakfast room which was available for customer use I think.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel
We had a wonderful time in Nurmeburg. We brought a Nurmberg card (http://tourismus.nuernberg.de/en/book-order/nuernbergcard.html) which is great value especially if visiting the Zoo, Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende, Nazi Party Rally Grounds, DB Museum ( although we didn't think much of it!), Kaiserburg, and also includes all your travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopyLou3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is nice and simple hotel in downtown. Really, really well located. Staff is friendly, rooms are small but ok and breakfast is great. What I don't like was cigarette smell in the bathroom and very weak wifi. Parking cost eur 15 per day but ask for 10% off at the reception. I can recommend this hotel, because for the price you will get good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tofes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leefdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
209 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

On our way to Aistria we stayed here for one night. Price-quality was very good: simple but clean room, and a quite good breakfast. In walking distance of the city center. If you're lucky you can park (on Sundays) for free in front of the hotel, otherwise there is a parkinggarage in the street, where you get a discount as hotel guest.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were a group of seven friends, who visited this place to spend our one-week holiday in December 2012. And ,we really enjoyed each and every moment there. Location in the center of city was the reason that we chose this place and it proved to be right. Major shopping streets and tourist spot were very near this place and we did a lot of shopping, besides exploring the well-known places of the city. Rooms were good and buffet breakfast was excellent. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Avenue
Hotel Avenue
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#43 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Hauser
Hotel Hauser
#36 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#69 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: Vordere Ledergasse 12, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing