We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wow!!!!”
Review of Gasthaus Pillhofer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthaus Pillhofer
Ranked #77 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Pleasing staff, excellent hospitality and lovely rooms of this hotel made our stay excellent here. This was all more than enough for a great stay. We really enjoyed a lot and are planning to stay here again in next vacations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thibaut J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We didn't stay here as guests but did frequent the pub. Beer and food both excellent, service great too. Lovely rustic atmosphere. Staff treated us really well, especially when they saw us on a regular basis during our stay:) Very close to railway station.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CraigandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have stayed in the hotel during ECS exhibition 2013. Hotel is very close to railway main station, walking distance of 300 meters (5 min.) Rooms are decorated simple, modern style and very clean. There is no elevator and there is need to carry luggage four floors. Breakfast in German style and worm dishes can be order. The food is fresh and very tasty. The hotel restaurant is German kitchen and one of the good German kitchen I have ate since long time I'm travelling to Germany. All in total it was comfortable stay.

Although it is guest house it is not cheap at all, but very comfortable. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iscogd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the Pillhofer for 4 nights. It was very easy to find as it is two minutes from the train station. We had room 3 on the third floor. The first drawback was the lack of a lift. We were on a little tour so we had large suitcases and we had to haul our cases up 3 long sets of stairs (effectively 6 flights of stairs). This was pretty exhausting. The room was pretty small but nicely furnished. There was just about room to walk around the bed. We looked out onto the lower end of Konigstrasse. As we were here over a weekend there was a bit of noise from revellers in the street. This wasn't too bad as it was bitterly cold so people were not hanging around outside. I imagine however that in the height of summer it is a different story as people will be outside and the bars don't close until 3am.

We had breakfast on the first morning. It was the usual continental breakfast - bread, cheese, meat etc. Breakfast is served from 7am - 10am. We went down at about 9.15am and the food had clearly been sitting uncovered since 7am so was drying out and curling a bit at the edges. We didn't bother with the breakfast again as there are a few bakery/coffee shops just along the street with lovely fresh bread.

All in all this was an ok stay. We loved Nuremberg so we weren't in the hotel much. The location is really good, about a 10 minute walk to the castle, and right by the train station and tram and bus stops for getting to the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it may be quieter. And pack light as you will have to haul your luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Lovely fresh looking rooms and bathrooms. Restaurant excellent. Not a huge menu but all food was really good. Breakfast nice with usual cold meats and cheeses and offered hot menu aswell.
Great position for shops, Xmas market.
We were not bothered by noise in the street or from the restaurant.
As previously mentioned, the stairs are difficult with big suitcases.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DacLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Following the signs for the Altstadt as we left the main railway station we appeared almost at the front door of The Pillhofer Hotel as we emerged from the underground walkway onto Konigstrasse. The welcome at the little reception desk (tucked behind the bar area) was efficient and within minutes we were heading up to our room. (NOTE there is no lift and it is at least three flights of stairs to climb)

The room, whilst compact was very clean with newly installed bathroom and bedroom furniture. Ideal for a couple of nights stay, but if you have loads of luggage it may well be a little difficult to store everything.

The hotel restaurant serves south German food - the meals were very tasty and could be washed down with a wide selection of great beers or a range of wines. The restaurant was very busy, even in the mid week so was pleased to have reserved in advance, although the steady stream of customers may mean you get seated fairly quickly.

The hotels location, on the main street between the railway station and the historic city centre, means you are within minutes of the historic buildings, The main squares and many shopping streets that the city has to offer. Being here in December it was only a matter of yards before we stumbled upon a Gluhwein stall that helped lead us then through to the Christmas market.

Overall I have very positive impressions of The Pillhofer and Nuremburg.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel has new rooms but too expensive for what You get. There is no elevator, the bath towels are old, there is no shower gel or soap and no shampoo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
847 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,409 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nuremberg
#34 of 126 in Nuremberg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Pillhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Pillhofer

Address: Koenigstr. 78, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £60 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Pillhofer 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthaus Pillhofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Pillhofer Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing