We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern hotel in the best location possible”
Review of Sorat Hotel Saxx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is really located on the best place possible, directly on the main square so all the nightlife is just stone throw away from you.
The same applies to sight-seeing and shopping as the old town is packed with all shops imaginable.
The rooms are just the right size, with beds to european standards (as some german hotels tend to have extremly soft mattresses where you have no chance to get a good night sleep).
Since you are directly in the old town bear in mind that parking is not free of charge (15-16 EUR per night, depending on where you park). The hotel parking is great as the lift from the underground brings you directly to the floor of your room so like a directly flight to bed :). Though I would recommend the parking at the hotel only to smaller cars owners. With my 2013 RAV4 I had some hard times as the places are engineered just to fit the car and you have no clue whether there is any spot left until you drive in. For the others I recommend "parking-stress" free option at the Hauptmarkt parking lot just opposite the street for nearly the same price.
And last but not least the breakfast buffet. Yes, it costs 9,50 EUR extra per person, but in my opinion well deserved. It is constantly refilled and even being on paleo diet I did not have any issue to find my selection of meals. Great for good start into the day...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vlada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hello Vlada J, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience. The small garage is great for cars which are up to 1.90 meter high and 5.00 meter long. And you are right, the turns would be a challenge for large vehicles, such as vans, jeeps or oversize limousines. We only hope that you had no larger problems in parking your car and we hope that you will continue staying with us when your travels bring you back to Nuremberg. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

It is in the old town area on a lively street in Hauptmarkt. Very vibrant and beautiful location.

Everything from eating spaces to shopping just at a stones throw. The traditional Nurenberg market with shops and restaurants were so nice and lovely were just outside on the big ground.

From Nurenberg train station taxi takes 9 Euro. Or one can take the underground which is one stop from Nurenberg. ( get down at Lorenzkirche which is 2 mins walk to the hotel.) Very convenient.

Wi fi was free that was great! And very fast even in the rooms.

One great thing was complimentary tea , water and bakery snacks till 12 noon. Very unique and convenient facility which was very well thought of.

Hotel was near the small water body so it was a lovely walk in the morning.

Breakfast was good. On the lobby facing the Hauptmarkt. Very nice view of the activity while having breakfast.

And ofcourse the reception staff were so friendly , courteous and always smiling. Very efficient staff made the stay so enjoyable !

Rates though were HIGH considering that it was fair season. But they were really helpful in allowing me early check out since I had a morning flight from frankfurt.

Overall a very satusfying stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank ali_asif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello ali_asif, Thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled to know that you loved our location and that our staff provided you with exemplary service. We hope to have you return and visit us again. Best regard - your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nuremberg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Supposed to be a non smoking hotel, but on my visit, staff did not enforce this policy when a guest next door was hanging out the open window smoking - all smoke blowing directly into my open windows. Staff solution was to ask ME to move rooms. No mini bar for convenient refreshments. Internet is spotty at best. Noisy at night as you are on the main square, and there is a taxi stand right outside...drivers clearly unaware guests are sleeping...or trying. Look beyond the fountain. Reception had no clue what events were taking place across the street in front of the hotel property in the cities main square. Did find the Tourist Office across the street...no reason hotel staff could be be knowledgeable of whats going on in the area. Their Concierge could walk to the same tourist office each day/week for the same info...Oh wait, thats right, they don't have a Concierge for guest service. Little things make a big difference in the stay.
We all have our own experiences...this is mine, thats all. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are choosing it purely for location, just get the cheapest room you can. They are all small i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJ_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello GJ_Johnson, That's a real shame that we didn't quite live up to your expectations, please accept our sincerest apologies. You are quite right to point out that small niggles when you are traveling are an inconvenienced. We ask for your understanding, a personal concierge is not common in German 3 star hotels, so we do not offer concierge service. The general manager and his team are looking into all other matters now so thank you so much for bringing the matters to our attention and we will take corrective action here. Once again thank you for taking the time to comment, its much appreciated. Kindest regards, your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nuremberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a comfort room, supposedly offering more space, but the room (and bathroom, difficult access to shower)) was fairly small @ €150 per night. Hotel/B&B is very new, functional, very clean and very bright (sometimes lighting is too bright and not cozy). All sights, shops & good restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast is €9.50 extra per person, which at this room price should be included. However you can enjoy complimentary croissants, coffee and water from 6h30 till noon, which we found to be good enough for 2 mornings. If room would have been bigger, we would have given this B&B 5 stars. Really great & affordable restaurant across & left from the hotel entrance: "Il Rossini" = excellent fish & seafood.

Room Tip: Comfort room is not worth extra money. Standard is good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello Frank J,
we were pleased to note that you had a positive experience with us - however we were disappointed to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with the size of your comfort room. Our comfort rooms measure between 25 and 28 square meters. But we have various different room types and so perhaps if you choose to come and stay with us again, you can try out one of our suites. They measure 30 square meters.

It is a usual procedure in many German hotels that breakfast isn't included in the price of the room but can be booked. Therefore, we have adjusted our offers to prevailing market conditions accordingly.

Once again, we are very pleased that despite the issue you have enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nuremberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We spend just 1 night at Sorat, but really enjoyed! The hotel is brand new (just 2 month).

First of all hotel has it's own underground parking (for free).
The location is perfect just at the Market sq. a few steps from many city attractions.

Service was great, room clean and nice furnished. We had room 301 and it has the window facing the square.

Staff is very helpful and supported us a lot when I got cold and high temperature.

Breakfast is great (9 euro). For free you can get coffee, tea, water and some pastries from 7 to noon in a special area including take away facilities.

I would highly recommend Sorat hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia_Belozerova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Natalia_Belozerova,
Thank you for posting a review here on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you had a good stay with. With regards to the staff and the room, we were pleased to learn that the team treat you well and the junior suite with room number 301 was ideal for your needs. We are sure that any future guests will find your feedback most useful.

To avoid any possible misunderstanding it should be underlined that we do in fact offer only paid parking lots. The parking fee is 15 Euro per day. The fees has to be paid upon departure. The fees to pay are indicated on the invoice. In the interests of accuracy we must make that point very clear.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to SORAT Hotel Saxx when you are next in Nuremberg and we must also thank you for your kind recommendations.

Kind regards, your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nuremberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great location and the rooms are brand new, clean and have a good size. I totally recommend it. The breakfast room has a nice view to the fountain and it is really close to churches , bridges and all the main sightseeing . My husband and I are really glad we chose this place.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank prizwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello prizwis, we are truly touched reading your review and learn that your stay was a memorable experience and you enjoyed every aspect of it. We will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future. All the best, your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nürnberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few days over a long weekemd and perfect spot and not too expensive. All of the altstadt is easily within walking distance and several local churches and historic buildings and sites with in easu access. Staff were friendly and helpful. Many languages spoken and always a smile. Nice little bar in the lobby and with small safe in room. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Day_DreamerSCandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Saxx, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello Day_DreamerSCandOz, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know that your stay turned out to be a pleasant experience and you enjoyed rooms and hotel location. We will make sure to share your wonderful comments with the team. We hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back one day! Best regards, your SORAT Hotel Saxx Nürnberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
907 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
605 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,374 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorat Hotel Saxx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorat Hotel Saxx

Address: Hauptmarkt 17, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: £67 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorat Hotel Saxx 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vor der Tur mittelalterliches Flair, innen stylisches Design. Das Saxx ist ein liebenswertes Boutiquehotel in erstklassiger Lage direkt am Hauptmarkt und am Schonen Brunnen mitten in der historischen Altstadt von Nurnberg. Kostenfreies Wireless LAN. Nichtraucherhotel. Haustiere sind leider nicht gestattet. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sorat Hotel Saxx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing