We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price. Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Garni Herdegen
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Location is excellent and they have free parking which otherwise could cost a bit too much unless u don't want to park the car too far. The rooms were 'OK' clean and the staff was very polite. Thats all I can say good about this hotel. The toilet is so so small that u can't take a poop without hitting ur knees on the nearby heater (thanks to summer the heater was off).. then comes the toilet paper, it was the cheapest quality one can get in germany. Even the public toilets have two layered toilet paper. The towels were not replaced. There was dust settled everywhere in the room..(on the desk, on the phone etc etc). I think the dust had also settled on the bed.. my wife started itching herself as soon as she slept on the bed. The car park is a bit of a challenge.. there s only as much space as required for a car to go in. If u hv a car wider than the BMW X5.. Don't drive through the gate.. u ll scratch all sides.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pruthvi_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Herdegen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel is hidden in the shopping mall, but a great find. Very comfortable rooms & good sized bathroom. They have limited off street parking. The lift is on the opposite wall to the entrance and stairs (we missed it the first time). Very friendly staff and Breakfast room was adequate. Just a short stroll across the road and down into the village for retail therapy. A longer explore will take you down to the Danube river where it then joins up with the Inn and IIz (3 rivers).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel Garni is walking distance from the train station. It is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, the old town, and all the sites. We stayed at the beginning of our trip and a week later at the end. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable, as were all the public areas of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel only serves breakfast (which is what garni means). It is very good - many choices. The dining area is set beautifully. Also a very nice roof top area to sit and read, visit, or take drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the inside which overlooked the private parking area. They seemed to be quiet, maybe...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmg1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The location is excellent, close to train station and easy access to old town and many other sites. Good breakfast, nice staff, clean room, fair rate, good value. But many rooms face out to pedestrian way which is major path for drunken singing and shouting all night long on Friday and Saturday night. Zero sleep. Would not go back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel is in the center of Passau. Nearby the shopping center and souvenir shops. Can reach many historical places of Passau by walking. Easy to get meal because it's next to the Subway restaurant and across the McDonald's. The room isn't too spacious, but quite comfortable and daily cleaned. The breakfast is delicious though not too various. But I love the croissant. Free wifi but it didn't work very well that we should re-login many times. The price is high but it worth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padhiasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank c0ugar1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bananarama2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBB Hotel Passau City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residenz Passau
Hotel Residenz Passau
#1 of 24 in Passau
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Passau
DORMERO Hotel Passau
#6 of 24 in Passau
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
Altstadt-Hotel Passau
#2 of 24 in Passau
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#8 of 24 in Passau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Herdegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Herdegen

Address: Bahnhofstr. 5, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Passau
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Herdegen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garni Herdegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing