We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home; right outside the old city wall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Vosteen
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home; right outside the old city wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed at Design Hotel Vosteen this past weekend for a visit back to my "roots" in Nuremburg. The hotel was an adorable, small, mid-century inspired inn that was cool enough to be a boutique but cozy enough to make you feel at home.

Before I arrived, I was emailed and asked what I would like for breakfast. Talk about service! They provided, within reason, most everything I asked for. They also have this really fancy coffee machine, that is all automated, and available for you to have whenever you'd like. They also have water and fruit available for hungry travelers. There are snacks and wine/beer available for purchase, all on the honor system.

The hotel is in the middle of a block, but the exterior is yellow, making it easy to see (that is, if you do not come in at night!) I opted for their garage parking because I had a rental and didn't want it damaged. I left the car in the garage the whole weekend and it was perfectly fine. I didn't see a lot of street parking, which was a downside for those who otherwise travel in by car. Otherwise, the hotel is right outside the old city wall. If you are standing at the front door, you simply turn left and then right, and you will run into the wall. It is a five minute walk to Kaiserberg Castle and you could literally walk from the Castle to the Opera House in 30 minutes (covering the span of the old town part of the city). Theoretically, you could also take the train to get into Nuremburg and take a taxi to the hotel. It wouldn't be that much (10-15 mins?) and you could avoid the parking situation.

The room was SPOTLESS, smelled lovely, and was decorated very cute! It was a nice retreat to come home to after sightseeing all day! Also, I got Haribou gummy bears on my pillow :) The only complaint I have is that the sheets could be softer (such a shame for such a comfortable bed with a cozy blanket!) and the towels as well.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay at the hotel. If it weren't for the odd parking situation and the linens, I would give it a 5.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deutschitaliamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    78
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
62
103
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Nice hotel, good price. It is located in a quiet area, free parking is not hard to be found. Free water/coffee/tea all day and night long. The room and the entire hotel were very clean. The owner speaks english and italian, at least. Requires 15-20 minutes walk to reach the city center/restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank was1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

nice and quiet hotel very Good location 10-15 min. walking time to all POI marvelous staff very nice breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Just returned from seven days at the Vosteen. It was an excellent choice. Located just outside the old town, it is a few minutes to the U-Bahn (less than ten minutes from the airport) in a quiet residential street. There are plenty of places to eat in the area -- we especially liked the Delphi). Rooms are individually designed and spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers good variety and there's an awesome coffee machine, Complementary tea and coffee are available all day. The rooms are also miraculously soundproofed, making it just about the quietist hotel we have ever stayed in. All in all, we were delighted with our stay (and with the city).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our night at the Design Hotel Vosteen was lovely. The bedroom and bathroom were relatively spacious, very clean, and simple, and the building felt homey. The internet was free and worked without a problem. The breakfast buffet was satisfying and featured a coffee machine with which you can make your own latte macchiato, cappuccino, or whatever else you’d like. In the evening, there is also a plate of cookies and some interesting liquors kept out for guests to enjoy at their convenience, which is most welcoming. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the Altstadt and city wall, and the street that the hotel is on is quiet in the evening. What made the stay excellent, however, was the staff. They were very helpful with recommendations and could not have been more accommodating with our car (there is a garage at the end of the street that costs 8 euros per night, but we were able to park on the street right in front of the hotel). Derya, in particular, was extremely kind and helpful in telling us about the area and the go-to spots in Nürnberg. She was patient with our questions and gave us all the anecdotes and insider tips into the city. In short, Hotel Vosteen is great value – it’s simple, solid, and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Superb hotel, close to everything, staff is fab, totally recommended! The only negative mark is the size of the beds. Rest is a+!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Hotel is in a semi-secluded area just outside the older walled protion of the city. Very short walk to the castle itself, and easy to do a full walking tour of the old city center and take in all the churches, monuments, etc.

The room was good size, and well furnished. The hotel includes a typical German breakfast in it's rate, and was very good. Parking is on the street, and you may have to hunt a bit depending upon time of day, but we had no trouble with parking ourselves.

A nice find, and great place to stop at.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMossHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#7 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Hotel Agneshof
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Vosteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Vosteen

Property: Design Hotel Vosteen
Address: Lindenaststr. 12, 90409 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#7 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Vosteen 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Vosteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vosteen Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing